TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Landrover Freelander User Reviews

Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Coachman

alex reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Coachman Amara 580 of (laden) 1550 kg.

i tow my coachman amara with td4 freelander 1 pulls no bother i sometimes forget am towing as so smooth put stick to under 50mph use to have vectra diesel it pulled it but not that great

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 aut. [DPF] and Avondale

Brian.Roberts reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 aut. [DPF] (112 Kw/152 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Avondale Argente 650-6 of (laden) 1701 kg.

I have a 2009 2.2 Freelander and I towed my Avondale Argente 650 twin axle from Le\'harve to marocco a round trip of 4,500 miles and the car was excellent it pulls like a train which was a surprise from a 2.2 most of the time I was doing well over the leagal speeds but if you sat at 60mph it was very stable even in high winds mpg was 25 which at the speed I was traveling was great. I carnt give this enough praise it coped with the heat of Africa and the snow across the Andorra mountains

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 and Bailey

Stephen lodge reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 (118 Kw/160 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Bailey Ranger 470 of (laden) 1172 kg.

The freelander 2 2.2 td4 gs manuel pulls my Bailey ranger 470/4 very well fantastic tow car very happy with it.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 aut. [DPF] and Fendt

Duncan reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 aut. [DPF] (112 Kw/152 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Fendt Topas 510 TFB of (laden) 1518 kg.

Only done a couple of outings but made it to southern Germany and back with no problems. The outfit is stable, but the fendt does tow better with a heavy nose, so I am using all 150kg of the towbar limit and the freelander seems ok with this. Car never short of power and returned about 24-25 mpg, very happy with the car and caravan.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Abbey

jason reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Abbey Vogue 460 of (laden) 1295 kg.

Have to agree with all of the above, the td4 is a superb workhorse much better then I thought with good mpg returned 32 wish whilst traveling to southern France and as I have the sports set up you forget its there. Slight clutch smell whilst hitting them long steep hills in Limoges but no problems. Have to say other then my old Toyota gran via this beats all the rest which includes Renault Rx 4, merc cdi 220, and focus estate all of them struggled but no the freebi. And services are so easy and parts so cheap 5stars from me

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 SD4 aut. and Eriba

roland reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 SD4 aut. (140 Kw/190 bhp year: january 2012 - 2014) and a Eriba Nova 465 LuxusLine of (laden) 1475 kg.

ex tow car pulling a hymer 465 lux,very stable under all conditions,the freelander is the best allrounder in this class of vehicle

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Lunar

Ady white reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Lunar Chateau 470 of (laden) 1280 kg.

My 2003 Freelander TD4 is more than a great match for my Lunar Chateau 470 Pulls with ease only problem is the state of the roads but sure to venture further away soon...

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Coachman

Alan Smith reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Coachman Pastiche 470/2 of (laden) 1420 kg.

We now tow a Coachman Pastiche 470/2 with the Freelander 1, manual 'box. (see my previous review with the Elddis) I am very pleased with this outfit, it pulls very well at motorway 60mph speeds, we have just completed a Scotland camp with a 243 mile each way run, the set up was comfortable and easy to handle, pulled very well over Shap on the M6 and the Scottish Southern Highlands were no problem. I have not checked fuel consumption yet. I have a chip to fit, so I anticipate even easier performance soon. Good car for towing albeit a bit cramped in the back with gear and a dog.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Elddis

Alan Smith reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Elddis Avante 556 of (laden) 1414 kg.

New to caravanning, we have had our 2006 Freelander TD4 from new, so we decided to keep it and looked for a van to match our needs and the cars capability. We went for an Elddis Avante 556. I found that the outfit performed well, was easy to move along in motorw snarl ups and comfortable on continous motorway driving. I did find that the clutch became a tad too hot at my first attempt at test manouvering on a local car park, it did smell burnt, but i think that was more my first venture into reversing than a problem with the car as it seems fine now :-). I think that a power chip would make me happier with overall performance but basically we are both happy with the setup and shall continue to use it.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 and Elddis

Gary hunter reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 (118 Kw/160 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Elddis Xplore 504 of (laden) 1320 kg.

