TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Honda CR-V User Reviews

Honda CR-V IV - 2.2i-DTEC and Sterling

james beveridge reviewed on a Honda CR-V IV - 2.2i-DTEC (110 Kw/150 bhp year: october 2012 - april 2015) and a Sterling Eccles Jewel of (laden) 1545 kg.

I fitted a small tuning box to my crv to lift the bhp from 150 to 174 and what a difference,not that the car wasn't coping,I wanted more mpg when towing,and certainly saw a vast improvement averaging 35mpg towing. agreat towing car.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0i aut. [2005] and Avondale

PAUL REYNOLDS reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0i aut. [2005] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Avondale Dart 470-2 of (laden) 1120 kg.

Recently updated my 1999 Honda CRV 2000cc Manual to a 2006 CRV 2000 cc Petrol Auto. 1500 KG max tow weight.The car tows very Well, stable, with adequate power, slightly less urge than the manual. On my first outing 286 miles of A and B roads, no motorways averaged 20.5 mpg. Slightly less than the same trip last year with the old model. This is my first Auto Tow Car and initial impressions are of an easy relaxed drive, As always careful loading and a realiastic weight ratio ensure a safe drive. The earlier version of the CRV Mk2 Auto had a lower towing limit 1200 KG due to the limitations of the older design gearbox.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-DTEC and Bailey

Bill Tweedie reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-DTEC (110 Kw/150 bhp year: october 2010 - october 2012) and a Bailey Unicorn III Cadiz of (laden) 1491 kg.

Had the combination 18 months now and still impressed.Car has performed as expected and never found wanting on hills etc.
I can get between 32 and 27 mpg depending on factors. Lots of space and hasnt missed a beat yet..Will keep the car for some time as it does what we want, and the latest Honda CRVs have a reduced size engine that needs to be driven more before performance can be assessed.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Elddis

Cameron reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Elddis Avante 534 of (laden) 1425 kg.

What a super tow car this is. I have towed with all sorts of cars and I can honestly say this is the best by a long mile. I recently had a courtesy car, Mitsubishi L200, and I thought it was rubbish compared to my Honda.It tows so easily and effortlessly on all sorts of roads and with the rear view camera, hitching up is a doddle and causes less arguments with the wife.Would I recommend this car as a tow vehicle......MOST DEFINITELY.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-DTEC and Lunar

Nigel Wyn reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-DTEC (110 Kw/150 bhp year: october 2010 - october 2012) and a Lunar Quasar 525 of (laden) 1375 kg.

Reassuringly safe feeling towing our Lunar Quasar 525. Never feels underpowered. Set cruise control to 57mph in 5th gear on motorways and it feels like it would go all day long. Only disappointment is that mpg on long journeys drops from 46ish down to 28ish while towing.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] and Avondale

PAUL REYNOLDS reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2002 - november 2004) and a Avondale Argente 390-2 of (laden) 1150 kg.

I have towed several caravans with my 1999 Honda 2.0 ltr Petrol Manual CRV all without problems. This model has the 150 bhp engine and is lower geared than most modern cars giving an easy unstressed feel. The CRV has proved 100% reliable requiring only routine service and two tyres in 7 years of ownership. Like all towing if you load the vehicle correctly and stay well within the 85% recommended limit the CRV will prove an efficient and easy to live with car both solo and when towing. I am now looking for an updated vehicle and a later model CRV is top of the list, possibly a Petrol / Auto.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-DTEC and Swift

dave reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-DTEC (110 Kw/150 bhp year: october 2010 - october 2012) and a Swift Challenger SE 580 of (laden) 1518 kg.

honda dtec 2.2 swift chalenger 2 of us full loaded over brecons no problems from shetland good mpg dont use gear stick to often happy hols cheers dav/janette

More details >>>


Honda CR-V 1.6i-DTEC 4WD and Bailey

edward church reviewed on a Honda CR-V 1.6i-DTEC 4WD (118 Kw/160 bhp year: april 2015 - up to now) and a Bailey Orion 450-5 of (laden) 1280 kg.

towed bailey 450/5 recently, car was a month old, what a dream on towing nearly one hundred miles, I know only a short journey, mostly motorway, but fantastic fuel economy, did not even feel caravan towed as so smooth on acceleration and cruising.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V IV - 2.2i-DTEC and Bailey

edward church reviewed on a Honda CR-V IV - 2.2i-DTEC (110 Kw/150 bhp year: october 2012 - april 2015) and a Bailey Orion 450-5 of (laden) 1280 kg.

Towed bailey 450/5 with new Honda CRV 1.6dtec 4x4, oh my life, absolutely fantastic, did not even realise caravan was there, fuel economy, better than mk 4 2.2 dtec, previously owned. now on fourth CRV, but also fourth caravan, wait out for reports on bailey orion 530/6 with new 1.6 dtec 4x4. would recommend Honda crv mk 2,3 and 4 (2.2 & 1.6 4x4 dtec) both cdti engine and dtec for towing. so far to be honest mk 2 2.2 cdti was the best CRV of all, maybe not for fuel economy, but for reliability, especially when towing.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.0i aut. and Eriba

Ricardo reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.0i aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2012) and a Eriba Touring Triton 420 of (laden) 1000 kg.

Ive converted my Honda CR-V to LPG. This means when towing I put in 46-48 lts. at 56 pence and will do 180-190 miles towing Eriba 420T full awning. Up hills i switch to petrol but still huffs and puffs, but gets you there. Tows beautifully, of course as Eriba same width as car so straight forward

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.0i and Lunar

Simon Foster reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.0i (110 Kw/150 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2012) and a Lunar Quasar 534 of (laden) 1305 kg.

Tows well enough for a petrol car but you need to work the box on hills and may need to change down to 5th on motorway inclined. I am not a slow tower so fuel consumption @22mpg is expected which however is only 3mpg less than my turbo diesel Ssanyong Kyron towed at You can use 6th ok with cruise on mways (also with climate control on ) The double decker boot is useful and its extremely comfortable to drive

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Swift

Edwin Mc'Allister reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Swift Conqueror 480 of (laden) 1442 kg.

This is my second Honda diesel and towing this Conqueror is a delight - a perfect match. The car handles well and if you keep below 56mph you can get 30-35 mpg whilst towing (I normally return 48-52mpg solo - also on my previous Mk2). Above 56 mph you it starts to get thirsty. I tour the continent every June and once on the motorway leave it to the cruise control.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V IV - 2.2i-DTEC and Bailey

Adrian Massey reviewed on a Honda CR-V IV - 2.2i-DTEC (110 Kw/150 bhp year: october 2012 - april 2015) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Burgundy of (laden) 1380 kg.

