TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Ford Galaxy User Reviews

Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] and Bailey

Jonty reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] (120 Kw/163 bhp year: may 2010 - 2015) and a Bailey Senator California of (laden) 1459 kg.

Probably one of the best outfits I have owned, the Galaxy makes good progress, flat, hill, very steep hill, I have used this all over the UK and never felt in a position I was not comfortable with.

I did have a dedicated tow bar / electrics kit and had the car programmed to adapt the vehicle stability etc. when the caravan was hitched, the caravan also has ATC and although the odd wobble in high winds with large vehicles passing the outfit took it all in its stride.

The car is now 5 years old and it did give some difficulty with the gearbox, this required a new box to be fitted at 41,000 miles, which was a bit of a shock, but given the overall drive and handling either solo or with the van hitched I am looking at another Galaxy.

Fuel economy on the Galaxy was between 38 mpg around town and 48 mpg on a steady run, using cruise control even when towing without difficulty. Towing the van returned on average between 28 and 32 mpg which I feel was acceptable given the loading.

The one thing I will say is that when fitting the tow bar and electrics be sure you have a dedicated kit rather than a relay kit, this gives the reassurance of the car handling software adjusting once hitched, this takes account of the van loading on the vehicle. I let the Ford dealer fit the first but despite asking for a dedicated kit they fitted a cheaper relay kit, which I insisted was changed to the one I requested.

Would I recommend this combination, yes without hesitation, I will report on the \"All New\" Ford Galaxy once it arrives and I tow with it.

Happy touring!

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi and Bailey

Richard Heaton reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Bailey Pegasus GT65 Ancona of (laden) 1496 kg.

I echo the other reviews, Galaxy 2.0 TDCI Ghia is fantastic, smooth, powerful and effortless. This replaced our previous car a Volvo XC90 - automatic which struggled with towing and returned poor MPG. Im getting aroung 40mpg when towing and around 54 mpg when not.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v and Caravan

Miro reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v (107 Kw/146 bhp year: november 1997 - june 2006) and a Caravan of (laden) 1175 kg.

i've been pulling my galaxy 2.3 petrol with Abi Award Globestar 1991( empty weight 925kg ) very well from UK to Poland for about 1100 miles, before trip i was really scarry how as the car can survive, but was really ok, i want to mention that we was 2 in car and inside was without seats because we had about 300 kg our staff, and also about another 250-300 kg in caravan so total weight caravan + car was 3300 kg - amazing. 80% of trip was using 5th gear, sometimes in motorway goes to 4th gear, just in Belgium i was going to 3th but there was hill in motorway to 350m, bad point only was fuel - 19 mpg on all trip but it was so heavy to pull, but basically RECOMMEND Ford Galaxy at all !!!

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] and Elddis

Andy K reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2010 - 2015) and a Elddis Odyssey 550 of (laden) 1547 kg.

Took the Elddis on tour to France. It felt quite stable, and the auto box made driving effortless, with the very comfortable car. Maybe the 163 BHP would be better, but I was happy with performance overall, and 28 mpg average for the 1650 mile round trip

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.2 TDCi and Sterling

Martin reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.2 TDCi (128 Kw/174 bhp year: april 2008 - may 2010) and a Sterling Eccles Sport 586 of (laden) 1547 kg.

I have 2009 Galaxy 2.2 TDCI with 174 hp engine, The tow bar limit on Galaxy past 2009 is actually 90 kg not 80kg. We tow Sterling Eccles 586 which is fairly big van and find this car performing really well. There is a known issue with turbo lag but this is something that you getting used to when towing and does not make any troubles.
We already towed the van to South France through A75 and also to South Germany. Car performed really well doing up to 700km on a single tank. Average fuel consumption is around 9l/100km but gearing and rpm is really important. On our engine around 2200 rpm on 5th gear makes around 60 m/h and this seems to be most economical setup. When no wind and motorway is flat we could to 6th gear and 1850rpm having slightly better fuel consumption.
The only issue I found is a bit week clutch on reversing but pulling forward in my opinion this is one of the best value for money car on the market.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.2 TDCi and Elddis

Neil reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.2 TDCi (147 Kw/200 bhp year: june 2010 - 2015) and a Elddis Avante 646 of (laden) 1700 kg.

