TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Ford S-Max User Reviews

Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi [2010] and Eriba

Andy Haynes reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi [2010] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2010 - june 2015) and a Eriba Nova GL/SL 530 FB of (laden) 1500 kg.

Towing a Hymer Swing 530 (not listed) at 1580kg loaded the S max is more than powerful enough. In my opinion it is actually a better tug than the 2.2 Hyundai Santa Fe that i swapped it with. I\'ve had two outings this year so far both in the peak district up and down some very steep hills and the S Max coped very well even with 5 people on board, plenty of torque and extremely stable. If not using the seven seats the boot is massive, easily swallowing up the awning and all the other camping gear. I must admit to being a little worried when i first bought the car as to whether it would cope with the heavy van but i needn\'t have worried. Anyone wanting a practical people carrier that tows very well look no further.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max II - 2.0 TDCi and Caravan

Brian reviewed on a Ford S-Max II - 2.0 TDCi (132 Kw/180 bhp year: june 2015 - up to now) and a Caravan as an example of (laden) 1250 kg.

The car is very stable. It is noticeably heavier than the previous model and this is good. No chance of the tail wagging the dog so to speak.
Recommend it

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.2 TDCi and Elddis

Michael Pemberton reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.2 TDCi (147 Kw/200 bhp year: june 2010 - june 2015) and a Elddis Crusader Shamal of (laden) 1659 kg.

The Smax has towed the Elddis very well. The outfit feels very stable and rides well. I have covered just over 300 miles in a day without issue. Fuel consumption has varied between 23 mpg and 30 mpg - I guess wind and temperature related. Fully recommended.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi [2010] and Compass

david gardner reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi [2010] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2010 - june 2015) and a Compass Corona 462 of (laden) 1350 kg.

Advantage of not only being a good towing car,but in its day to day life an excellent car,with great economy. The kerbweight seems to very from all reports I read so I took my vehicle to the Weigh Bridge and with exactly half a fuel tank of Diesel and a 75kg [driver] it was exactly 1800 kg.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi [2010] and Compass

david reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi [2010] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2010 - june 2015) and a Compass Omega 482 of (laden) 1318 kg.

Corona 505 [Compass] MTPLM 1395 a 2010 S-Max 140BHP 2.0 litre manual diesel. its first towing mission to Dorset [From Yorkshire] covering some 850 miles all told.Hills no problem, 6th[dropping to 5th in slow traffic.]Using the tank fill to fill method averaged about 37 mpg [150 miles without the caravan of course??]Don't need a big tugger sufficient acceleration to overtake even in 6th.This site lists Kerbweight well below the actual of 1783kg [without driver!]

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi [2010] and Ace

Samuel Johnston reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi [2010] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2010 - june 2015) and a Ace Jubilee Equerry of (laden) 1635 kg.

Previously towed for 4 years with a Landrover Freelander. Was a little worried that the S-Max wouldn't match its towing ability - I needn't have worried. The S-Max pulls strongly and is a very steady towcar - even steadier than the 4 wheel drive Freelander. No problems with hills - the S-Max can cope with most in 6th gear, or if driving slower 5th will cope with almost anything.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Standaard Caravan

Simon Abernethy reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Standaard Caravan of (laden) 1750 kg.

Had our first trip out with our new Bailey senator Carolina. The caravan or car were not fully laden but, the car pulled like a dream. More surprisingly, it was great for stop start in traffic jams, it even pulled away great on a hill start. Like other reviewers have said, put the cruise control on and point and go. Can't wait for our next trip out.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi [2010] and Lunar

Andy reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi [2010] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2010 - june 2015) and a Lunar Quasar 556 of (laden) 1499 kg.

I tow a Quasar 615 (1600kg) all over France this is my 3rd Smax and they are amazing, like keith has said they can out perform many 4 x 4's with ease, make sure you get a TDCI.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Swift

F L HENRY reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: may 2010 - june 2015) and a Swift Challenger Sport 554 of (laden) 1430 kg.