As a new comer I wasn't sure what to purchase so looked at the heaviest car with the best tow capacity and the most comfort as a day car. The research paid off. Its a fantastic car, pulling a large Bailey Burgundy with ease. 5/5

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0i aut. [2005] and Bailey

Mark reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0i aut. [2005] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Bailey Ranger GT60 520/4 of (laden) 1321 kg.

My Honda CR-V 2.0 auto 2006 tows my ranger gt60 520/4 really well sitting at 55mph and returned 21 mpg on our last 200 mile run. Only thing to watch for is the stabiliser hitch handle is very close to the spare wheel cover so extra care needed when coupling up. Use the D3 (OD) button when extra power needed rather then using the kick down on the autobox.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Swift

Steve Bonar reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Swift Challenger Sport 584 of (laden) 1453 kg.

This is a truly superb towcar. It's so under rated. I would highly recommend it

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-DTEC and Eriba

Trevor Woodford reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-DTEC (110 Kw/150 bhp year: october 2010 - october 2012) and a Eriba Touring Troll 540 of (laden) 1195 kg.

Great car solo and a great combo with my Eriba Troll.
Very comfortable and lots of space....
Plenty of power provides effortless towing and very stable...
No problems towing in hilly terrain...
I certainly can recommend ......

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Lunar

ian reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Lunar Quasar 554 of (laden) 1350 kg.

very pleased with performance of crv and caravan, went on holiday from Hampshire to Scotland, sat at 60 in cruise control on motorway and averaged 33 mpg except for very steep inclines kept crv in cruise

More details >>>


Honda CR-V IV - 2.2i-DTEC and Bailey

ted reviewed on a Honda CR-V IV - 2.2i-DTEC (110 Kw/150 bhp year: october 2012 - april 2015) and a Bailey Orion 450-5 of (laden) 1287 kg.

upgraded crv mk III to mk IV, towing orion 450 5. new model is absolute dream to tow with, better than previous.MPG was 2.3 less than normal driving @ 43. stuck with honda crv for towing would rate mk II,II and IV diesel, new dtec is a dream driving, towing, carrying and fuel economy is superb.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V IV - 2.2i-DTEC and Swift

Tony Vernon-Smith reviewed on a Honda CR-V IV - 2.2i-DTEC (110 Kw/150 bhp year: october 2012 - april 2015) and a Swift Conqueror 530 of (laden) 1670 kg.

Have just completed a nightmare journey with the 2012 CR-V 2.2 DTEC towing a Swift Conquerer 530.
Horrendous traffic volumes on bank holiday Friday caused long queues in very hilly terrain. Having been driving for six hours from Cornwall the clutch started to judder and I was concerned we would reach Cambridge. My concern was upheld when we the car came to a halt with vicious clutch judder.
The car has only completed 32,000 miles so any clutch repairs should be covered by warranty as the car / caravan combination are perfect and not overloaded.
I am interested to know if anybody else has experienced this problem as it may highlight that materials used in the manufacture of clutch plates are not what they used to be.
I have been towing caravan for thirty-five years, thirty-one with Volvos, and have never experienced this before.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Paul Lightowler reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Bailey Pegasus GT65 Ancona of (laden) 1496 kg.

I have had this car for 5 years and towed caravans from the outset. This van is the heaviest I have towed. The car does cope very well with it, however the MPG is effected. It returns around 24mpg with this van apposed to 27mpg with the lighter van. I thought about upgrading to the newer model but cannot see an overall benefit. The car returns 43mpg solo and is a pleasure to drive. Very little mechanical issues over my period of ownership, however it needed a new clutch this year. This was fitted by Honda and wasn't overly expensive. Overall a fantastic car which performs well all the time.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-DTEC and Lunar

Gareth Browning reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-DTEC (110 Kw/150 bhp year: october 2010 - october 2012) and a Lunar Lexon EB of (laden) 1320 kg.

Fantastic combination. The CRV tows effortlessly hardly ever need to change gear. Towed full caravan with car full over the Alps Brenner Pass this year with ease. Very stable combination.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

eddie reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Orion 450-5 of (laden) 1287 kg.

Got CRV mk III, to replace CRV mk II, as more pulling capability, could not say anything wrong about mk II, just mk III has more pulling power. Did tow elddis odyssey 505, managed absolutely fine. Bought new Bailey Orion 450-5(1287). tows a dream, acceleration is fabulous, mpg is reduced to when not towing, but depends how you drive as to what you average. Is lovely to drive, and reverse. a brilliant match

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Steve Harcus reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Pageant Provence of (laden) 1475 kg.

Having started with a 2.5 petrol Grand Vitara (100% weight match) what a difference the CRV is. No more wallowing, no more constant correcting the steering, towing is so much easier not only due to the better weight match but everything from the suspension to the flexibility of the engine makes towing a far more pleasurable experience. Mid 20's to the gallon is easier on the wallet as well (12 mpg in the Grand Vitara).

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] and Elddis

D Potts reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2002 - november 2004) and a Elddis Affinity 574 of (laden) 1496 kg.

I am towing a Magnum GT 574.I am new to towing and on paper I am running at 95%.However I have a portable platform weight measurement device and load the van to 1400 kgs max is 1450kgs thus my weight ratio is 88%.There are 2 of us in the car and I load this with all heavy weights inside the wheelbase and only light weights behind the rear axle.Thus I consider my car kerbweight is in excess of the maufacturers quoted figure. I travel with a noseweight of 67 kgs The unit tows like a dream at 60mph in all conditions with no stability issues.I think the BPW chassis is superb.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.0i and Sprite

thomas cross reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.0i (110 Kw/150 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2012) and a Sprite Finesse 2 of (laden) 1073 kg.

I have a Honda crv 111 and I tow a sprite finesse
no problems towing on motorways or by roads very happy with both

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Sprite

Alan reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Sprite Musketeer TD of (laden) 1270 kg.

This is my second CRV the first was a petrol manual 5 speed I had this when I first purchased my Sprite buying the diesel 2.2 made all the difference the power is fantastic and as I am an all weather caravaner the 2.2 pull us out of the worst mud and slush situations, I took the caravans spare wheel out of the front locker and I carry it in the boot space of the CRV where a second spare wheel can be carried this lightens the nose weight on the ball hitch. My combination of car and caravan works great itís no slouch I do get a move on and find myself having to lift the right foot at times as it is easy to find myself creeping up to 70 mph. The CRV gives great mph and can be bought at a sensible price. I can imagine there maybe problems for some caravan hitches due to the spare wheel protruding on the CRVs rear door, I had no problem just have to be a little careful, I have now fitted a motor mover and wow itís so easy to hitch up the caravan.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0i aut. [2005] and Swift

PETER TURNER reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0i aut. [2005] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Swift Challenger 560 of (laden) 1493 kg.

