TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Chrysler Voyager User Reviews

Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. and Swift

Neil Anyon reviewed on a Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: may 2004 - february 2008) and a Swift Charisma 555 of (laden) 1519 kg.

Best towcar I've ever owned. Cruise control and automatic box make it mega-relaxing and it is massively stable with never a hint of the caravan trying to take over. Very, very practical. Seven spacious seats and still room in the back for a big dog. Cavernous load space and great easy-stowing seats.

HOWEVER

I am starting to get fed up of living with it for the 45+ weeks of the year when I'm not towing.

Battery drain problems are common. OEM battery (AGM Type) £200-£400. Better to spend £45 on a standard design (get best CCA figure you can physically fit in) and change it every 18 months!

Thirsty for every day use 22-28. 30-34 on a run. 20-22 towing.

Not great to park if you have no parking sensors (and towbar interferes with rear ones anyway).

Parts not the cheapest but better than some.

Overall Verdict. If you do a lot of towing and don't mind the cost of diesel year-round then it's definitely very capable. Unfortunately I don't tow often so I'll go back to my previous Galaxy and drive a bit more carefully.

More details >>>


Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. and Coachman

Gary Oldfield reviewed on a Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: may 2004 - february 2008) and a Coachman Laser 655/6 of (laden) 1900 kg.

Great car for towing, stable, positive and returns 21 mpg on a run.
Long hills, run at 2500 rpm and she will not overheat. Use the cruise control at 58 mph and sails along. Accelerate at 3000 rpm max for good pulling power.
We have had the Coachman for 4 years from new in April, big heavy van and I really rate the Voyager. I have never experienced the rig step out of line in any condition and I have been towing for 30 years. Been all over the UK and Europe. You will not go wrong for weight, space and comfort?
Next tow car will be the Disco 4 money permitting!

More details >>>


Chrysler Voyager - 2.5 CRD and Compass

Lee Morrell reviewed on a Chrysler Voyager - 2.5 CRD (105 Kw/143 bhp year: february 2001 - february 2008) and a Compass Rallye 524 of (laden) 1260 kg.

This is our second voyager 2.5crd we have owned, after swapping and changing various cars over the last few years we couldn't find a car that satisfied us with performance and economy when towing,we've had laguna ate the clutch, frontera diesel(don't even go there)kia sedona auto, nice car but you have to thrash it to get up hill then it becomes thirsty, and nissan x-trail we found thirsty and i was less cofident on motorway found it a bit twitchy otherwise not bad.
back to the voyager...These give excellent comfort space for family, performance is great on motorways round town, & hills. Fuel consumption is around the best we've had on any of the cars mentioned upto 30-32mpg and even better when not towing excellent for size of car, one of the main reasons for retuning to a voyager, my only critisism is the clutch can be a bit of a tire on your leg in traffic, but if you go for the auto you sacrifice economy.another luxury is cruise control , on motorway if you get a clearish road this makes the journey tireless, set at 55mph and its great.
parts can be a pain to obtain but if you look you will find,
would reccommend to anyone good car ignore critics...

More details >>>


Chrysler Voyager - 2.4i and Abbey

Mr perry reviewed on a Chrysler Voyager - 2.4i (108 Kw/147 bhp year: february 2001 - february 2008) and a Abbey GTS 420 of (laden) 1489 kg.

Total rubbish and hard work don't buy one

More details >>>


Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. and Bailey

darren reviewed on a Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: may 2004 - february 2008) and a Bailey Ranger 550/6 of (laden) 1258 kg.

Brilliant tow vehicle, averaged 25mpg whilst towing my Bailey ranger 550/6.
This Vehicle is very comfortable for long journeys with dvd screen for the kids in the pack and plenty of boot space for the dog.
Hills are never a problem, stick the cruise control on at 60mph and just sit there all day .

More details >>>


Chrysler Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. and Sprite

Wendy reviewed on a Chrysler Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: may 2004 - february 2008) and a Sprite Major 6 of (laden) 1375 kg.

Have had my voyager for 3 years towed all over Devon and Cornwall no problems just come back from towing in Spain and oil light also comes on when going over the mountains and have to slow down to 15mph which is slightly annoying has anyone a managed to find out a way to stop this :)

More details >>>


Chrysler Voyager - 2.4i and Bailey

ivorbennett reviewed on a Chrysler Voyager - 2.4i (108 Kw/147 bhp year: february 2001 - february 2008) and a Bailey Senator Arizona of (laden) 1464 kg.

hard work lacks power

More details >>>


Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. and Sterling

trevor lewis reviewed on a Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: may 2004 - february 2008) and a Sterling Europa 540 of (laden) 1452 kg.