Used to tow with a 2.0 tdci 140 Galaxy which towed well, then changed to the 2.2 (200) which although is not as economical, is much better towing due to the extra power. Tow a twin axle Elddis and find it is well up to the job. Although top gear is achievable easily, it is not always the best as their seems to be terrible turbo lag at low revs. (A PCM update at the next service should help)

Overall a good tow car, however a high powered front wheel drive car with a heavy van on the back can be challenging on wet grass and wet hill starts. If only a 4wd version was available.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] and Bailey

Andrew reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2010 - 2015) and a Bailey Pegasus 646 of (laden) 1500 kg.

I like all the detail of the report however the figures used for the weight of the Ford Galaxy are hugely wrong if you are in the UK. The 1731kg is for the minimum kerb weight. This does not take into account people, fuel or luggage. I would suggest you look at a vin plate of a real Galaxy. My gross vehicle weight is 2505kg which looks much more reasonable for towing up to a 1800kg limit which is 71% car to caravan ratio quite different from the 87% quoted above. If you are going to provide this service please get it right!!!!!!!!!! ps my maximum gross train is 4305kg if that is any help

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi aut. [5AT] and Sprite

Nick reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi aut. [5AT] (85 Kw/116 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Sprite Musketeer EB of (laden) 1252 kg.

This car tows the caravan well. We travel fairly well loaded, 2 adults, 2 kids, 2 dogs and all the odds and sods that requires. The large luggage space means that there is plenty of room for the dogs, some luggage and the BBQ. The kids love the high seating position and the drop down picnic tables. This is our second Galaxy auto and on this one I had a removable tow-bar fitted as the last one kept setting off the parking sensors. If you take it really easy then the fuel consumption read out can get near 30MPG (I have no idea how accurate that is), more spirited driving will show low to mid 20's. On my first Galaxy I used teh toptronic gear change but on the current one I just leave it to sort itself out in drive. The gearbox can be fragile, my first Galaxy (2001) had a gearbox failure at around 70,000 miles and the cost can approach 3,000 for the repair (this is a fairly common problem). My current one (2006) has a warranty to cover this! Towing with an automatic always seems sluggish (to me) compared to a manual but I never seem to be at the front of a long queue (more often in the middle).

Plus Points:-
Tows well
Roomy
Comfortable
Reasonable performance

Minus Points
Expensive to run
Potentially fragile gearbox

Conclusion
I am on my second!

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 16v and Bailey

PAT LAWRENCE reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 16v (107 Kw/146 bhp year: june 2006 - 2015) and a Bailey Senator Arizona of (laden) 1464 kg.

WE HAVE NO TROUBLE AT ALL TOWING OUR 2004 MODEL ARIZONA WITH OUR 2008 FORD GALAXY, EVEN ON HILLS WE ARE IN 3RD GEAR NO PROBS. HAPPY HOLIDAYS.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi and Elddis

Jason Bradman reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (96 Kw/131 bhp year: october 2003 - june 2006) and a Elddis Avante 556 of (laden) 1507 kg.

This is the second Galaxy I have had the first was the 110bhp the second is the 130bhp both where chiped to so + 20-30% on this. Towing is great and very stable, The first car had 170k on the clock and still pulled the van well. If you are not carrying 7 people you can remove most the caravan equipment and load the back up for even better stability. One note the rear tyre pressures for a full load is a great deal more than normal. would recommend forever and a day and hope the new MK3 galaxy tows as good (Just need the money and an excuse to swap )

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.2 TDCi and Swift

Steve reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.2 TDCi (147 Kw/200 bhp year: june 2010 - 2015) and a Swift Charisma 620 TA of (laden) 1615 kg.

After towing my Swift Charisma 620 twin axle with a 19tdi 130 bhp Galaxy with no problem except having to change down at the slightest incline and very rarely being able to get in top gear,we were due to change our car so went for another Galaxy but this time a 2.2 Titainium x 200 bhp,pulls the caravan a dream and have no problems in getting in top gear,would certainly recommend this car

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi and Lunar

Alan Stewart reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Lunar Quasar 626 of (laden) 1550 kg.