Have been towing for over 12 months with honda crv and cannot fault it in any way ,have not had any stability problems in fact it is very stable in every way.and does not struggle power wise at any time.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] and Lunar

jack reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2002 - november 2004) and a Lunar Stellar of (laden) 1200 kg.

I have towed my Lunar extensively throughout Europe and my 53 plate SE Sport CRV has had more than enough power to manage any terrain that I have encountered. OK it's a little thirsty when towing but not as bad as the Honda Accord I had previously 16mpg ouch! I'll be keeping my CRV for many more European treks with the caravan .

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Eddie Cairns reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Senator Vermont of (laden) 1280 kg.

We bought this Honda CR-V in January to replace my ex company car - Insignia 2l diesel ecoflex (which we got 32mpg when towing this unit). To say that we were devastated to find that we can only managed 22/23mpg when towing is an understatement!!! It is manual and struggles to go up even the slightest gradient without having to change down to 4th gear - cruise control and 6th gear seems an impossible feat at any time!! The previous owner I now find out had similar problems and nothing seems to have been done and the dealer and Honda - although an approved car - will do nothing - the worst choice I have ever made in a car. I never thought that I would ever look forward to driving that Insignia again but - bring it on - is all I can say having driven this disaster of a Honda. By the way - 36mpg when solo so I got it chipped - now getting 44-50mpg solo - 22/23 towing!!! Be carefull who you buy from!!!

More details >>>


Honda CR-V IV - 2.2i-DTEC and Eriba

Garth Fenton reviewed on a Honda CR-V IV - 2.2i-DTEC (110 Kw/150 bhp year: october 2012 - april 2015) and a Eriba Triton 420 of (laden) 1091 kg.

we have towed about 3500miles over the past three years, mainly in Scotland, the unit has peformed well with a fuel consuption of 36mpg

More details >>>


Honda CR-V IV - 2.2i-DTEC and Lunar

Oneputt reviewed on a Honda CR-V IV - 2.2i-DTEC (110 Kw/150 bhp year: october 2012 - april 2015) and a Lunar Stellar of (laden) 1262 kg.

Great tow car with outfit, more than enough power and very stable. Just completed 800 miles of mix motorways and A roads and returned 27 MPG. Running solo I get 37 MPG.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V 2.0i 4WD aut. and Eriba

Colin James reviewed on a Honda CR-V 2.0i 4WD aut. (114 Kw/155 bhp year: october 2012 - up to now) and a Eriba Touring Troll 540 of (laden) 1195 kg.

Have towed through Germany and Czech republic, around Holland and twice to South of France.
Allowing for 80kph towing limit throughout most of Europe, outfit tows comfortably, and in accordance with detail above. Very comparable in performance with previous X-trail auto, even to need for low gear and restricted speed on severe mountain gradients.
Useful feature on auto is button to restrict to three lower gears. Does about 23/24 mpg towing. Trailer stability electronics a standard feature on the CR-V, but never conscious of it being needed. Dipped headlights still a bit high when towing even on lowest setting.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] and Bailey

Justin reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2002 - november 2004) and a Bailey Olympus 534 of (laden) 1442 kg.

I've just been to Whitby and back and I've tried using premium petrol. Well I can't really tell if it makes a difference. However for motorways journeys it may do but I'm not sure as I tried it with 99 ron and 95 ron and it seemed fine with either. What I've found though is that if I keep the revs up between 3000 and 4000 she pulls brilliantly. No issues at all. This gives me a steady 55 to 60+. Goes up 17% hills no trouble. No it won't pull steadily at 70 like a diesel but I don't want to. 55 to 65 is plenty. As for mpg it's between 20 and 23. I think the difference is probably head wind!

So nowI use the gears properly and anticipate the inclines I'm very happy and would recommend the CRV, especially as modern diesels seem rather a concern mechanically/financially.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Tim reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Vendee of (laden) 1365 kg.

Summary. Stay very aware of revs.
The Gear ratios (I presume) are the major weakness of this vehicle. 6th gear is just an "overdrive", therefore do not expect to be able to climb any sort of gradient with this vehicle in 6th. 5th and 4th are available for most other scenario and I have only really had to resort to 3rd for A361 Link road (Barnstaple - Tiverton). Keep the revs above 2000 RPM and life will be eaasier. The quietness of the whole unit though can lead to strain. I took this vehicle for a test run prior to my annual South of France Migration and the A361 revealed a serious slip of clutch in 4, 5 and 6th gear. This was unsettling and I decided to replace the clutch.
After that the machine did the run to France very well.
If speed is confined to 50-55 then a 26MPG is possible, but progression will be limited.
If you plant the right foot and use the gears 20-24MPG will be the normal on the roads from Calais to Nice. Discoveries and other true "Tow vehicles" will go past you on hills, but this vehicle is stable. That was my reason for the purchase of the vehicle. I wanted a cheap reliable machine that could complement my Audi (200,000 + on clock). The CRV is so heavy it gives a sense of security whilst overtaking or in cross winds. Ground clearance is reasonable (Don`t forget fuel tank is lower), which was a bonus when sleeping policeman and "manholes" are used in campsites.
Remove the Wheel cover prior to hitching up, and that resolves hitch issues. Be aware (as with all these comments it may be my own vehicle). When planting right foot and powering out of round about or tolls that the car can pull to the left as slippage occurs and 4 wheel drive cuts in. Overall a solid but boring car, that is always in need of attention and many gear changes if you let the RPM drop.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-DTEC aut. and Adria

Barry Evans reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-DTEC aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: october 2010 - october 2012) and a Adria Adora 532 UP of (laden) 1375 kg.

A smooth drive pulling an Adria 532 UP, but is a bit of a struggle starting off and battling up hill, especially in Cornwall. Deisel consumption is quite high for this vehicle.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Dave Stead reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Orion 400-2 of (laden) 1076 kg.

Have just returned from 3 weeks in germany and France covering some 2500 miles. Car towed very well mostly in 6th gear, only dropping down to 5th in areas like the Ardenne. Average overall 33.5.MPG Towing 28.5. Solo 45 Only down side is the speed restriction in France because of the Gross Train Weight

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Neil Gregory reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Senator Indiana of (laden) 1464 kg.

Our CRV is a 2008 MK4 and on a recent trip to the South of France only managed 21mpg,using both computer and brim to brim, travelling at a steady 55mph.

My passat gave better consumption.....CRV is a thirsty vehicle !!!!!

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Adria

Annie reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Adria Altea 542 UK of (laden) 1235 kg.

Drives like a dream, Honda is my car and I now tow instead of hubby. Get decent mileage, approx 28mpg and I have added lots of kit like motor mover, heavy battery, oven etc. really pleased with Honda towing, never feels heavy even fully loaded

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

anthony hull reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Bailey Olympus 525 of (laden) 1438 kg.