The S Max Titainium 163 bhp will pull the Swift Challenger Sport 544 in top gear most of the time very stable relaxed tow car my previous Citroen C5 VTR 2 litre Tourer had simular performance with this caravan slightly better on hill starts but prefered to stay in 5 th gear mostly not much to choose between them would rate both cars.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Bailey

steve moran reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Bailey Pegasus GT65 Verona of (laden) 1490 kg.

just traded our old fantastic bailey ranger 550/6 in for a new bailey Pegasus gt 65 Verona.200kg heavier van which my 2.0l tdci s max tows brilliantly!! again highly recommend it as a very capable tow car.see what junk you haul around in your unit as I think I took about 200 kg of crap out of our old ranger!! That's probably why I didn't feel a difference in the towing capabilities!!!see what uneccessary junk your carting about Happy Vanning!!!

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] and Bailey

John reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] (120 Kw/163 bhp year: may 2010 - june 2015) and a Bailey Olympus 540-5 of (laden) 1472 kg.

An absolute dream to drive whether towing or solo. Plenty of power and really comfortable over long journeys. If you can find one with the sat nav it will have a reversing camera and it's superb.
Getting circa 38mpg solo and 26-28 towing, but all depends how heavy your right foot is.
One of the best cars iveever had and wouldn't hesitate again to get another

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] and Bailey

Dave reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi [PowerShift] (120 Kw/163 bhp year: may 2010 - june 2015) and a Bailey Unicorn Seville of (laden) 1350 kg.

Have had quite a few tow cars, but the S-Max is the Dogs...... Have just returned from Dorset travelling to Norfolk. The only problem I had was forgetting that the van was there. The power of the 2.0 ltr engine is more than enough and matched with the powershift gear box it is a dream to drive.You need to watch the speed of the unit as the Ford makes it all so easy. There is so much room in the back for all the caravan bits and our westie. The comfort in the cab very good the seats give good support on long journeys. When I buy a new car it will be an S-Max. Have covered 7,000 miles and average 45 mpg solo and 37 mpg with the van on the hook

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Swift

Simon Myhill reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Swift Challenger SE 580 of (laden) 1654 kg.

S-max 2.0TDCI 2007 towing Swift Challenger Sport 636 (TA) 2012 model @ 1650kg fully loaded. Having just returned from a 3 week trip to Italy via the Swiss Alps, the S-Max was amazing. At no point did the car struggle on the long 4% 12km inclines, even fully loaded with 2 bikes on the car, & 2 in caravan, with 2 adults & 2 children in car. Occassionally had to change down to 4th on very steep hills, but generally coped in 5th or 6th gear no trouble. Very few outfits came past us on the whole journey, travelling at average 58mph, returning ave 31mpg..amazing. Average outside temp was 34deg and temp gauge did not move at all. I would recommend this car for similar size caravan as it deals with everything you throw at it...Will certainly be upgrading next year for newer model....outstanding

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 1.8 TDCi [6MT] and Ace

Ian King reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 1.8 TDCi [6MT] (92 Kw/125 bhp year: september 2006 - may 2010) and a Ace Jubilee Aristocrat of (laden) 1454 kg.

The mtplm of this van is 4kg over the cars limit but have had no problems anywhere I've been so far. We always get nose weight on 75kg and the stabilty is fine at 60mph. On long motorway drives get 30mpg according to trip computer and 45mpg without 'van attached

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Lunar

Grant reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Lunar Quasar 556 of (laden) 1489 kg.

Having never towed before, it was with a bit of trepidation when we set off. The first day we collected the caravan, it was snowing, and high winds too. I needed have worried though, the S-Max had more than enough power to pull the caravan without any issues at all. We've since been around the Yorkshire Moors, up and down steep and wet hills, and all with no problem at all. A good recommeded combination.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Bailey

mark gee reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Bailey Pegasus 624 of (laden) 1638 kg.