Performs flawlessly up and down the steep hills around Scotish highlands. You would hardly know the van was even there..

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 [DPF] and Bailey

Lawrence white reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 [DPF] (112 Kw/152 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Bailey Senator S5 Oklahoma of (laden) 1447 kg.

Great match, excellent tow car, drove. Down to south of France last year, only stopped for, fuel, coffee and train through channel tunnel, 750 miles in all, comfortable car and returned me 28 mpg with cruse control set at around 60mph on French motorways only had to change down a gear on the odd accession on the stepper hills.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. and Abbey

paul reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Abbey Spectrum 620 of (laden) 1657 kg.

i have a 2004 td4 auto sport, which is chipped to 145bhp, and it tows the spectrum 620 with ease. i am an experianced towing driver (lgv 1) and although the outfit is on 99%, iv had no problems whatsoever, up hill and down dale

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 [DPF] and Bailey

Bob BIRD reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 [DPF] (112 Kw/152 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Bailey Pegasus GT65 Genova of (laden) 1356 kg.

Very comfortable drive,vehicle takes all in its stride without faltering.Dangerous I know but you can at times forget you are towing.Motor ways 6th gear pulls an maintains 70 with the van stable.Wind does effect the van and can be felt by the Freelander,speed is then reduced to comfortable level.Very pleased with both units.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 and Bailey

Malcolm Woodhams reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 (118 Kw/160 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Bailey Pageant Monarch of (laden) 1295 kg.

Pulls very well, especially on motorways. Handling and stability is also good.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 aut. [DPF] and Elddis

Nick Bamforth reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 aut. [DPF] (112 Kw/152 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Elddis Odyssey 540 of (laden) 1550 kg.

Have towed my Elddis Odyssey down to the Dordogne in France with a Freelander 2 in some very wet and windy weather and it proved to be very stable. It seems to be a very good combination and returns 22.5 mpg overall. It has a very safe feeling about it.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Sterling

mark grocott reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Sterling Eccles Sport 554 of (laden) 1430 kg.

recently purchased the eccles sport 554 about 200kg heavier than our old van...fitted a synergy tuning box as the freelander td4 seemed a little underpowered...pulls very well now...overtaking is a dream...does feel a little bouncy on the rear of the car with 85kg noseweight...good towcar made better i think

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - 2.5 V6 aut. and Bailey

gogo superstar reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - 2.5 V6 aut. (130 Kw/177 bhp year: october 2000 - november 2005) and a Bailey Senator Indiana of (laden) 1464 kg.

No problems whatsoever, was wary of head gasket issues but this engine has had cooling system mod's and temp' gauge never even reached halfway.
don't expect any more than 25mpg. [especially if you tow at 70mph]

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Bailey

Paul reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Bailey Senator Louisiana of (laden) 1643 kg.

I tow with a freelander 55 plate 2ltr sport great tow car even with a twin axle found it more sturdy than my old single axle would Definitely recommend getting an engine remap as really helps on hills with extra bhp really happy with my outfit.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Bailey

Lezo reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Bailey Senator Louisiana of (laden) 1543 kg.

I tow my 2009 bailey louisiana twin axle with my 2ltr landrover freelander sport 5dr before i bought the caravan i was thinking this car might not be big enough to tow this size van but i took the risk and i have to say it paid off i already got the freelander chipped when i first got the car as i pull a heavy twin axle
Box trailer and found i lacking a bit but no problem after chipping pulls in every gear it tows the bailey with ease even with wind and lorries passing i just dont feel it move its like theres nothing there couldnt be more happy as very cheap on fuel to overall a great towcar i had a shogan 3.2 before and i wouldnt have it back as my freelander tows just as good and has better mpg even in the recent snow and up hills it tows great couldnt be more happy overall.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 and Elddis

Mark Jones reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 (118 Kw/160 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Elddis Avante 556 of (laden) 1507 kg.