Sorry to be the only one putting a dampner on the Galaxy but I've just had to sell mine. Great car, agree with all the power/economy & motorway comments but two wheel drive just couldn't hack it. Got stuck on a wet field in Wales, wheelspin pulling up steep hills if any gravel about. Loved the car but with a 26' twin axle I'm affraid the Galaxy had to go. Will report on how the Sorento does when we get back

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi and Hobby

Graham Ryan reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Hobby De Luxe 560 KMFe of (laden) 1600 kg.

I have just come back from our firs run out with the 2ltr tdci ghia 08 pulling our hobby 560 ukf and I can only say the ford is a diamond of a car all the room you need for the offspring and the power under the hood to easily pull the hobby a quick calculation on fuel consumption tells me we got a jaw droopingly good 38 mpg on a mix of motorway and back roads I hope to get this to 40 on next run out !!! Hail the galaxy best car for the job.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi and Sterling

Den wells reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Sterling Europa 520 of (laden) 1450 kg.

I have a 2007 (07) tdi Ghia And can reiterate what others say! The car tows very well and at 60 in 6th goes very well with plenty left, it accelerates really well and soon gets up to the speed limit with ease, Fuel consumption is between 35 to 45 to the gallon, the only complaint I have is on B roads I get a little pitching but I suspect that is down to me rather than the car as I have only just purchased the caravan and am just getting used to loading etc. all in all an excellent towcar and am very pleased with the performance.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [2010] and Swift

Neil Anyon reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [2010] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2010 - 2015) and a Swift Charisma 550 of (laden) 1470 kg.

Easily the best tow car I've driven, either with the Swift or my previous (lighter) Elddis. Economy on our recent trip (350 miles each way) averaged 27 and we do not pack light! Family of 5 plus bikes etc.

Generally speaking, unless you can be sure that there won't be even a slight uphill stretch, it seems more economical to stick to 5th gear which is no less refined and certainly seems to suit the engine better. It will sit in 5th all day unless you have to slow for middle lane HGVs - great with cruise control.

Certainly the most relaxing towing I've ever done.



More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [2010] and Sterling

Jim Dougall reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [2010] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2010 - 2015) and a Sterling Eccles SE Solitaire of (laden) 1605 kg.

Had or first long trip last week, towed from Ayrshire to Devon and back. Averaged about 26mpg, fully laden, comfortable tow, I think the car is slightly underpowered on steep hills, struggled a bit when pulling off from stationary on a steep incline, would advise the 163bhp if I had the option, plenty of room however for all our gear.
Towing to France next year.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] and Lunar

sue laughlin reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Lunar Quasar 546 of (laden) 1430 kg.

my husband does all the hard work (ie towing) but we have been SO very pleased with the Galaxy both for towing and normal family-ferrying! Makes towing almost easy - use 5th gear easily on motorways, confident when overtaking, uphill fine and never had problems on wet grass - maybe just been lucky but would highly recommend the Galaxy both as a normal family car and as a towing vehicle.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi and Abbey

Sparky reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Abbey Vogue 600 of (laden) 1630 kg.

Just changed from galaxy 1.9 tdi to new shape 2.0 tdi done 300 miles to dorset with no problems lots more power than the old galaxy used 6th and 5th on the motorway and got 29 miles to the gallon forgot the van was there.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v and Caravan

ian hussey reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v (107 Kw/146 bhp year: november 1997 - june 2006) and a Caravan of (laden) 1200 kg.

the ford galaxy 2.3 doesnt have any trouble whot so ever pulling a elddis wisp ovation wisp 1994 even from a hill start only bad thing is it loves a drop of petrol when pulling the van

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [5MT] and Hobby

hans Nygaard reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [5MT] (66 Kw/90 bhp year: december 1995 - august 2000) and a Hobby Excellent 460 LU of (laden) 1333 kg.

there is not many hk, but it works ok. and it runs near 10km/ liter at 100 km/ hour

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi and Sterling

Tom Thompson reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Sterling Eccles SE Ruby of (laden) 1585 kg.

A little daunting at first as the length and spec of caravan looks intimidating compared to the tow car.
The Galaxy pulls this along with plenty in reserve. I try to keep the van light by putting some items behind driver / passenger when possible.
The Galaxy was definitely the right choice for this combo.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi aut. [5AT] and Bailey

Alan Rundle reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi aut. [5AT] (85 Kw/116 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Bailey Ranger 500/5 of (laden) 1194 kg.