Our previous car was a sorento 2007 xt great for towing but thirsty we now have a s max titanium 2 ltr diesel does everthing sorento did only dif is on motorway have to occasionaly change down and the obvious limitations when parking on grass pitches but otherwise more than capable in every other way just put cruise control on and point and go.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Bailey

steve moran reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Bailey Ranger 550 of (laden) 1278 kg.

Our Ford S Max is fantastic at pulling our Bailey 550/6.Loads of room for all our gear and kids,comfortable and in Titanium spec ,loads of toys!A joy to tow with and would happily recommend this car to any fellow vanners!!The only problem is forgetting you have a unit behind you!! Happy vanning!!!

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Avondale

John Peat reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Avondale Avocet of (laden) 1344 kg.

Excellent towcar. Changed from an Omega MV6 estate, which didn't notice the caravan was there, and found no difference except in traction on muddy fields and the fuel consumption! Noseweight needs to be 80-90kg for stability, but otherwise not a twitch. Town consumption is around 40-42, but that's because I carry extra weight in the form of a proper spare tyre, jack, and tools. Towing I get around 33 - very acceptable.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi [2010] and Sprite

stuart grieve reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi [2010] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2010 - june 2015) and a Sprite Major 6 of (laden) 1375 kg.

We are new to caravaning. Smax returns 28mpg with Sprite Major. A little dissapointed on hills as SMAX WAS STRUGGLING. May consider a remax for ford

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Bailey

Tony Salt reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Bailey Ranger 540/6 of (laden) 1263 kg.

Used the S-max twice now to tow the van excellent performance even when fully loaded with me the wife and 3 kids does everything you would expect. averaging 47 solo and 33.5 with the van on. Would recomend this vehicle to anyone.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Ace

r cammack reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Ace Jubilee Equerry of (laden) 1635 kg.

s max tows our ace (1600)kg very well overall. does suffer from loss of traction on steep inclines or on wet roads and fields. sometimes difficult to park without smoking the clutch a bit as well espescially if reversing the van up a slight gradient. Economy is brilliant, far better than any 4x4 we've used and there's loads of room in the boot if only using the 5 seat configuration rather than the full 7. advice would always be to load up the car rather than the van and be prepared to get stuck now and again especially in winter on sloping CL type sites.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Hobby

Mick Bull reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (120 Kw/163 bhp year: may 2010 - june 2015) and a Hobby De Luxe 495 UL of (laden) 1367 kg.

The S max is a capable tow car and performs extremely well with the Hobby on the back. Having towed on the continent for some years, I have not found the S max lacking when power is required to get passed some of the large trucks

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi [2010] and Swift

KEITH reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi [2010] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: may 2010 - june 2015) and a Swift Conqueror 630 of (laden) 1732 kg.

Cannot believe our good the S Max tows my Twin axle Swift Conqueror.I have kept my Isuzu Bighorn/trooper just in case it could not handle such a big van. But I need not had worried I made a good choice with S Max. It out performed my old 4 Wheel drive in Pulling power and braking. Even the stability was excellent that was the major concern I had about S Max. Fuel was very good I got 29mpg towing and 47mpg solo. Cannot fault car.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi aut. and Bailey

Jonathan Morris reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi aut. (96 Kw/131 bhp year: june 2007 - february 2008) and a Bailey Ranger 500/5 of (laden) 1244 kg.

The Ford S Max really is terrific. Very stable, very smooth, loads of power and pull, even in 5th and 6th gears (mine is a manual) but generally stop at 5th gear. and it manages 30mpg. Like somebody else said you can forget the caravan is there.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Lunar

Nick Burrill reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Lunar Quasar 546 of (laden) 1404 kg.

Having done our reserch ref S-Max and van, we hooked up for the 1st time in early may 2010 on a 600 mile round trip and the caravan did not move an inch behind car, it tows like a dream ! !