First long trip to St Ives, needed clutch replacing soon after but think this is down to poor flywheel design and clutch fails early whether or not you tow. Other than that it's a good tow car. Thinking about having another but will go for auto box. You should too.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Bailey

lez wright reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Bailey Ranger 620/6 of (laden) 1481 kg.

Ive pulled this caravan with no problems, Td4 with no chip pulls very well. Up hill down dale twin axle handles well

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. and Bailey

simon clark reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Bailey Pageant Auvergne of (laden) 1385 kg.

td4 2004 sport auto chipped and towing a pageant auergne 2006 .towing very good also fine with 3 kids and me and mrs . also 3 bikes in van and not a problem

.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Bailey

Hamish Coulter reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Bailey Unicorn Valencia of (laden) 1565 kg.

While appreciating that the Bailey Unicorn Valencia is at the limit of the towing ability of the Freelander, after caravanning for 24 years, I was willing to give it a go.
Now had the 'van for two months, and have covered just over 1,000 miles, motorway, country roads and getting into and out of a field (CL in Norfolk). Absolutely no problems, car and 'van behave impeccably. Used 5th gear for motorway cruising, and held speed well even with a head wind and slight uphill pull. Very glad to have bought the Valencia - it is extremely comfortable, and now look forward to spending many nights away.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 aut. [DPF] and Elddis

Dai 1013 reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 aut. [DPF] (112 Kw/152 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Elddis Xplore 540 of (laden) 1578 kg.

Haven't towed far in it but the freelander 2 2011 auto (152bhp) has pulled by eldiss 540 through pembs with no problems. Plenty of power and very stable. This is my 3rd freelander and this is the best by far and not to be confused with the early models.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - 2.0 di and Sterckeman

francisco reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - 2.0 di (72 Kw/98 bhp year: april 1998 - october 2000) and a Sterckeman Starlett 450 CP of (laden) 1000 kg.

hola saludo de tenerife yo me compre un land rover freelande 2.000 tdi y tengo una caravana de 6 plaza la sterckeman starlett 545 pe y pesa 1350k

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. and Bailey

Dave reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Bailey Senator Arizona of (laden) 1464 kg.

Towing with my 2001 td4 auto freelander and bailey Arizona is ok on flat roads ,but not so good on hill climbs. Does it but I thought it would be better, might get it chipped and see if better..if not try submit else..

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Avondale

eddie hughes reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Avondale Dart 556-6 of (laden) 1245 kg.

2001plate es,this out fit is very relaxing and great to tow with ease ,on single roads and motorways,returning good mpg,34mpg recomend the freelander to anybody,

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Fleetwood

gareth_carter@hotmail.co.uk reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Fleetwood Heritage 560-4 of (laden) 1480 kg.

55 plate Adventurer towing a Fleetwood Heritage 560-4 - an 89% match. Towed with this combination for 5 years. Superb tow car pulling effortlessly in all driving conditions. Ideally could do with a little extra power in reserve for those long inclines. Still, does all but the longest and steepest of these in 4th (if not 5th) only ocassionally having to go into 3rd. Not bad given the relatively heavy van/car ratio. Eays to forget you're towing but I also found that even a blow out at motorway speed a few years back went unnoticed apart from a dragging effect forcing downshift in gears. So a little more power perhaps and a 6th gear would be appreciated but would I change it? - well perhaps a Freelander ll

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. and Bailey

Gary Culpan reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Bailey Senator Louisiana of (laden) 1643 kg.

My Mk 1 Freelander TD4 Auto has towed fairly well but has never been really on top of the job. Long inclines sap power and there is little reserve power left for ertaking. on hills. Just upgraded the caravan to a baliey senator louisiana and found car is struggling on hills and long gradients with lightly loaded caravan and MPG down to 21mpg. New tow car on the cards!!

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 aut. [DPF] and Bailey

Ron Woolland reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 aut. [DPF] (112 Kw/152 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Bailey Pegasus 524 of (laden) 1464 kg.