I have towed a Bailey Ranger 500/5 with a 1.9 ltr Zetec Galaxy automatic for the last two years. No problems at all. This summer's trip was from Cornwall to the Lakes.a lot of motorway driving, very stable all the way and returned 25 MPG. When not on motorways ~~I put the gearbox into tiptronic and use it as a manual as on some slower roads it tries to change down too often for my liking.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [2010] and Sterling

Tony reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi [2010] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2010 - 2015) and a Sterling Europa 540 of (laden) 1452 kg.

My Galaxy is the best towcar I've had in the 20 years or so I've been caravanning. As other reviews have said, its a very stable towcar and the 2L diesel engine is very well suited to towing duty. I'm inclined to get to 60mph/100kph and drop the cruise control on, usually in 5th (though it will tow in 6th) as I think the fuel economy is a little better. I get around 42mpg solo, and around 25-30 towing. For the size of vehicle I think that's excellent. We tend to use the Galaxy in 5 seat mode, ie with the rearmost two seats folded down. This gives us a huge boot area to pack bikes, awning, chairs etc, short of a full sized 4x4 such as a Discovery I don't know of many other vehicles that could cope with so much kit, but of course the fuel consumption with the Galaxy is so much better. The only real downside is the lack of a spare wheel, if Ford fix this I'd give the Galaxy 10 out of 10 as a towcar.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi aut. and Sterling

garry reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi aut. (96 Kw/131 bhp year: june 2007 - may 2010) and a Sterling Eccles Opal of (laden) 1493 kg.

thought the caravan had come off after years towing with a picasso this is superb outfit only problem is staying awake effortless now only if the awning was easier to erect holidays would be easy

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi and Sprite

shaun reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (96 Kw/131 bhp year: october 2003 - june 2006) and a Sprite Quattro FB of (laden) 1546 kg.

really pleased with my galaxy. had a 2.3 petrol witch i thought pulled well but this one is better. six gear is not really useable but not been on motorway yet. stick it in cruise at 50 and you are set. love it!

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi and Bailey

Philip Grimshaw reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Bailey Senator Arizona of (laden) 1464 kg.

I have an 09 Plate Galaxy Ghia 2.0tdci and can reflect what the previous people have said. the car will tow all day in sixth on cruise control. I have had three previous Mark 2 Galaxy's but this is one is by far the best at towing. I aim to achieve 26 mpg whilst towing. Stongly recommended

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi and Compass

Neil Turner reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Compass Corona 626 of (laden) 1737 kg.

I have a 56 plate Galaxy Ghia (X) 2.0 tdci towing the 8m double axel Corona and it does really well. When I bought the van, everyone asked if I had a FWD to tow it with and seemed surprised that I would attempt it with the Galaxy. I get 22 mpg, and have had no trouble except for a small argument with a gate (which I can hardly blame the car for!). I also get 38/39 mpg without the van, which is much better than most FWDs for the rest of the year. Overall, the best people carrier and the best towcar I have ever driven!

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] and Lunar

simon reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Lunar Zenith 4 of (laden) 1145 kg.

Have to check that the van is still on the back! Easy to speed up by mistake, even with 2 kids, 2 adults and car loaded to the rafters incl roofbox. Had no probs.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] and Coachman

Elliott reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Coachman Pastiche 530/4 of (laden) 1560 kg.

Always impressed with this tow car, although pulls a bit on long uphill stretches, found if you lighten the coachman and put into the car it pulls better

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] and Coachman

E Drummond reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Coachman Pastiche 530/4 of (laden) 1560 kg.

Always impressed with this tow car, although pulls a bit on long uphill stretches, found if you lighten the coachman and put into the car it pulls better

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi and Bailey

peter j reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (96 Kw/131 bhp year: october 2003 - june 2006) and a Bailey Ranger 540/6 of (laden) 1413 kg.