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 1.8 TDCi [6MT] and Lunar

Tony Booth reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 1.8 TDCi [6MT] (92 Kw/125 bhp year: september 2006 - may 2010) and a Lunar Quasar 544 of (laden) 1390 kg.

Just back in Shropshire after first long trip out(to Lowestoft) averaged about 28 mpg but talk about pulling power Don't bother with the 2 litre version unless you are pulling anthing a lot bigger and heavier this is the best tow car I have had

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Lunar

Fraser Brown reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Lunar Quasar 626 of (laden) 1600 kg.

What a great towcar, we bought the Lunar for its weight versus the other marques. The S-Max tows like a dream, we have towed from Fife in Scotland to Devon, not an issue. Although i'm constantly asked whether it's safe! What is it about the 4x4 drivers, they seem to think we are under-powered! I think they can't believe what this car can do!

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Avondale

tom grindley reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Avondale Dart 545-4 of (laden) 1227 kg.

im new to the caravaning game my first car the fiat bravo 150t did not feel safe on the front of my avondale dart 545 i thought it was just my inexperience the feel of the caravan wondering around on the back sometimes felt like i wasnt incontrol so i changeed my car to a ford smax after alot of research and what a machine that is fully stable and incontrol of the van makes me want to go more now no problem on any roads now the car bosses the van and not the other way around well recomended.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Elddis

P Priestley reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Elddis Odyssey 544 of (laden) 1560 kg.

I have just returned from towing my Elddis over a 700mile round trip with absolute joy. The car performs 1st class and even achieved an average of 29MPG. No problems on motorways or country lanes , it coped with everything I asked of it.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.2 TDCi and Bailey

Philip Hubball reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.2 TDCi (128 Kw/174 bhp year: april 2008 - may 2010) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Burgundy of (laden) 1380 kg.

Towing electrics sorted and not recurred. Many trips now wit the caravan and very stable, relaxed, plenty of low down power. Accelerates quickly and cruises effortlessly at 70. Most motorway inclines managed in 6th every at 60mph. Hugely comfortable, versatile and comfortable car with plenty of room for passengerrs and luggage. Agree about having removable towbar ... thankfully I did, but sensors pick up towbar when not hitched.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 1.8 TDCi [6MT] and Bailey

mr w pittaway reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 1.8 TDCi [6MT] (92 Kw/125 bhp year: september 2006 - may 2010) and a Bailey Pageant Moselle of (laden) 1337 kg.

I have just returned from a two week holiday to cornwall from doncaster i after say the smax was a dream to drive and tow even with 3 adults and 3 kids and with the caravan on the back doing 60 mph we still got 39 mpg which i thought was really good , hills were no problem at all never at to drop down a gear once i would rate this car 9 out of 10 i say that becuase the clutch could be better when pulling away its fine when you get use to it but you after give it more revs than usual but its miles better than the scenic i had before its the best mpv tow car i have had also i get 52 mpg solo so just buy one it looks great to , hope this helps

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Ace

S. Ascott reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Ace Jubilee Courier of (laden) 1469 kg.

I have towed with the smax now for three years i find the car tows very well and the van is always stable ,fuel is around 33mpg when towing and 45mpg solo.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.2 TDCi and Swift

Paul Sumpner reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.2 TDCi (128 Kw/174 bhp year: april 2008 - may 2010) and a Swift Charisma 540 of (laden) 1471 kg.

Very, very impressed with the towing experiences with this combination. Had not towed a caravan for over 15 years and had some trepidation when we purchased the Swift last September. However, we need not have worried as in the fifteen trips we have so far made, the S-Max has towed perfectly, cruising at 60mph and returning >30mpg.
As for the car itself, we would recommend not fitting a fixed towbar in combo with reversing sensors (its constant beeping will drive you crazy!) We have had a problem with sticking disk brake (fixed by Ford with no quibble) and the dash control centre sometimes loses connection with the stereo, but all things considered, I would recommend the S-Max and Swift Charisma 540 outfit.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.5 20v Turbo and Swift

paul meredith reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.5 20v Turbo (162 Kw/220 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Swift Charisma 550 of (laden) 1383 kg.