I tow a Pegasus 524 with my Freelander SD4 XS (190hp) and it is perfect. The power and stability are better than I had ever hoped for. No longer do I dread large vehicles passing close to me. The maneuvering is really good with the short wheel base and the size of the dirving mirrors combined with the clip on towing mirrors you can`t go wrong. The two make a perfect combination. Iv`e been towing for forty years and its the best Iv`e had.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 and Sterling

Davy reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 (118 Kw/160 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Sterling Eccles SE Topaz of (laden) 1384 kg.

First Caravan experience. Towed from Belfast to Southern Spain and return. Faultless. average MPG 27. Blowout caravan tyre during transit french autoroute. LR stayed stable. Impressed. Davy

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 aut. [DPF] and Bailey

Paul reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 aut. [DPF] (112 Kw/152 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Bailey Ranger 470 of (laden) 1172 kg.

Towing our 2006 Bailey Ranger 470/4 with our 2008 Freelander 2.
Absolutely perfect. 27.1. Mpg

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 and Abbey

Keith Disney reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 (118 Kw/160 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Abbey Aventura 325 of (laden) 1373 kg.

I have towed with the Freelander 2 many times and miles now, up hill and down dale, it always performs flawlessly. I confess to leaving it mostly in 5th gear rather than keep changing up, then down etc, still get around 30 mpg. You really feel safe towing with a Freelander 2, the van (around a tonne and a half) has little impact on sway and pitching, even at high speeds. I just love it, I used to have a discovery 3.5 liter petrol, but the Freelander 2 beats it hands down for pure towability. Go try one, you will be impressed.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. and Coachman

andy watts reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Coachman VIP 535/4 of (laden) 1580 kg.

performance ok feel that the caravan takes control of the car, dam hard to get noseweight down as caravan is very nose heavy.Having atc fitted next week, If this does not improve things then volvo xc or a bigger landrover is on the cards.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 and Airstream

Keith Rogers reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 (118 Kw/160 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Airstream 534 of (laden) 1570 kg.

Just towed the Airstream back to Sussex from Cornwall. This caravan weighs about 200kg more than our own Elddis Avante. The Freelander performed perfectly, to be honest I could not tell any difference with the performance of the car. We took the coast road home with a lot of short sharp hills and it was no problem. MPG around 30 cruise control set at 60 on the dual carriageways and the car was perfect. This is easily the best tow car we have had in 27years of caravanning. To anyone thinking of buying one just go ahead and do it !

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 aut. [DPF] and Bailey

Duncan reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 aut. [DPF] (112 Kw/152 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Bailey Ranger GT60 620/6 of (laden) 1481 kg.

I have used an FR2 GS auto for three years towing in Europe and the UK. I tow a Bailey GT60 620/6. I have to say it tows very well and will make very good pace on the autoroutes and inclines. stability is never in question. Fuel consumption towing is approx 20-22MPG
Just wish my FR2 would be reliable as its a great tow car ! one of the best I have used.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 and Adria

Karl Butler reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 (118 Kw/160 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Adria Adora 532 UK of (laden) 1380 kg.

Had my Freelander 2 for about 4 months now and towed twice our Adria Adora. I cant rate this car enough !!!! rock steady, quick and relatively economical for a big car
Go get one !!!!!!

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Abbey

Martin reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Abbey Aventura 316 of (laden) 1389 kg.

Land Rover Freelander Towing Abbey Freestytle 500 aka adventura 316 1389 kg
I have been using this outfit now for 2 yrs towed many hundred miles with the freelander its a really good all rounder usally hits 30 mpg with caravan on bk and 3 bikes on the roof hills are never a problem or slippery muddy roads or pitches , however the only faults ive noticed are the spare wheels gets in the way of the alko stabaliserwhen hitcing up and sometimes when reversing the caravan on to a pitch the clutch can smell and smoke even more so if the pitch is slightly uphill although the last couple of times ive released the handle of the alko stabliser and its seems to stop this happening so maybe its working against itself i can see off here im not the only one with this problem

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 aut. [DPF] and Bailey

Graham reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 aut. [DPF] (112 Kw/152 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Bailey Senator Louisiana of (laden) 1643 kg.

