TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Kia Carens User Reviews

Kia Carens III - 1.7 CRDi aut. and Elddis

Eric Owen reviewed on a Kia Carens III - 1.7 CRDi aut. (100 Kw/136 bhp year: may 2013 - 2016) and a Elddis Odyssey 524 of (laden) 1499 kg.

My car was new June this year 2014. It tows the caravan without any effort, acceleration is good on the flat and hills both steep and long motorway inclines. It is not affected by fast overtaking white vans even when travelling at 60 m.p.h.
My previous car was a Range Rover towing an ECCLES Solitaire. The Carens and Odyssey are my economical choice and have to be the equal in performance and stability.

More details >>>


Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT aut. [7-seats] and Elddis

chris reviewed on a Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT aut. [7-seats] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2006 - january 2011) and a Elddis Avante 362 of (laden) 1152 kg.

I have an Elddis 372, although the Kia is rated to tow 1500kgs, the auto version is reduced to 1100kgs. The car pulls my caravan with no trouble at all, but I am not sure what the implications are if I tow above this limit.

More details >>>


Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT [5-seats] and Bailey

bernard pilkington reviewed on a Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT [5-seats] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2006 - january 2011) and a Bailey Ranger 510/4 of (laden) 1223 kg.

welli think the carens is a great vehicle for the caravaning hobby plenty of grunt and very hard rear suspension so no need to spend money on its back end , wouldnt say its bad on fuel ether all in a great motor built like a tank ....

More details >>>


Kia Carens - 2.0 CRDi aut. and Bailey

Allan Toop reviewed on a Kia Carens - 2.0 CRDi aut. (82 Kw/112 bhp year: september 2002 - november 2005) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Monarch of (laden) 1239 kg.

The car and caravan are theoretically a good match and I have found them so in practice. The auto box is very relaxing and copes easily with anything I've asked of it. It is especaily good for manouvering, and a relief in slow traffic. Having said that I find it a bit heavy on fuel (about 30 towing and 42 solo, but it's a cheap car to buy and carries everything we need when the two of us toddleoff on holiday. It has also been amazingly reliable to date. I would prefer something a bit more economical but am happy to stay with things as they are for the time being.

More details >>>


Kia Carens - 2.0 CRDi and Swift

Norman Dunn reviewed on a Kia Carens - 2.0 CRDi (82 Kw/112 bhp year: september 2002 - november 2005) and a Swift Challenger 550 of (laden) 1414 kg.

My Challanger is 10 years old, 2 berth. I find it tows very well. I have no problems at 60 mph on the motorways, 50mph on A roads is a doddle, though having read that the van is slightly over weight for the car Iam giving serious thought to changing my car.

More details >>>


Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT [5-seats] and Lunar

roger miller reviewed on a Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT [5-seats] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2006 - january 2011) and a Lunar Stellar of (laden) 1175 kg.

I drive a 2010 kiacarens 2.0crdi vgt 5seats towing luner stella
1175 kg.This kia is one of the best tow cars i have ever used
the 2.0ltr engine is so powerful it is easy to forget you have a
caravan behind you.Hill climbing is no problem overtaking is
also no problem the gear range is very good .

More details >>>


Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT [7-seats] and Bailey

Barry Daniels reviewed on a Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT [7-seats] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2006 - january 2011) and a Bailey Senator California of (laden) 1459 kg.

The Kia Carens is a 2.0 CRDi ( March 2007) bought new and the caravan is a 1998 Bailey Senator California twin axle. I have fitted an Alko 3004 stabiliser hitch. The outfit is impeccable on the road and the Carens has enough power to tow comfortably over all conditions. We toured France for 4 weeks, uphill and down dale and I found that on most reasonable roads I could use the cruise control with the van on the back, the 138bhp diesel engine is able to cope very adequately with all conditions encountered to date. The car has a very comfortable driving position and has a reasonably good spec. My only adverse criticism is that the electrics bracket tends to scrape on some speed bumps no matter how carefully I go over them. I tend to cruise around 65 mph on the clock and have roughly checked the fuel consumption to be around 23 mpg with the van on tow and climate control on auto with 2 people up(approx 180 Kg) and a full boot including our Penta awning approx 75 Kg. I have towed caravans for 37 years to date and this is the best tow car I have had for performance and overal comfort. We previously towed this caravan with a Citroen Xantia Exclusive 2.0 HDI at Kb Wt of 1361 Kg and this also towed very well even though the power was less at 110 bhp, but benefited from self levelling suspension. That happily towed to Spain via Andorra several times plus Germany France and all over the UK. I can recommend the Carens for caravans up to the manufacturers max towing wt of 1500Kg.

More details >>>


Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT [5-seats] and Bailey

dave reviewed on a Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT [5-seats] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2006 - january 2011) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Vendee of (laden) 1415 kg.