The caravan and car are a good match. The car is strong enough to pull. Never get to 6th gear, like to drive at 58mph in 5th. Can't get more than about 29mpg. Car seems stable. I towed a lighter caravan with this car and only noticed a slightly easier ride. Very pleased.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] and Bailey

Justin reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2002 - november 2004) and a Bailey Olympus 534 of (laden) 1442 kg.

Having now spoken to several mechanics the view is modern deisels are excellent up to 7 years old or 100k but they really expensive to run as everything starts needing replacement at £500-1000 a part!..I'm sticking with my Honda.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] and Bailey

Justin reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2002 - november 2004) and a Bailey Olympus 534 of (laden) 1442 kg.

Just been talking to a LandRover independant and he advised against Freelander 1 TD4 as although engine good the gearbox isn't and therefore running/maintenance costs would be very high. Looks like a Nissan then or just accept need to change gear a lot on motorways!

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] and Bailey

Justin reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2002 - november 2004) and a Bailey Olympus 534 of (laden) 1442 kg.

Agree with everything I've read. A wonderful solo car and ok towing but you need to constantly change down to maintain speeds on motorway inclines as torque max is really higher than you like to rev. Towed much lighter Super Sprite 500/6 across France 3 years ago and found same loss of momentum on inclines. If you hardly ever tow or tow short distances or at low speed fine. If you want a long legged towing car, Fuel consumption solo about 30 mpg. Towing 19 to 23 mpg. I'd look for a deisel with low down torque. I'm looking to change to a Freelander TD4.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-DTEC and Lunar

John reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-DTEC (110 Kw/150 bhp year: october 2010 - october 2012) and a Lunar Lexon 575 EB of (laden) 1410 kg.

Love the car both solo and towing. Excellent for getting in and out of as we are both getting on a bit now. The drive is excellent, plenty of power, good economy, and extremely comfortable. Tows our Lunar very well without any signs of struggling. Would recommend it anytime.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V I - 2.0 16v and Avondale

steve reviewed on a Honda CR-V I - 2.0 16v (94 Kw/128 bhp year: september 1997 - may 1999) and a Avondale Dart 556-6 of (laden) 1195 kg.

tows well but need to use gear box good on fuel for a 4x4 engine also 150 bhp makes a difference

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-DTEC and Bailey

Nick reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-DTEC (110 Kw/150 bhp year: october 2010 - october 2012) and a Bailey Pageant Provence of (laden) 1475 kg.

Driving the 10 plate i-DTec CRV, tows really well, feels stable on the road. Sometimes I forgot we were towing. However a bit disappointed with the torque @ 55-60 MPH. the car constantly asked me to drop down a gear. Returned 24 MPG over 500 miles.

Great car on its own although a bit plastic inside, other than that cant fault the car.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Philip Eastham reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Champagne of (laden) 1362 kg.

Cannot fault this motor at towing. Replaced a Volvo V70 petrol with this and i like it better. Lively when needed, gives more confidence than a car/estate as you are positioned higher up. Not as much rear overhang so not as much see-sawing (we always have the correct noseweight but you notice it more in the volvo). Spare wheel on tailgate therefore easy to change! Your gears are there to use so use them to maintain your speed when climbing hills with a caravan on the back! 6th gear used constantly on motorways where possible when towing. Very economical-27/30 towing and upto 46 solo at motorway limits. Roomy, comfortable and quiet. Would have another.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Coachman

Roland Lord reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Coachman Amara 535/4 of (laden) 1480 kg.

Have had Honda 2.2 CDTi for nearly 2 years now. What a terrific engine, never really labours pulling the Coachman Amara 535/4. Fuel is mid 40's solo (mid 50's if really trying!) and about 28mpg towing. Only downer is storage space for bits in the drivers cabin. The boot is fantastic as is the reliability.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Sterling

watson beveridge reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Sterling Eccles Jewel of (laden) 1545 kg.

Bought this car to replace a vectra estate (150bhp),I find the Honda a lot easier to get in and out of having a higher seating position.It pulled the sterling jewel without any effort at all and I found it to be a very stable combination,although it did drink more diesel than the vectra as one would expect,over all a great towing car

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Standaard Caravan

Ronnie and Jean Thomson reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Standaard Caravan of (laden) 1350 kg.

We towed our Sterling Eccles Ruby to Avignon in the south of france with our 2010 Honda crv a round trip of 2500 miles 25 miles to the gallon brilliant tow car

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.0i aut. and Swift

Erik Bainger reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.0i aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2012) and a Swift Challenger 480 of (laden) 1366 kg.

My CR-V is a 2008 Automatic towing a 2010 Swift Challenger 480. A very stable combination, easy to tow in automatic with a very flexible engine. It always feels comfortable to tow. it will puff a little over long steep hills, but still keeps going. Being a petrol Auto fuel consumption is not wonderfull at about 20-22 mpg, but as I do not do the mileage when not towing, a diesel is not worth considering. Its been a Pleasure to drive this combination.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Sterling

John Thompson reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Sterling Europa 495 of (laden) 1469 kg.

Having owned the CRV for just short of a year I have covered to date 11,000 miles, of which 5,000 have been with Sterling Caravan on tow. I have to say I am highly delighted with the cars handling, performance and fuel consumption both towing and solo, I would go as far to say that this car is the most understated car I have owned, itís brilliant! Ö the caravans not bad too, great match, just covered 2,500 miles through France, found cruising in 5th gear more economical than in 6th gear, very relaxing driving, arenít wait for next trip. Well done Honda!

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0i and Ace

John Christian reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0i (110 Kw/150 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Ace Award Brightstar of (laden) 1370 kg.

Excellent towing match, masses of power for any of the hills. Fuel solo 37mpg, and towing (staying with lorries at their 55mph) 23mpg. But if you boost along at 60mph the fuel is down to 19mpg. Lovely car, and so easy and comfortable to drive.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Coachman

Bob reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Coachman VIP 545/4 of (laden) 1635 kg.

We recently purchased a new Coachman 545/4 and have been away touring during April using the Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi as a tow car.
I must say before we took delivery of the Coachman I was a little concerned that the Car would struggle with what is quite a heavy caravan. Therefore, I took the decision to have AL-KO ATC fitted to the caravan and calculated the best way to load the outfit. I decided to load the car with heavy items such as the Awning etc to make sure the caravans laden weight was kept down and the cars weight was maximised.
Anyway, after over 800 miles of towing I can confidently say that the Honda CR-V & Coachman 545/4 combination did not give any problems. On level ground we were able to cruise comfortably in 6th gear at about 60mph. Small inclines were no problem but some steeper hills in Dorset, Devon & Cornwall required a gear change or two to maintain speed.
My initial apprehension was proved to be ill founded and the Car was perfectly capable of towing this heavy caravan safely without problems and returning 25-30 mpg depending on road conditions.... Solo I average 39mpg.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

neil smith reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Pageant Sancerre of (laden) 1415 kg.