I would recommend a Galaxy to anyone.
I forget sometimes that I am towing my caravan, there is so much power I am hitting 60mph with no problems.
Although my caravan is quite light, there are 2 adults and 4 children, and 5 bikes, and everything else plus the kitchen sink now and again.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v and Caravan

Mr Knibb reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v (107 Kw/146 bhp year: november 1997 - june 2006) and a Caravan of (laden) 250 kg.

we have a Bailey Bretagne (six berth) when loaded for trips away the car has good pull away and acceleration the unit cruises very well but can slow on a long incline but for all the usual traits of overtaking,cross winds etc we are very happy overall.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi and Swift

Adrian Coombs reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Swift Charisma 570 of (laden) 1452 kg.

Have had the Galaxy for three years fron new. Is a fantastic all round car and tows really well. Have taken it across to South of France each year. Would recommend this vehicle. MPG when towing with Swift Charisma (1452 kg) is about 24. Not bad for a heavy caravan.
MPG.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] and Tabbert

Antony reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Tabbert Vivaldi 560 E (2,50) of (laden) 1595 kg.

never a problem with this combination even with the caravan been 2.5 mts wide.The galaxy pulled well in all gears and no problem with inclines as long as long as not caught out in the wrong gear.Tows every bit as good as my mitsuibishi pajero.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 2.8 V6 [5MT] and Avondale

andy lawson reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 2.8 V6 [5MT] (128 Kw/174 bhp year: december 1995 - august 2000) and a Avondale Dart 630-6 of (laden) 1431 kg.

ford galaxy 2.8 v6 well what can i say,plenty of power (low down) need that extra for an overtake drop it to 3rd and your off ,pulls the avondale dart 630-6 (twin axel )like a dream ,a bit heavy on fuel if you hammer it though .when cruising very cumfy.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 1.8 TDCi [6MT] and Elddis

bob Bartram reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 1.8 TDCi [6MT] (92 Kw/125 bhp year: september 2006 - may 2010) and a Elddis Super Cyclone of (laden) 1395 kg.

My Elddis was manufactured in Jan 1977 and has a MTPLM of 1400kg which is approx 50kg lighter than the new model.It tows very well and the combined unit is lively considering it is the max towing weight for my Ford.I am very impressed with the quality finish of the caravan and was the main reason I traded my Abbey impression for it ,together with the weight of the caravan.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi and Fleetwood

Philip Brayshaw reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (96 Kw/131 bhp year: october 2003 - june 2006) and a Fleetwood Volante 520 of (laden) 1385 kg.

Caravan is a Fleetwood Garland 185/5 (24.5 ft long) 1450kgs max authorised weight.The Ford Galaxy 130ps tows it well averaging 26-27mpg on a run and it climbs any hills easily.Not dissapointed with this choice of car.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] and Abbey

jason reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Abbey Aventura 340 of (laden) 1568 kg.

really impressed with my galaxy diesel 115bhp.I had previuosly pulled a baailey senator oklahoma easily but now I am now pulling a heavier 6 berth aventura 340 and performance has been impressive. I dont feel like I am struggling. Keep a clean air filter ( I change between services) and you will have no problems

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v aut. [4AT] and Sterling

Jules Gillespie reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v aut. [4AT] (107 Kw/146 bhp year: november 1997 - june 2006) and a Sterling Europa 600 TA of (laden) 1534 kg.

Having previously driven a 2.0L Galaxy, the 2.3 is a far better option. The extra power of the larger engine is most welcome, and it is possible to find yourself hitting NSL if you don't keep an eye on your speed. Power is available throughout the rev range, and the brakes seem more impressive too. As you would expect, hills are taken competently.
Having the Auto gearbox has also been of use, but I have yet to sample the unit on a steep downhill slope. The 'box can be switched to a 'tiptronic' style, where gear selection is manual. This also seems to work well, but again I have yet to try this on a steep hill.
On motorways, the 2.3 still suffers a little from sideways deflections from the largest vans and lorries, but to a lesser extent than the 2.0L

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi and Adria

Ian reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Adria Adora 532 LT of (laden) 1325 kg.

I have a 58 plate Galaxy Ghia 2.0 tdci 103 kW/138 bhp. We tow our Adria Adora 532LT with no problems at all. The usual fuel consuption is around 41mpg and with the van on aroud 38.7 mpg. That will do for me! As others have said the only thing is keeping the speed down. The standard mirrors are also v good, our van is a wide one at 7'6" and I can see almost as much in the car mirrors as in the extended towing mirrors. darn, could have saved 50. Well recomended 10 out of 10

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi and Lunar

Ross Simpson reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Lunar Zenith 5 of (laden) 1205 kg.