We have an 08 s-max 2.5T petrol.
It has been superchipped using blufin and mpg has improved by average 2.2mpg (over 4000 miles with the wife driving not towing)
On motorways sit in 6th gear all day up and down hill and have to hold myself back as would easily push past sensible speeds.
On A roads again cannot be acussed of holding up traffic and always feels surefooted and safe all in all one of the best towcars i have driven and nearly as good as my old bmw 530d touring.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.5 20v Turbo and Compass

J.England reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.5 20v Turbo (162 Kw/220 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Compass Corona 544 of (laden) 1470 kg.

Having taken the unit out for the first time this Easter I can only say good things, the motorway run as well as the hill climbs to our CL were effortless. Allthough a long unit we were able to negotiate all obsticles before us.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.2 TDCi and Bailey

Philip Hubball reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.2 TDCi (128 Kw/174 bhp year: april 2008 - may 2010) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Burgundy of (laden) 1380 kg.

sMax is a lovely drive and very smooth (especially with the 2.2. tdci). Very relaxed ride with Caravan. Quite a wide turning circle. However I have been having problems with the twoing electrics (ford kit fitted) which I am in process of getting resolved. CAN BUss config problem - keeps loosing it and stoping working! Other than this a VERY comfortable relaxed tow!

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 1.8 TDCi [6MT] and Sprite

Peter McGonnell reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 1.8 TDCi [6MT] (92 Kw/125 bhp year: september 2006 - may 2010) and a Sprite Major 6 of (laden) 1375 kg.

I also experienced a 'flat spot' and took the car into my local dealer who said it was on a re-call and the problem was rectified. Since then there hasn't been any problem and the car and caravan perform very well together. Hope that this is of help.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Abbey

R TOMLIN reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Abbey Aventura 320 of (laden) 1389 kg.

I have towed with the 'S Max' for almost 3 years ,very good towcar, no problem to stay in 6th gear on motorway,very stable, has been reliable. BUT I would not recommend one as it does not have a spare wheel,ONLY a repair rubber solution and small compressor to pump up a flat tyre, but due to the weight of the vehicle a tyre wall is destroyed after 20 mtrs, hence you have to call a recovery vehicle. I have now purchased a spare but it is so big it takes up a lot of boot space and it can't be anchored down safely .
Have a puncture and you could end up sitting by the roadside for 2 hours waiting recovery!??

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Fleetwood

graeme gilroy reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Fleetwood Meridien 640 EKB of (laden) 1600 kg.

i cant believe how stable this outfit is especially on motor ways. seems to get some strange looks from other caravaners but i put that down to them being power crazy in their 4x4 s and as long as you dont go to far off the beaten track the car performs excellent.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Bailey

Wayne Hinsley reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Bailey Pageant Provence of (laden) 1475 kg.

Changed to the S-Max from Audi A4 Avant and tows our S6 Pageant loads better. Clutch on Audi was suspect and stability poor, S-max tows like a dream, very stable, enough power, plus loads of room for stuff. Only thing is slight tendency to spin front wheels easily, any chance of a 4 wheel drive version Ford, this would be perfect!

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Abbey

Brian Duncan reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Abbey GTS 416 of (laden) 1535 kg.

This rig is the ticket for towing.What can i say.Its the dogs.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Fleetwood

Rae Relton reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Fleetwood Heritage 640-CB TA of (laden) 1615 kg.

Although towing is at around 93% fully laden the S MAX tows this van like a dream. very stable on country roads and motorways. I would recomend this car for towing or solo.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Avondale

David johnson reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Avondale Dart 630-6 of (laden) 1500 kg.