I have just completed 4,000 miles towing from Scotland to Spain and then on to Portugal and the CRV coped very well even on the steep motorway inclines in central Spain only dropping to 50mph at one point , I must add that I had two bikes on the roof as well and the van has been upgraded to 1500kg MPTLM and it still returned 23-24 mpg towing on average

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.0i and Standaard Caravan

Steve Johnson reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.0i (110 Kw/150 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2012) and a Standaard Caravan of (laden) 1300 kg.

I have a Honda CRV 2.0i and an Abbey aventura 320L. The combination is very stable but very slow. Flat out on the M5 at 50mph with occaisional bursts of up to 55mph, can't pull 6th gear as the vehicle just slows down. on a slope of about 10% I tried a hill start which resulted 5 attempts later with it rolling back down the hill with clutch slip. I, personally would not recommend this car if your caravan is over about 1000kgs regardless of what you are told. I phoned the dealer who suggested that it would be ok to travel in 3rd gear and keep the revs up!!

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Kenny reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Bailey Pageant Burgundy of (laden) 1375 kg.

I had this car before upgrading my "mobile executive suite" and thought it would be ideal to tow my new bailey S7 pageant burgandy. Although on motorway it tugs along nicely i feel it dies at any hill it sees.on windy roads it works fine but the whole outfit feels a bit underpowered and im up and down gears all the time.Ive seen me in second to climb a hill on an A road.thought about going back to audi but kerbweight not heavy enough unless i go quattro. suppose ill have to keep the old bus as she returns 28-30 and 41 solo.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Adria

Chris Smith reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Adria Altea 502 DK of (laden) 1200 kg.

Our CR-V is a 2005 diesel. It towed brilliantly until just a couple of miles before the St Gotthard tunnel in Switzerland, where the temperature gauge suddenly went sky high followed by a very dramatic loss of power. We took the car to a Honda dealer in Switzerland who were unable to find a fault with the car so we continued our journey. The next day we encountered the same fault in Italy whilst crossing the Appenine mountains. On our return journey we encountered the same problem at the same stages of the journey. Honda UK have no idea what caused the fault.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

David reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Vendee of (laden) 1415 kg.

I bought this vehicle specifically to pull this caravan, and it does it with ease. We have only towed this caravan twice so far but you would not think there was anything on behind. You are unlikely to use 6th gear if you stick to the speed limits and off of the motorway you will find yourself going through the gears a fair bit. Overall it is a fantastic towcar and a brilliant caravan!

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Phil Rhoades reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Senator S5 Oklahoma of (laden) 1447 kg.

Firstly great site and great information. Now my beautifully matched Honda and Bailey Senator Oklahoma what an effortless pairing and the feeling of stability and comfort of ride while towing stick to the 60mph (54/55 if you realy want some great fuel economy ) and you will be amazed love the atc on the Honda and auto selection of 4 whel drive, rally up to 20 plus times a year great off road on the muddy fields as well could go on forever but all round very very happy

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Knaus

Luca reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Knaus Sudwind 500 FSK of (laden) 1395 kg.

Excellent towcar. At 90Km/h in 6th gear with cruise control no problem, even crossing Brenner highway, dowh in 5th gear and go beyond.
TSA and ATC works very well together for stability.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Sterling

John Thompson reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Sterling Europa 495 of (laden) 1469 kg.

I have a question to all CRV diesel owners who tow a caravan? I have a new CRV 2.2 T.D.I ex. I intend to tow a Sterling Europa Lux 495, well within the 85% guidelines, but wish to use my cruise control facility, but canít get my head round the fact that the carís revs and mph stay the same even on slight gradientsĎ, is this harming the engine? Thanks John T.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] and Caravan

John Campbell reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2002 - november 2004) and a Caravan of (laden) 1350 kg.

Having changed from a Mitsibushi Galant 2ltr Diesel to the Honda crv 2ltr (2002) petrol, I find the honda very thirsty when towing and a lot more gear changing needed very stable though on motorways... recap...lovely to drive solo... not great for towing.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Coachman

think before you rev reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Coachman VIP 460/2 of (laden) 1410 kg.

the problem when you are having on the reversing if it is up hill the brake is pushing on to the tow bar and applying the brakes on the set up on your caravan needs to be set up ie check with a caravan serv it will heat up the clutch you try pushing 1.5 tons up a hill with the brakes been on

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Standaard Caravan

John Black reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Standaard Caravan of (laden) 2000 kg.

Took delivery of my new CR-V 2.2-CTDi on 1st March 09, have towed my also new Coachman Laser 650/4 a number of times this year and I can safely say that I am delighted with the whole set up. I carry as much kit in the car as is possible to keep the weight ratio to an acceptable level. Would like now to add some nice chrome extras to my Honda as soon as I can find the time to do so.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

susan robbins reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Senator Wyoming of (laden) 1635 kg.

we are thinking of buying the new bailey senator wyoming this year my partner has towed a new model from chichester caravans around bromsgrove town and on the bypass he said it tows better than our senator virginia which is single axle the wyoming is a twin axle we have spoken to the caravan club who have said its not against the british law to tow it , but advise not to has anyone got any advise for us on this weight towing with honda crv rx diesel 2009 version curb weight 1699 kgs 2000 kgs towing weight train weight 4160 please.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

susan robbins reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Senator Wyoming of (laden) 1635 kg.

we are thinking of buying the new bailey senator wyoming this year my partner has towed a new model from chichester caravans around bromsgrove town and on the bypass he said it tows better than our senator virginia which is single axle the wyoming is a twin axle we have spoken to the caravan club who have said its not against the british law to tow it , but advise not to has anyone got any advise for us on this weight towing with honda crv rx diesel 2009 version curb weight 1699 kgs 2000 kgs towing weight train weight 4160 please.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

David Sykes reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Pageant Limousin of (laden) 1578 kg.

The Honda CRV 2.2 CTDI with the Bailey Limousin performed very well on it's first two trips. Plenty of power, but likes 5th gear better than 6th. Pulls away well on inclines and the VSA and trailer stablisation work well together. Would not pull anything heavier as at 92% feel it's quite enough, always ballast the SUV with table, chairs and/or awning. Set-up this way with two adults outfit feels stable & capable. Fuel wise towing 26 - 28mpg, solo on a run 44mpg but do not believe the computer, brim to brim is more acurate.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Abbey

Derek B reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Abbey Vogue 540 of (laden) 1469 kg.

I tow an Abbey Vogue 2 495 which has same weight as the 540. Cannot fault the tug in any way. I get 29-32 mpg towing and as much as 52 mpg solo. Superb comfort, quiet and unfussed whether pushing along on a motorway or pottering around country lanes. Simply a very able car in all respects.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

susan robbins reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Senator Virginia of (laden) 1459 kg.

honda crv ex towing a bailey senator virginia on the motorway at 60 mph 35.1 in sixth gear solo on the motorway at 70mph with four people and luggage 49.1 this car as only done 2,459 miles since new this march

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

susan robbins reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Senator Virginia of (laden) 1459 kg.