We have had the galaxy for 18 months and it has towed very well around the north of england and also on our annual foreign trip which last year was all the way to the costa brava in north spain. Overtaking is easily achieved on motorways and the trouble is keeping the speed down to 60mph. It pulls amazing well in 5th all day and if terain is relatively flat and not overly hilly 6th gear pulls well too. Towed from NYorks to Dover then Calais (via Paris) to Lourdes, in 2 days at a regular speed most of the way with no bother! I wouldn't want the 1.8tdci and enjoy the 2.0 tdci with cruise control which is ideal on the paege!!! Fully recommend this a tow car and loads of room for 5wks worth of gear!!!

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi and Sprite

David reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Sprite Major 6 of (laden) 1375 kg.

Had my 07 plate Galaxy for over a year now and it is by far the best towcar I have had. Has tons of power and on the motorway the trouble is keeping the speed down to the legal limit. One thing I have noticed is that the fuel consumption on mine is better if we keep away from 6th gear at all times - even on the motorway. Would recommend this towcar.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 1.8 TDCi and Bailey

John Golby reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 1.8 TDCi (74 Kw/101 bhp year: september 2006 - may 2010) and a Bailey Ranger 470/4 of (laden) 1167 kg.

i would say my galaxy has not given use any problems atall & is very good on fuel

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v and Sprite

shaun hazard reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v (107 Kw/146 bhp year: november 1997 - june 2006) and a Sprite Quattro FB of (laden) 1518 kg.

the ford galaxy pulls my sprite fine. the car has good road manners if not pushed hard with van on.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v and Elddis

nands reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v (107 Kw/146 bhp year: november 1997 - june 2006) and a Elddis Avante 556 of (laden) 1414 kg.

This car towed ok on the flat and cruised easily at 60mph. However, on hills it really struggled. We frequently got down to third gear on motorway inclines. We have traded in for a diesel Volvo and hope this will be better.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v and Lunar

mr waller reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 2.3i 16v (107 Kw/146 bhp year: november 1997 - june 2006) and a Lunar Clubman 530-4 of (laden) 1350 kg.

i've towed with an astra 2.0 tdi and it was terrible so i traded that in for a vectra 2.0sri again terrible so we decided to go for a galaxy ours is the 2.3 petrol and it is perfect in every way we went to dorset last summer around 350 miles never missed a beat hardly knew i was towing and it returned 28 mpg can t fault this car at all

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi and Elddis

Andrew Lumley reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (96 Kw/131 bhp year: october 2003 - june 2006) and a Elddis Odyssey 505 of (laden) 1475 kg.

The Galaxy is an excellent tow car. We cross the English Channel twice a year and tow more than 5000 miles annually. I average 30mpg with a tandem on the roof. The caravan behaves perfectly and the car never misses a beat. 560 miles in one day was slightly ambitious - but no aches or pains - all very relaxed. I would recommend a Galaxy to anyone.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] and Bailey

John reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Bretagne of (laden) 1395 kg.

2004 Galaxy 1.9Tdi (115) towing a Bailey S6 Bretagne. First time to caravaning so nothing to compare, but very happy with this outfit. Had no problems towing; cruises on the motorway, turbo kicks in when needed. Luggage space with two kids fantastic - can't see why this vehicle is not often rated !!!

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi and Abbey

george gardner reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (96 Kw/131 bhp year: october 2003 - june 2006) and a Abbey Spectrum 520 of (laden) 1651 kg.

we are first time caravaners but i have towed many things with 4wd and vans etc, the galaxy performs well and at no time has it felt unstable towing a large caravan, it cruises easilly on the motorway and as yet has not struggled with any hills, i agree with the mud and snow tyres as our caravan is twin axle the galaxy soon slips on wet grass or mud. 9/10 score

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] and Coachman

james mcdonnell reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Coachman Amara 560/6 of (laden) 1530 kg.

motorway driving very steady,not as good for overtaking or steep hill climbs,but ok in 6th gear.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 2.8 V6 [5MT] and Bailey

Chris Roy reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 2.8 V6 [5MT] (128 Kw/174 bhp year: december 1995 - august 2000) and a Bailey Pageant Provence of (laden) 1405 kg.