The Chrysler isn't the most power to weight car i own, but tows the sterling with confidence and no tail wagging the dog which i have experienced with my Peugeot. Ave 22 MPG whilst towing which isn't that much worse than the 30 mpg when not. Again the 407 drops from 47 to 27 under similar conditions. Th erecommendation in the handbook is if the engine keeps hunting betewwen 3rd and top put it in 3rd hold. Haven't experienced this but could see a need on particularly hilly countryside.

More details >>>


Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. and Bailey

SHERIDAN reviewed on a Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: may 2004 - february 2008) and a Bailey Pageant Bretagne of (laden) 1458 kg.

pULLED MY BAILEY BRETAGNE LOADED FROM NORWICH-DEVON 800 MILES PULLED LIKE A DREAM, UPHILLS AND OVERTAKING WAS NO PROBLEM FOR THIS COMBINATION JUST COST ME 220 FOR DIESEL TO DO 800 MILES VERY THIRSTY INDEED!!

More details >>>


Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. and Bailey

Vince Taylor reviewed on a Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: may 2004 - february 2008) and a Bailey Pegasus 624 of (laden) 1750 kg.

caravan is the bailey pegasus 646 2010 model, have entered details manually to get figs, supprised as I thought the bigger the car the better for towing, felt voyager struggled on inclines revs between 500 -700 more than normal thought that was a bit high ?, used lot of fuel, was loaded up with 5 kids 2 adults & 1 large dog. dont know what I could change to as need the 7 seats with the large boot : (

More details >>>


Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. and Swift

steve reviewed on a Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: february 2008 - may 2010) and a Swift Conqueror 645 of (laden) 1732 kg.

car has loads of power but when driving on m/way be aware the voyager refuses to use top gear due to the way the gearbox is set up so it can be heavy on fuel

More details >>>


Chrysler Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. and Avondale

Sam reviewed on a Chrysler Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: may 2004 - february 2008) and a Avondale Dart 510-5 of (laden) 1180 kg.

Fantastic towing, very smooth and great on inclines, again only gripe is the mpg, the voyagers are thirsty but the smooth ride outweights that.

More details >>>


Chrysler Voyager - 2.5 CRD and Abbey

Lancs reviewed on a Chrysler Voyager - 2.5 CRD (105 Kw/143 bhp year: february 2001 - february 2008) and a Abbey Aventura 330 of (laden) 1423 kg.

Been towing with this combination for 5 years now - and its fantastic. Can even see past the caravan using the car's own mirrors! Feels very sturdy and plenty of power.

More details >>>


Chrysler Voyager - 2.5 CRD and Hobby

Paul reviewed on a Chrysler Voyager - 2.5 CRD (105 Kw/143 bhp year: february 2001 - february 2008) and a Hobby La Vita Veneto 400 SF of (laden) 1880 kg.

Great, no problems, easy acceleration felt very steady.

More details >>>


Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. and Elddis

Tim Breeze reviewed on a Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: february 2008 - may 2010) and a Elddis Avante 626 of (laden) 1660 kg.

Tows great!! but have a problem with the oil warning light coming on when going up hill, garage say this is because of the gradient of the hill and not a problem, anyone having the same problem

More details >>>


Chrysler Voyager - 2.5 CRD and Sterling

Robert Holmes reviewed on a Chrysler Voyager - 2.5 CRD (105 Kw/143 bhp year: february 2001 - february 2008) and a Sterling Eccles Coral of (laden) 1500 kg.

Great car for towing, was towing with a Land-rover befor and the wobble scared the hell out of me every time a van went past, this vehicle hold the road perfectly and pulls well and due to the low ride and wide wheel base you never have to worry about the caravan losing control, great car perfect for towing. although if you can afford to buy a newer Auto 2.8 i would advise, the Autos are much easier than the manuals

More details >>>


Chrysler Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. and Bailey

Stuart reviewed on a Chrysler Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: may 2004 - february 2008) and a Bailey Pageant Bretagne of (laden) 1458 kg.

Brillant car for towing and cruising along the Motorway. Keeps the kids happy with the DVD player playing which is important when you have 5 brats in the back! Very comfortable. Only gripe is the fuel consuption, I agree with Iain, Im getting about 24 combined and only about 22 when I towed it steady about 55mph up to Scotland from Hampshire. The wifes got a heavy right foot so she only gets about 18mpg when driving around toon. Reliability has been excellent, I know there has been problems wih the manual gearbox but the 2.8 with the auto gearbox is a good. Only thing Ive had to replace was the battery. Think the only reason the weights resticted to 1600kg is the rear leaf springs wouldnt take anything higher.