Towing on the motorway at 60 in sixth gear 35 to a gallon solo 49.3 on motorway with four people and luggage at 70 mph

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Coachman

MARTIN reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Coachman VIP 460/2 of (laden) 1410 kg.

HAVE NO PROBLEMS WITH THIS MATCH 6TH GEAR CAN BE A BIT OFF AT THIS SPEED

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Eric reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Ranger 510/4 of (laden) 1223 kg.

Had this car since March so still running in really but have towed from Cheshire up to Scotland and have nothing but praise. Best towcar I have had in 30 years. Keeping below 60 on motorway returned 32mpg and poodling about in rural Scotland was returning over 50. General local shopping type trips gets just under 40. No trouble towing on motorway in 6th gear. Very little lateral movement even when windy. Very comfortable seats even with my bad back. Cant think of anything to criticise.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

G.Marks reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Pageant Champagne of (laden) 1407 kg.

Great car,on a recent trip to Cornwall fully laden,we averaged between 27mpg and 31mpg.Plenty of power,only done 3000miles with my Honda,and it will only get better once the motor has "loosened". Highly recommended.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0i aut. [2005] and Bailey

jackie condon reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0i aut. [2005] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Bailey Ranger 460/4 of (laden) 1172 kg.

I may be wrong, but I thought the automatic crv could not tow as much weight as the manual???? it may be worth checking

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Abbey

J Collins reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Abbey GTS 418 of (laden) 1490 kg.

Just returned from touring Spain and France for 10 weeks with CRV111 57reg. 2.2CDti and Abbey caravan, covering over 3500 miles.
Tows brilliantly. It certainly makes a refreshing change to my previously owned LRover freelander, to be able to accelerate up hill with ease. Pulls on motorway slopes in 5th/6th gears with ease.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Stuart Morgan reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Vendee of (laden) 1415 kg.

Bought the CRV in January 2009 with 14000 on the clock to replace my 2ltr diesel Mondeo zetec s.. I have done 2 trips 600 mile and 700 mile. average fuel consumption was 27mpg on both occasions with the van on. Pottering around solo keeping it under 2000rpm gets me 50 th the gallon. Very capable towing, the van is a lot more stable than the mondeo was, but down on power. That said the mondeo was more expensive to run both in tax and fuel, and there has been only 1 time when I missed the accelaration of the mondeo. Cabin comfort is excellent and the load space swallows two push bikes (one a folder) and everything else. Should you buy one with a towbar already on check its capacity as some are only rated at 60 kilo nose weight. I changed mine for a detachable 100kg unit. Saves the shins when using the tailgate. Hitching can be a bit awkward if you have an Alko hitch type damper. There is a very expensive handle conversion available but just slipping the wheel cover of the spare wheel is cheeper, Dfeinately a recomended tow vehicle. The new mk 3 has better weights for the the larger vans. But the mk2 copes with everything up to twin axle 6 metre outfits. Its also the quitest and smoothest diesel I have ever driven.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Adria

David reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Adria Altea 502 DK of (laden) 1200 kg.

Wow what a difference from my old Seat Toledo or 3 series touring. Comfortable towing with excellent stability even when windy. most of the time I hardly know it is there. As with a couple of other respondees the only issue I have had is a slightly warm clutch when doing longer reversing stints. However I have had exactly the same issue with the above mentioned cars and the Seat used to slip it's clutch for a couple of days after so no worries with the Honda. Also the vehicle itself is extremely comfortable, felxible, quite and spacious. The Mk2 2.2 cdti returns 40mpg solo and 28-30 mpg towing. One down side the stereo in the sports model is rubbish !

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Sprite

rod watson reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Sprite Quattro FB of (laden) 1518 kg.

Very Stable tow car for my sprite quattro twin axle,average 26-29 mpg whilst towing as opposed to 39-41 when not!Would thoroughly recommend both, the trailer stability assist in the Honda crv certainly helps the towing at speed, effortless to reach 60mph and hold between 5th-6th gear

More details >>>


Honda CR-V I - 2.0 16v aut. and Elddis

Phil reviewed on a Honda CR-V I - 2.0 16v aut. (94 Kw/128 bhp year: september 1997 - may 1999) and a Elddis Crusader Hurricane of (laden) 1400 kg.

A good tow car ,towing a Elddis Crusader Hurricane [1350Kg] loaded,always stable and good controle,gradients have the auto box ,to search more and is noted fuel slumt to 23 mpg,against the 30 solo
good on country roads as well as hi way,honda coped well

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Dennis reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Bailey Pageant Provence of (laden) 1475 kg.

The Honda has been a great car, it tows my Bailey easily. We have been to Scotland, Wales and Cornwall and I cant fault it. When towiing I get around 22-23 mpg and 45 mpg when not towing, this car only kicks into 4WD when the front wheels spin which really helps with mpg.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Julian Taylor reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Pageant Limousin of (laden) 1578 kg.

Tows very well but wouldn 't recommend much heavier van. Car 15 months old and done 52000 but needed new clutch at 40000 whilst towing van . Avg 22miles to gallon on motorway at 60mph

More details >>>


Honda CR-V I - 2.0 16v and Elddis

John Mcabney reviewed on a Honda CR-V I - 2.0 16v (94 Kw/128 bhp year: september 1997 - may 1999) and a Elddis Avante 524 of (laden) 1362 kg.

This outfit i have works really well but then again i am stil a novice .

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] and Bailey

Chris Ogden reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2002 - november 2004) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Burgundy of (laden) 1380 kg.

Overall a good tow car. Easy to tow (the wife even spells me on long journeys!). No problem getting up to 60mph and maintaining it. ok, you do have to drop down the gears if on a steep incline but if you change gear BEFORE you lose your revs then it is not a problem. I would estimate that top gear is in use over 90% of the time on motorways. It is very stable even when being overtaken by high sided vehicles in windy conditions. MPG does suffer when towing but I find this varies alot depending on the terrain and head wind. Also brilliant on boggy sites as the four wheel drive kicks in to get you off your pitch. Word of warning, always measure the nose weight and keep around the 65 kg mark. Apart from that Honda, quality is well documented and I have had not one problem with the car since buying it in 2002 (six and a half years ago). The van isn't bad either!

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Fendt

joseluis_alcorcon reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Fendt Saphir 470 TFB of (laden) 1398 kg.

Excelente el comportamiento del conjunto

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Graham reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Bailey Pageant Bordeaux of (laden) 1321 kg.