Had the FL2 and Bailey Senator Louisiana outfit for two years. Towed throughout the UK including highland Scotland. I'm careful when loading and keep within speed limits most of the time. The outfit has always felt completely stable with no snaking or other worrying characteristics. Plenty of power when going uphill, even on steep roads. Fuel economy has been between 20 and 22mpg on average.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Abbey

Tim Barker reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Abbey Aventura 319 of (laden) 1348 kg.

'06 Freestyle actually pulling an Aventura 320, but 319 gave nearest MTPLM. This is my second Freelander and I have found both of them to be top performers. The old adage "you don't know it's there" is so true. I've towed from the North of Scotland to the Pyranees with my Freelanders without any problems. Much under rated car by those who don't know.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - 2.5 V6 aut. and Bailey

paul hill reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - 2.5 V6 aut. (130 Kw/177 bhp year: october 2000 - november 2005) and a Bailey Senator Carolina of (laden) 1696 kg.

great tow car pushing the weight to the limit but never doubted the cars capabilities but a bit thirsty

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 [DPF] and Eriba

Kevin Scott reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 [DPF] (112 Kw/152 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Eriba Nova GL/SL 465 of (laden) 1500 kg.

The car and caravan match are ideal. Travelling 350 miles in one day the outfit was very stable despite heavy rain and stron winds. On less windy stretches towed at 70 mph with no problems.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Abbey

karl reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Abbey Vogue 600 of (laden) 1530 kg.

05 Freelander Sport 3dr pulls Abbey vogue 600 1530kg(twin axle). Car has been chipped & on 18" low profiles. Fully loaded (2adults & 2 kids), pulls great. Only critism is a slight wobble when passing lorrys on motorways. NOTE: dont let the clutch do the work. Advise alko hitch, mover & keep eye on ur speed. Also spare wheel hinders hitching up. Tow ball spaces or angled hitching rectifys this.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 and Lunar

john reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 (118 Kw/160 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Lunar Chateau 450 of (laden) 1220 kg.

First year towing this year, Travelled 1150 miles around the North of England of which 550 towing. The freelander 2 was very happy to tow the caravan all day long at the speed limits, (cruise control was needed to keep the speed down to the legal limit ??) only had to change down to 5th on very long steep motorway climes. avg 27.5 mpg. only problems was catching other slower caravans ??

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. and Vanmaster

Gary Kingston reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Vanmaster Accolade 520 ET of (laden) 1540 kg.

Myfreelander mk1 es auto td4 2003 works far better than I expected and pulls like a train being very stable even in windy conditions with the big plus having auto box nothing seems to hard

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 and Fleetwood

Paul Mizon reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 (118 Kw/160 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Fleetwood Meridien 560-I of (laden) 1455 kg.

I have just returned from the South of France and have thoroughly enjoyed the almost 2,000 mile round trip - 2 days there and 2 days back. Very comfortable, very smooth, very quiet.
The car/caravan combination was brilliant even through the Massif Centrale climbing to over 1100m above sea level there was never a lack of power.
Cruise control set at 100kmh and on normal motorways only occasionally had to change down to 5th to maintain the speed.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Ace

Samuel Johnston reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Ace Jubilee Equerry of (laden) 1535 kg.

Our Freelander TD4 Sport pulls the caravan with ease. Have had no problems up hills or reversing on grass. You do need to ensure you are square when hitching up as the rear spare wil get in the way otherwise.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 and Bailey

DAVID JOHN HIGSON reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 (118 Kw/160 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Bailey Pageant Auvergne of (laden) 1385 kg.

freelander 2 towing bailey pageant vendee(1395 kg) tows fantastic 25 mpg.i have towed with discoverys 300tdis/td5s this is far better at the job. I recommend this small 4x4 small in size big in torque

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - 2.0 di and Fleetwood

Bill Wearne reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - 2.0 di (72 Kw/98 bhp year: april 1998 - october 2000) and a Fleetwood Colchester 470 of (laden) 1255 kg.