Tows the avondale without any problems, except keeping the speed down! averages 38MPG towing 46 MPG solo.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Knaus

Dom Owen reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Knaus Sudwind 550 KU of (laden) 1455 kg.

I have a Knaus Sudwind 550 KU 1255kg (MAx 1500kg)the car is great.
Infact you have to remember the van is on the back, thinking of getting a Ford Kuga any help?

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi and Knaus

Dom Owen reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2006 - may 2010) and a Knaus Sudwind 550 KU of (laden) 1455 kg.

I have a Knaus Sudwinf 550 KU 1255kg the car is great.
Infact you have to remember the van is on the back, thinking of getting a Ford Kuga any help?

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi aut. and Compass

Chris Bamford reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 2.0 TDCi aut. (96 Kw/131 bhp year: june 2007 - february 2008) and a Compass Corona 362 of (laden) 1100 kg.

The Ford S-max is so good that I sometimes don't even realise I am towing a caravan at all. I have experienced no problems whatsoever with this match of car and caravan. However, we went for a Witter towbar fitted by the local dealer instead of the factory fitted one and this can be a slight problem because of the rear parking sensors. Also, the towbar itself is very close to the bumper so care has to be taken when unhitching the caravan.

More details >>>


Ford S-Max - 1.8 TDCi [6MT] and Bailey

Mr N Wallace reviewed on a Ford S-Max - 1.8 TDCi [6MT] (92 Kw/125 bhp year: september 2006 - may 2010) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Bretagne of (laden) 1395 kg.

On paper and using data from the Ford brochure this 1.8 TDCI model is right on the UK legal limit for my van. However overall my 1.8 TDCI S-Max performs really well whilst towing, & we have just returned from a two week tour of the Lake district & Scottish highlands towing our Bailey Pageant Bretagne, which is a reasonably large 6 berth single axle van. Motorway cruising is fine with 6th gear achieveable easily on the flat and most gentle hills. The fuel consumption towing was 27 MPG, when not towing I can get the consumption as low as 52 MPG. The car has a 70 litre fuel tank so this gives it a great range on a tankfull, although I find that my gauge is not linear, meaning that the first 1/4 tank seems to go very quickly while the remaining 3/4 lasts a lot longer. My S-Max has the electric park brake which also includes the 'hill start' function which is great. My only critisism with this car is that the engine management system has a 'flat spot' when initially pulling away before power comes in too harshly. Even when not towing the car has really low power when pulling away in 1st gear and especially when pulling out of a junction or a roundabout, therefore when towing the issue is exacibated to the point that you have to use high engine rpm and slip the clutch to get the outfit moving. Incidently the 2.0 TDCI version does not have the same issue. (8 valve engine on 1.8 versus 16 valve on 2.0 means more air flow into the engine at low rpm) I also find that when manouvering with the car the clutch does overheat quickly causing nasty clutch smells. The reverse gear does not have a good ratio for easy use, again it is necessary to slip the clutch to achieve a smooth reverse manouvre. The S-Max standard mirrors are OK for use when towing, it's a wide car, so the mirrors are a lot further out already as opposed to a normal estate car. My car also has the Ford accessory removable tow bar & 13 pin connector which only took me a morning to fit to the car while lying on my back in the driveway, although you will need help from a Ford garage to configure the cars 'can-bus' electrics to make the trailer lights work. It's well worthwhile though as it looks and is a professional bit of kit unlike some of the aftermarket ones I have seen recently. The car has plenty of space in the rear, my two kids (big 11 & 8 Y/O's) had all the room they needed, the two rearmost seats fold down to give a large boot area, where we chucked the porch & main awnings, two kids bikes, wellies, coats, large tool box etc. Overall I would say that if you want an S-Max & have a big van try to afford the 2.0 TDCI for power, but the 1.8 TDCI is a good compromise, and gives better MPG and better value for money. Hope you find this helpful !

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us