On the flat and in non wind conditions we haev no problem. Getting av 28mpg. On a slight gradient or in a slight headwind, then be prepared to get up and down the gearbos. The CRV really struggles for a 2.2engine. Its simply aweful. Previous train unit was Skoda Superb - and it was Superb !. I have towed with the CRV / Bordeaux for the last 3years - 2 trips to France and one to French /Spanish border. Another point is hitching up - very difficult in the CRV. I fitted a power mover to the van to aid me. CRV clutch is not up to the job either .. reversing or pullng off ion an inclide leads to a very hot clutchplate.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Abbey

ian quinnell reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Abbey Vogue 540 of (laden) 1469 kg.

Caravan pushed a little in the beging,but after i had put helper springs on the honda it runs like a dream.Went to Norfolk,964 miles round trip pulling van and days out,averaged 36mpg,well pleased

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Keith Collins reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Ranger 470 of (laden) 1172 kg.

Excellent towing car, would not think you were towing the Ranger.Had the car 15 months done 24000 miles get 45 to the gal solo, 36 towing, well pleased with both car and van would recommend both.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

allen sharples reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Burgundy of (laden) 1380 kg.

we have had the honda cr-v 2.2-ctdi for 18 months now had no probs up to now done 10500 miles.we get 30.9 to the gal towing and 49 solo, it is one of the best diesel we have towed with.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Tom reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Burgundy of (laden) 1380 kg.

A very well built,reliable and capable machine. Got an average of 30mpg pulling the van on a mix of roads between 50-55 mph. Will pull all day in top gear on motorways and is so quiet you would not know it was a diesel.Bags of room inside especially with seats folded down,the only niggle is the lack of legroom in the driving position with the seat pushed fully back. (I beleive Honda have fixed this in the new model,cant wait to try it). Highly recommended.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Coachman

Alan Mawson reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Coachman Amara 380/2 of (laden) 1205 kg.

With our Coachman 380 with uprate plate too 1300kg it tows very well no issues what so ever, recommend shocks, fantastic stability, 35mpg but do tend to press on.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0i and Swift

trevor reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0i (110 Kw/150 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Swift Charisma 560 of (laden) 1300 kg.

One little bit of advice, if you read your owners manual for a petrol crv, it list 95 octane fuel, when towing i use premium unleaded and it makes a lot of difference.
I hope this is of some help.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Swift

Ian Porter reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Swift Charisma 620 TA of (laden) 1615 kg.

Towing a Swift Charisma 620 T/A at 1640kilos will hold 60mph in 6th gear on all but steepest hills eg Shap when 5th will pull to 60 and beyond. Average when towing in UK 23mpg rising to 31 mpg in Holland.Hitching up with rear view camera excellant to use an old statement with cruise control on at @65mph in 6th gear you can forget the caravan is there.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

John Stenton reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Senator Vermont of (laden) 1383 kg.

My Honda CRV 2.2i-CTDi pulls my Bailey Senator Vermont like a dream. Just returned from 3 weeks in Germany covering 2000 miles, mostly with the van on the back and returned an overall average of 31.04 mpg.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0i and Sprite

david reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0i (110 Kw/150 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Sprite Alpine 2 of (laden) 1162 kg.

Overall I am happy with the Honda as a tow vehicle,now that I have fitted rubber spring assisters. I have seen comments from people who tow a heavier van who say they are not happy,I am not surprised! The engine is adequate,although it has to be revved for power. There are better tow cars I am sure. My advice,dont get a heavy van if you have a Honda CRV II.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V I - 2.0 16v aut. and Sterling

David Clarke reviewed on a Honda CR-V I - 2.0 16v aut. (94 Kw/128 bhp year: september 1997 - may 1999) and a Sterling Europa 460 of (laden) 1375 kg.

A good combo - travelled more than 4000 miles this year as a train. Only noticable problems are an average mpg of 22 against 28 without caravan and also small motorway gradients cause vehicle to drop to 3rd gear and 5,500 rpm. But always stable and controlable. Honda is a fantastic tow car at this weight. In a recent trip we encountered high winds and again coped well except reduced fuel below 20 mpg.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Scott Thomson reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Ranger 500 of (laden) 1200 kg.

With our Ranger you almost forget it is on the back, the new CR-V is a great tug. Hoping to get 30+ mpg driving to Spain this summer.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Nick Dawkins reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Senator Indiana of (laden) 1464 kg.

The Honda is quite a good all rounder from towing to solo, try not to change down too much going up the hills as the revs tend to be lost very quickly. (change down just as you enter the climb of the hill) keep your speed between 50 -55 Mph on windy days of 15 Mph + (Car & Caravan speed at 60 Mph tends to wag slightly but ATC on caravan brings this into line.(23 MPG Average)

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] and Hobby

Paul Burton reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2002 - november 2004) and a Hobby De Luxe 540 UK of (laden) 1493 kg.

Fantastic. Just drove for 6 hours with it trundling along behind me. Very easy to tow. Very stable. Had to bring myself back from over 70 mph a few times. Motorways 5th gear 80% of the time moving to 4th for good power uphills....what amazed me was the amount of cars that wern't towing anything clogging up the inside lane at 50mph. Must be infuriating for the Lorry drivers.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.0i and Abbey

Richard Mackney reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.0i (110 Kw/150 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2012) and a Abbey Aventura 320 of (laden) 1389 kg.

I am new to towing and have now completed about 600 miles with this combination.

The outfit is very stable in 23mph winds with the AKS on the van and TSC on the Honda I felt very confident. Pulling away is excellent with lots of power with VTEC. I used 5th gear on twisty roads with ease, but 6th would be pushing it.

As it is unleaded the computer displayed 25mpg (35,pg solo) which I know isn't as good as diesel even with the price difference in the fuel.

Overall I am very happy with the outfit, but would not go any heavier until I am much more experienced.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Kabe

sfc 42158 reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Kabe Onyx Kingsize GDL of (laden) 1600 kg.

magneetti honda cr-v towing first time to vekend, i am tow in 5th gear an 10L / 100KM ~90km/h its very good comfort to me.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Swift

Andrew Holden reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Swift Challenger 560 of (laden) 1493 kg.

I think my Swift 560 (single axle fixed-bed) is just at the limits of what my 2006 CRV 2.2CTDi) can tow comfortably. Nevertheless it's impressed me no end with both performance and economy. It handles the weight and size without embarassment and is stable even at French motorway speeds of 110Km/hr. Fuel economy is bound to be down with this weight if you push it over 70 but even then I get 24mpg - and over 40mpg solo! I have added a tune-up module to get a slight increase in power and find this has helped. My only criticism is that the outfit doesn't like reversing on inclines and easily starts to burn the clutch if you are not careful - but to be honest I had this problem with my older Pajero and that was a very thirsty beast! Get a motor mover if you can afford it - it will be cheaper than putting in a new clutch more frequently.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Fleetwood

Pete reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Fleetwood Meridien 560-EK of (laden) 1415 kg.