Although it shows me towing a Colchester I actually tow a Garland 165/5 , the colchester is the nearest available comparison for me.. The LR Freelander Di(1993cc) is superb at pulling this caravan, living in Cornwall with all the hills we have is no problem, when collecting my van from storage i have to pull up two hills one is a 1 : 6 and the other is a 1 : 5 and the Car and van cope very well, i tend to find that 1700rpm is the crucial revs for the car and always change gear if the car gets down to this also it seems to cruise at around 2200 rpm, wouldnt change the car for anything other than another newer model

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - 2.5 V6 aut. and Adria

Peter Phillips reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - 2.5 V6 aut. (130 Kw/177 bhp year: october 2000 - november 2005) and a Adria Adiva 552 PH of (laden) 1530 kg.

We tow our Adria Adiva 552PH with our Freelander and it makes an effortless job of towing. We went all the way down to Lands End last year and it made short work of the massive hills in Cornwall. OK, it is heavy on Petrol (approx 22mpg) but you should expect that sort of return with a big V6. We have replaced the gearbox rather than sell the car because it is such a top towcar, we love it.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Bailey

jason richmond reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Bailey Pageant Champagne of (laden) 1407 kg.

51 plate td4 freelander towing s7 bailey pageant. i have upgraded turbo intercooler hoses and put on a egr vale
and has made it a very nice motor. to make it easy on the clutch i have taken of the propshraft .fully loaded 2adults 3kids 1dog roofbox avg 25-28 mpg

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. and Compass

david reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Compass Omega 544 of (laden) 1560 kg.

my freelander mk1 es auto td4 2001 is sluggish pulling up hills it was in second gear doing 30mile an hour at 4000rpm and it was screaming its heart out not good at all i tried too put it in 3rd but it just kept going back in too second and it was in the trip tronick mode and the van was not even full had just the awning and poles in it . so i have just had it chipped and am looking forward to giving it a go i think chippping the td4 is the way to go, only cost 90 pounds from mrmcbuk cr2 tuning chip

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - 2.5 V6 aut. and Ace

ken sappa reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - 2.5 V6 aut. (130 Kw/177 bhp year: october 2000 - november 2005) and a Ace Award Tristar of (laden) 1489 kg.

great tow car, this caravan i feel is a bit heavy, had a abbey 470 before the ace, did not no i was towing it. got 240 mile towing used about 50 ltes, great car ,bad engine up to 51 reg, look after it it will look after you.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - 1.8i and Ace

gordon young reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - 1.8i (86 Kw/117 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Ace Award Brightstar of (laden) 1272 kg.

freelander tows caravan of this weight fine but wouldn't want to tow much heavier.very stable with alco stabiliser.
my 1.8i freelander has sandwich head gasket,5mm pilot hole in thermostat and different radiator fitted.no problems whatsoever.
when speed is kept below 60mph,mpg is just under 30.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - 2.0 di and Ace

john reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - 2.0 di (72 Kw/98 bhp year: april 1998 - october 2000) and a Ace Award Nightstar of (laden) 1540 kg.

very poor at towing my outfit i held the steering wheel with both hand and had white knuckels all my journey on flat roads hill was evan worse no power at all every time somthin overtook me it snaked around to much for my liking i used a mitubishi pajero 2.8 lwb b4 the freelander and it was a dream to tow with am just glad i still got the pajero coz the freelander is fired i wouldnt tow an empty shopping trolley with it infact i dont think any one should fit a tow bar at all.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Elddis

Keith & Mandy smith reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Elddis Avante 362 of (laden) 1150 kg.

First time towing with the Landrover Freelander, great to drive and pull along my caravan. used to have a Vauxhall Astra (Poor) performance. With the Landrover you forget you have a caravan on the back.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Eriba

Philip Howarth reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Eriba Nova GL 435 of (laden) 1350 kg.

Good towcar, less fussy than previous car- Range Rover Classic TDI Auto- 38 - 40 mpg solo, 25-29 mpg towing, very stable and handles well towing or solo

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Ace

Gary Kingston reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Ace Award Tristar of (laden) 1489 kg.