The Carens tows really well has a max towing capacity of 1500kg which encompasses most 4 berths. Fuel economy is good even when towing and its not a 4x4 so benefits from normal tax and insurance groups

More details >>>


Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT [7-seats] and Swift

John reviewed on a Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT [7-seats] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2006 - january 2011) and a Swift Challenger 560 of (laden) 1489 kg.

Our Carens tows remarkably well. We had a Sorento and although it towed well was uncomfortable. We eventually changed to the Carens. The only slight problem is that the car is low on the ground when hitched. We have never hit anything though. very stable outfit if you drive carefully and very comfortable. Also good on fuel.

More details >>>


Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT [7-seats] and Swift

DENNIS SLANEY reviewed on a Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT [7-seats] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2006 - january 2011) and a Swift Charisma 590 TA of (laden) 1534 kg.

I am towing my t/a swift charisma with my 2007 diesel manual crdi 7 seat Carens at 60mph I can achieve good headway and get 30mpg. Without the van 52mpg at 60mph. this car pulls like a train although technically according to figures the swift is 34kg too heavy. you would not know it though it handles superb. Dennis

More details >>>


Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT [5-seats] and Abbey

Roger Boxall reviewed on a Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT [5-seats] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2006 - january 2011) and a Abbey Vogue 470 of (laden) 1290 kg.

The Carens 2.0 deisel tows very well indeed. I tow a Abbey Expression 470 mtpw 1310 KG the carens performs very well between 2000 rpm and 2600 in 5 th and at times 6 th gear about 60 mph. First gear is good for crawling just release the clutch gently on tick over no problem. Ecomomy towing 30 mpg ,solo at 60 mph 44 mpg+. Carens has a high driving position with comfortable seats good luggage space. I would recomend it excelent value too.

More details >>>


Kia Carens - 1.8 16v and Caravan

edmund cotter reviewed on a Kia Carens - 1.8 16v (93 Kw/126 bhp year: september 2002 - september 2004) and a Caravan 1000 kg of (laden) 1250 kg.

when to great yarmouth may 08 pulling a abi transrer caravan
pulling about 1250kg as norfolk flat level area no problems . may lack power on hillly areas .but all in all ok

More details >>>


Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT [7-seats] and Bailey

Michael Smith reviewed on a Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT [7-seats] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2006 - january 2011) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Champagne of (laden) 1362 kg.

Well it has been 6 months since my last review using my tow car Kia Carens Mk11 new model on a 07 plate with our new Bailey Pageant Champagne Caravan.

As I do most of the driving, my wife has not experienced towing but I hope to enrol her on a caravan-towing course, I have enjoyed the experience of returning to caravanning with this combined outfit.

The model Kia is the LS model top of the range model with some added features like cruise control is a bonus on motorways.
I can set the speed without worrying about exceeding the limit of 60 mph, and with the 6-speed manual gearbox, I do not have to change gear so often when on open roads even on a long gradient.
This is supported by the 138 bhp this 2 Litre Turbo Diesel Engine that produces enough power while giving good fuel economy for this outfit.
The Bailey Caravan towed well and with the extended mirrors fitted to the cars own large mirrors I had a good all round view of the vehicles behind me.
I have only towed using this particular outfit but my experience tells me it is a good match, while there is other more powerful vehicle available, I have found the C02 emission this vehicle produce is low and goes with 140 road fund tax.

With the kerb weight for the car at 1657 kg and the caravan, 1362 kg the total Gross train weight is 3269 kg.

Lastly, both car and caravan are very stable while towing as long as you keep to the speeds and confident about towing you should have an enjoyable experience.

More details >>>


Kia Carens - 1.8 16v and Caravan

J reviewed on a Kia Carens - 1.8 16v (93 Kw/126 bhp year: september 2002 - september 2004) and a Caravan of (laden) 1350 kg.

Bought the Kia before the caravan.
The car is struggling to tow our 1000kg caravan.
The engine is ok but the kia lacks the weight to be able to tow without struggling

More details >>>


Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT [7-seats] and Bailey

Mike Smith reviewed on a Kia Carens II - 2.0 CRDi VGT [7-seats] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2006 - january 2011) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Champagne of (laden) 1362 kg.

Excellent towing car with Bailey Pageant S5 as my brother in-law has one and done some test in the hilly roads of South Wales with my Kia Carens II instead of his Volvo Estate car witch is excellent towing car, he was surprised of the pulling power from start even on a slope a 1 in 4 gradient, the only problem he had was getting use to the foot break the replaces the hand break by the drivers side the Kia Carens use a lever to release the foot break to the left of the clutch,
but after several hill starts he got use to the foot break.
Well we did not have enough time to a full review but in October when I pick up my New Bailey Caravan I will give a more up to date report.

Mike & Robin

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us