The Galaxy 2.8 V6 has been for the last few years an excellent towcar. We now have the Bailey provence having towed a Swift Challenger before with same towcar. Great towcar loads of power, more importantly low down torque, very relaxed towing. With back seats removed loads of space to load up car rather than van. All in all great tow car...Auto 4x4 would seem perfect towcar.....hope to get auto 4x4 when change car....

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.2 TDCi and Bailey

James chambers reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.2 TDCi (128 Kw/174 bhp year: april 2008 - may 2010) and a Bailey Senator Carolina of (laden) 1759 kg.

I have a 08 ford galaxy 2.2 diesel and a 2005 Bailey senetor twin axle. I have towed with a couple of times it is a good towing car best on motorways easy to keep 60mph. It is also good on the hill climber having little trouble. The mpg is harmally around 40 but when towing it goes to around a impressive 35-36. It is a alround good towing car.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi and Ace

m gaynor reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Ace Award Firestar of (laden) 1463 kg.

have an 08 plate bought march, tows like a dream don,t know why I did,nt buy one sooner. Had a nissan terrano2 before and the galaxy tows better, It does more to the gallon towing also. when on site and caravan unhitched it does 15 - 20 mls, per gallon more than the terrano which at todays prices for diesel has got to be good.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi aut. and Bailey

chris lukins reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi aut. (96 Kw/131 bhp year: june 2007 - may 2010) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Bretagne of (laden) 1395 kg.

So far so good as they say, have not had any problems so far touring with this unit, accelleration and handling still very good when caravan loaded and car loaded with a family of five. Very stable leaves your position on the road very secure, and still plenty of pull in reserve!

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi and Compass

Nick reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Compass Rallye 482 of (laden) 1400 kg.

Towed with this Galaxy for about 18 months. Seems to have plenty of power in all conditions. On motorways and dual carriageways 60 mph is easily maintained in 6th gear. Compared to the old Galaxy the gear ratios seem better chosen meaning it is possible to pull away on mud or wet grass, which was near impossible with my old one. The biggest problem encountered with this outfit is keeping the speed down to the legal limits. I found the old style Galaxy a good towcar, the new Galaxy I have found to be better.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi and Swift

Marcus reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: february 2005 - june 2006) and a Swift Challenger 490 of (laden) 1540 kg.

Dont know it's on the back, great on diesel,

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi and Bailey

john leyden reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi (96 Kw/131 bhp year: october 2003 - june 2006) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Bretagne of (laden) 1395 kg.

i have come from a discovery to a galaxy and could not be more pleased with the car. im a bit of a landrover fan but if i had to be honest the galaxy is a lot better drive on the road and gives you the confidence to overtake with ease. mud and snow tyres on the front should get you across most grass on site. 9/10 score.






More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] and Abbey

Budge reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Abbey Vogue 495 of (laden) 1442 kg.

Tows fine on roads so long as you dont do 60mph up a hill when it overheats. Wasted pounds and pounds to get it fixed all to no avail. Perhaps we just got a bad one.
Hopeless on grass with any dampness in it, stick to hard standing apart from the summer

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi aut. [5AT] and Avondale

L Tinson reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi aut. [5AT] (85 Kw/116 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Avondale Dart 556-6 of (laden) 1250 kg.

Just bought a Ford Galaxy as a towcar, 05 plate TDI 1.9 Zetec Auto. It towed very well with not issues. It proved to be a very good tug and stable, returning about 24/26 MPG. I was a little wary of buying and towing with an auto at first but have no regrets. I have to say it's a lot easier all round than a manual vehicle. I had the van fully loaded as was the Galaxy.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi and Geist

ian white reviewed on a Ford Galaxy II - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Geist LV535 of (laden) 1410 kg.

Owned the Geist for 2 years. Currently towing with a 2.8 shogun LWB. Looking to shortly change over to a galaxy. Reports are excellent for the ford and towing limits are well within the weight of the geist. However the jocky wheel sits low to the gound even when stored in the highest level possible. I have looked at replacing the internal jocky for a side fixing mount. This would allow for better ground clearance when stored away.
Looking forward to towing with the Galaxy and will report back.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [5MT] and Lunar

Mark Allinson reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [5MT] (81 Kw/110 bhp year: november 1997 - august 2000) and a Lunar Zenith 6 of (laden) 1260 kg.