More details >>>


Chrysler Voyager - 2.5 CRD and Lunar

Karl Richard Norman reviewed on a Chrysler Voyager - 2.5 CRD (105 Kw/143 bhp year: february 2001 - february 2008) and a Lunar Quasar 615 of (laden) 1450 kg.

2.5 crd lx, FANTASTIC, cannot fault this whatsoever, 27-29 mpg, stacks of space, clutch started slipping after 1,000's of miles in tow, probably my fault, 1600 for new,traded in for A6 which is just as good if not better but wish I still had the chrysler.

More details >>>


Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. and Dethleffs

Chris Hill reviewed on a Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: may 2004 - february 2008) and a Dethleffs Camper DL 520 of (laden) 1500 kg.

Does tow well, but I have been experiencing overheating problems with my 2.8 CRD. Had to back off the power significantly last summer in France on any sort of incline, even on the motorway. Radiator replaced since, but I have since small increases in temp over our Easter trip. Have no confidence that the problem is corected for this summers trip. Personally I think the cooling system for the transmission and engine is not up to the job. Therefore I plan to change cars. However, it's a shame, as otherwise this is a great tow car, with LOADS of space for the family and all of our stuff.

More details >>>


Chrysler Voyager - 3.3 SE aut. and Elddis

Darren Todd reviewed on a Chrysler Voyager - 3.3 SE aut. (116 Kw/158 bhp year: january 1996 - december 1998) and a Elddis Avante 534 of (laden) 1375 kg.

We have used the voyager to take the Avante to southern France, switzerland, Luxemberg and Belgium on several occassions. We havent had any trouble with hills or even overtaking, the car pulls like it hasnt got the van on the back and sometimes you can forget its there.
We had to emergency stop once and the car and van didnt snake or fishtail and stopped shorter than i expected it too. economically its not so hot but then it is a big engine in a big car and towing almost 1500kgs does consume the fuel. All in all very happy with the outfit.

More details >>>


Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. and Elddis

G BAUCKHAM reviewed on a Chrysler Grand Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: may 2004 - february 2008) and a Elddis Crusader Hurricane of (laden) 1400 kg.

thank you i am thinking about getting grand voyager and this has helped me make say yes to this car thank you

More details >>>


Chrysler Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. and Swift

R Harris reviewed on a Chrysler Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: may 2004 - february 2008) and a Swift Challenger 530 of (laden) 1545 kg.

A lovely car to drive but very thirtsy when towing, especially on inclines if you maintain speeds. Reliability is questionable, particularly gearbox issues on both manual and automatic vaiants

More details >>>


Chrysler Voyager - 2.5 CRD and Geist

Bill Hindley reviewed on a Chrysler Voyager - 2.5 CRD (105 Kw/143 bhp year: february 2001 - february 2008) and a Geist Xklusive 565 of (laden) 1480 kg.

Great car for pulling caravans especially the Geist

More details >>>


Chrysler Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. and Compass

Iain reviewed on a Chrysler Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: may 2004 - february 2008) and a Compass Corona 556 of (laden) 1414 kg.

voyager tows amazingly well, compass chassis heaps better than our previous ace award, tons of power and excllent uphil torque. Only gripe is the mpg, 24 round town and about 20 towing, how on earth does andy get 37 from a 2.8 that weighs 2 ton?

More details >>>


Chrysler Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. and Sprite

andy reviewed on a Chrysler Voyager - 2.8 CRD aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: may 2004 - february 2008) and a Sprite Quattro FB of (laden) 1518 kg.

no problem tows really well ,surprised chrysler only has 1600kg tow i think it would tow more ,had the 2.5 that was ok now got 2.8 much better 27mpg towing 37 not towing 10/10

More details >>>


Chrysler Voyager - 2.5 CRD and Coachman

Jim Kennedy reviewed on a Chrysler Voyager - 2.5 CRD (105 Kw/143 bhp year: february 2001 - february 2008) and a Coachman Amara 560/6 of (laden) 1530 kg.

The chrysler is the 2.8 Diesel automatic, 54 reg, the perfomence is great on a good day but when fighting against the wind the fuel consumption get a bit high.
hill starts are great no problems, an all round good car for seven people and luggage






More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us