MPG towing 1450kg = 30mpg. Pulls up motorway incline in 6th, never been stuck in a field due to automatic 4WD AND only £180 for road tax - less emmisions than some Minis!!
Huge interior, comfortable and quiet - best SUV by far.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Swift

Paul reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Swift Charisma 565 of (laden) 1353 kg.

Hi i have just got a 2006 2.2itdi and towed my swift charisma 565 for the first time, i cant belive how easy it was 60mph on motorway with cruise control on, almost forgot caravan was on, on twist moutain road it just cruised and made the hill climb look like a flat road. overall vey very good tow car and i got alomost 30mpg to top it.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] and Bailey

Dave Davies reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2002 - november 2004) and a Bailey Ranger 510 of (laden) 1225 kg.

I found this combination quite good. I picked my caravan up from East Yorkshire and drove to South Wales and found the vehicle quit responsive overtaking & up hill. You did need to accelerate at the bottom of hills to get your speed up, MPG was very poor, on Average about 23 to the Gallon. Thinking of having it converted to LPG. For the amount of Towing we all do i would recommend it. If you do alot of Towing get a large 4x4 like a Discovery or Kia Sorento.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0i aut. and Eriba

Barry reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0i aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2002 - november 2004) and a Eriba Touring Triton 420 GT of (laden) 1000 kg.

2007 euro summer touring season, 5,276 km mixed driving, motorway N road and mountain roads. Auto performed well, easy performance on motorways and N roads with Eriba 420. Mountain roads Alt > 1,000m and gradients av. 12% lot of shunting through the box for correct gear, o/d off not much difference. Recorded fuel consumption: not towing, as per book 10.3 km/lt. Towing performance 60% motorway, 15% N roads, remainder mixed driving at altitude, o/a: 7.3 km/lt
Overall very satisfied, can easily tolerate gear shunting on mountain roads. Would recommend auto for anybody doing long distance touring and "tugging", dissapointing low volume fuel tank, restricted range.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] and Bailey

David Kennerley reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2002 - november 2004) and a Bailey Ranger 460/4 of (laden) 1172 kg.

Very disappointed. On paper the CRV should be a good match to the Bailey Ranger 460/4 but in reality the slightest gradient, even on motorways at cruising speed, has you working your way down the gearbox. Just made the job of towing hard work overall. No option other than to change vehicles, not as roomy but the Volvo S60 D5 auto is a fantastic tow car capable of +30 mpg when towing.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Compass

David Ewbank reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Compass Corona 524 of (laden) 1362 kg.

Great car solo, great tow car too. After 3000 miles it is giving 44mpg+ if driven carefully, and over 33mpg when towing. Plenty of room in car, comfortable. Happy to tow in 6th gear all day on motorway.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0i aut. and Lunar

Martin reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0i aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2002 - november 2004) and a Lunar Clubman 530-4 of (laden) 1350 kg.

I towed my Lunar Clubman 530L to Cornwall last year and i must say I found it a bit of a struggle. Difficult to find a happy criusing speed to keep the automatic box from changing up and down. Seemed to cope well on hills, if a bit racey. Better with the overdrive off. Far too jiucy for my liking though. Shame, because both the car and the caravan are great, but not together!

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0i aut. [2005] and Kip

Bosse reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0i aut. [2005] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Kip Kompakt 37 EK Special of (laden) 950 kg.

Honda CR-V 2006 towing a KIP Kompakt 37 EK is a wounderful kombination!
Very easy to handle due to the low weight of the KIP Kompakt and the same body width of the car and the caravan. No extra outside rear mirror needed.
The KIP Kompakt follow very gentle after the car and is nearly not noticed neither in town city traffic or smaller and curved roads out in the countryside or windy conditions. Even some hilly roads is easily drived by the Honda CR-V / KIP Kompakt combination, due to the low weight of the caravan.
I just love this combination!
And the KIP Kompakt 37 EK is also very nice to live in with its complete kitchen, refrigerator, toilet and sofas / table / bed functionality combined with central air heater for tempering the inside.
I can just recommend this combination for an easy and joyful caravaning!

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Dethleffs

Julian White reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Dethleffs Camper 520 of (laden) 1500 kg.

I must admit, the first time I towed with the new Honda I was very surprised as to how much performace I still had even with 3 children and all the kit we travel with. Its as if its not there. Thank you to Honda for making a beautiful tow vehicle.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Caravan

Gary Gibson reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Caravan of (laden) 1450 kg.

Hi I have an Argente 550-4 and have no problem with my CRV 2.2 diesel very stable and surefooted on sites using the cruise control makes for very relaxwd towing

More details >>>


Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Peter Jones reviewed on a Honda CR-V III - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: january 2007 - october 2010) and a Bailey Ranger 550/6 of (laden) 1258 kg.

Excellent performance from this fantastic towcar. 30 mpg towing 1300kg easily possible. Comfortable and quiet at all speeds.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Bill Tupper reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Bailey Ranger 550 of (laden) 1278 kg.

Hi we have a Honda CRV and it has no problems pulling a loaded Bailey Ranger 550/6 - six gear on Motorways is fine pently of pull in third for uphill overtaking.. Hats off to Honda for this car - the room is inside is very good, the engine is good - 27-29 mpg whilst towing and 38-41 when solo.

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Eriba

Philip Ashton reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Eriba Touring Triton 420 GT of (laden) 1000 kg.

Having a new Triton and a new Honda CR-V ICDTI, Consumption figures are:-
No Van 35-42 MPG
With Van 28-30 MPG
This is acceptable. I do not know that I have a van on the back of the car.
Full marks to HONDA

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] and Bailey

Michael Stanley Rice reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.0 16v [<2005] (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2002 - november 2004) and a Bailey Senator Vermont of (laden) 1330 kg.

Overall I am disappointed. Modest inclines bring me down the gears and hill starts are a real worry especially if the road surface is wet or loose. The front wheels scarbble for grip and the rear wheel drive always seems late activating. The MPG is very poor and has been as low as 19.8 mpg. On the motorway once rolling, it will maintain a reasonable cruising speed provided you keep an eye on the rev counter to match engine speed to max torque. The nosewight limit is also low at 65kg. Anyone out there suggest an alternative?

More details >>>


Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi and Bailey

Kevin Phillips reviewed on a Honda CR-V II - 2.2i-CTDi (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2004 - january 2007) and a Bailey Pageant Provence of (laden) 1356 kg.

I cannot praise enough this car. Yes there is a 5 berth caravan behind, but honestly the CRV deals with it at ease. I recently towed from South Wales to the South of France crossing the Pyrenees, with 5 in car and a full caravan. Job done, no problem!

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us