We've had our Galaxy 1.9TDI 110BHP, for just under a year. Excellent car highly recommended!
Just bought our Lunar Zenith 6 last weekend. Towed 135 miles home, no problems. Pulls well, cruise control set to just under 60mph, maintained it all the way home, up and down hills too.

Very pleased with this combination, however there's not much left in reserve. When a bus was about to join the motorway I floored it just to leave him room to pull out behind us, not a lot happened, so I braked and let him out infront of us. So to remedy this I think I'll fit a power boost box, you know the one's that plug into the loom by the fuel pump, they up the boost and adjust the fuelling. About 50 on eBay, boosts power from 110bhp to 138 bhp, then it really will be spot on.

50mpg solo, 30 towing caravan, not bad I reckon.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] and Swift

Neil reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Swift Charisma 590 TA of (laden) 1534 kg.

Towing with 110bhp adequate on flat at steady 60mph, but not much more for overtaking. On steep hills will pull steadily in fourth. Fuel economy good for towing 1500kg twin axle.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 2.8 V6 24v [6MT] and Caravan

phill reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 2.8 V6 24v [6MT] (150 Kw/204 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Caravan of (laden) 1850 kg.

perfect pulls great even with this old heavy van on its back plus with my wife and i and 5 children i thought it would struggle but there is no problem been away 5 times this year done over 3000 miles sorted

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] and Swift

Nick reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Swift Charisma 570 of (laden) 1452 kg.

Tows really well. Very stable. Excellent on smooth French roads, can even tow in 6th gear at legal limit.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] and Bailey

Richard Pennington reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Bailey Senator S5 Oklahoma of (laden) 1497 kg.

Hill starts hard on the clutch but once rolling power ok to get to towing speeds and easy to keep as long as you use the gears and power band. very stable and good on fuel economy as long as you take it steady

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi aut. [5AT] and Polar

H. Kipper reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi aut. [5AT] (85 Kw/116 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Polar 520 (2.3) of (laden) 1420 kg.

The Ford Galaxy is a good towcar. The automatic gearbox works well while towing and really makes it easy to drive with caravan. With two persons in the car and some luggage on a level road you will run in 5th gear well under 2000 rpm. The car is stable and you will normally not experience influence from the caravan. Acceleration is quite good, but the frontwheels can slip a little on wet roads from standstill, especially on uphill position. You may also experience some Turbo lag, when starting with fast acceleration. Braking works well. I have not measured fuelecononomy, but expect it to be around 9-11l/100km. The tank holds 70 liters, but if you press the metal clip in the filler hose, you can utilise the expansion volume as well, up to 14 liters extra. So you can drive all day without refueling. The car is a very good long distance cruiser with high seating position, armrest, good firm seats and a reasonable noiselevel in 5th gear. Driving with to people there is space for two bicycles in the rear. We use the Thule indoor bike rack which is excellent. I have not tried to drive with full load in car and caravan, but expect that it wil have a rather serious impact on performance. Also it seems from other peoples experience, that it increases the risk of failure in the automatic gearbox.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] and Ace

Tepic reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Ace Award Brightstar of (laden) 1370 kg.

The car feels and sounds like it is being punished if the road is anything but level or downhill.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] and Compass

Nick reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Compass Rallye 482 of (laden) 1400 kg.

The Galaxy sruggles pulling away from stationary until the turbo cuts in. Once moving the towing performance is adequate. Dropping down a gear or two provides plenty of power for safe overtaking, but do not stop on wet grass or mud.

More details >>>


Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] and Lunar

Chris reviewed on a Ford Galaxy - 1.9 Tdi [6MT] (85 Kw/116 bhp year: august 2000 - june 2006) and a Lunar Lexon EW of (laden) 1470 kg.

having towed for a number of years, moving up to a bigger caravan has made the Galaxy seem a bit lightweight. Struggles up hill in the wet, normal motorway driving is fine, feels like you are being pushed coming down hill. Wet grass for pitching is very much a case of don't stop.

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us