A lovely car that was a dream to drive whilst towing down to Dorset and Brighton in the past i have always had volvo V70,s and have found this much beter.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 and Standaard Caravan

Emrys reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 (118 Kw/160 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Standaard Caravan of (laden) 2000 kg.

Freelander 2 towing a Avondale Dart 556-6 (1300kgs)
Tows brilliantly, averages about 29mpg on a mix of towing.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. and Compass

steve bennett reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Compass Corona 624 of (laden) 1630 kg.

chipped my td4auto and wow what a difference. towing at nearly 100% but pulls like train and very stable. dtuk chip easy to fit. well worth it.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. and Bailey

Iain Barlow reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Bailey Senator S5 Oklahoma of (laden) 1447 kg.

My uprated 53 freelander pulls its heart out. It does everything I ask it and is eager to please.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Coachman

SteveD reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Coachman VIP 520/4 of (laden) 1590 kg.

I've had the Freelander chipped taking up to 146 bhp, it is what the vehicle should have been in the first place. It is such a great tow vehicle now, plenty of power in reserve. The nose weight on the Coachman is quite heavy but the suspension on this vehicle just plays with it. It great in the wet on site. But again it is worth that bit extra to have it chipped...

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 and Avondale

neil weston reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 (118 Kw/160 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Avondale Dart 545-4 of (laden) 1240 kg.

brilliant towes van effortlesley excelent performance overall averaging 28.1 mpg mostly motorway

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Bailey

Chris reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Bailey Senator Virginia of (laden) 1459 kg.

A lovely car that was a dream to drive, Found Hitching an issue with the spare wheel on the back. Towed with no problems and cruised on motoways with ease. Struggled to pull away on an incline. Found the Mpg a bit thirsty.

Had problems reversing onto pitches, the clutch would smell bad for ages afterwards. I also burnt a clutch out doing this when the car was less than a year old, however Landrover changed the clutch with no quibble. Problem sorted with a motor mover fitted.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - 2.5 V6 aut. and Compass

Shaun reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - 2.5 V6 aut. (130 Kw/177 bhp year: october 2000 - november 2005) and a Compass Rallye 540 of (laden) 1600 kg.

Comfortable driving car even with a heavy caravan, good on hills and motorways. At times have to remind myself that I am towing very easy to forget on long motorway trips. Have found in hilly terrain it is more responsive in manual mode. All in all I feel a good outfit.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Swift

Johnny reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Swift Charisma 565 of (laden) 1353 kg.

Freelander Mk3 (2005) towing a Swift Sandymere.
So easy, have to remember its on the back, cruises effortlessly and economy good. Steepish inclines will hit economy hard, but you feel relaxed when tugging up them. Goes extremely well on the motorway/freeway. need to keep an eye on your speed though, as it can easily creep above the limit without any effort. Easy reverse and parking.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. and Sprite

Paul Shufflebotham reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Sprite Major 5 of (laden) 1300 kg.

My 2002 freelander pulls he sprite major five like a train no noticeable issues at all. Am looking forward to raking the rig abroad - for a good long tour, ove the freelander!

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 and Elddis

Leddy reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 (118 Kw/160 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Elddis Crusader Typhoon of (laden) 1527 kg.

Just pulled the Crusader typhoon with my Freelander 2 to Edinburgh Round trip of 550miles
Mostly motorway averaging 25 MPG at at steady 60
Excellent towing car did'nt know the van was behind at times. the match is good as the Typhoon is a heavy van,

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 and Bailey

Steve reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 (118 Kw/160 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Bailey Senator Wyoming of (laden) 1635 kg.

We have just returned from a three week holiday in the South of France, the Freelander performed excellent with the Senator on the back, we returned an average consumption of 25mpg which was exceptable, the only thing you ill need to look at is weight, we carried the hevier items in the rear of the car and kept the wardrobe empty with cloths travelling over the axle, at all stages of our trip the match felt good.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Abbey

Steve barton reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Abbey GTS 517 of (laden) 1550 kg.

I have been very pleased with the match, the Freelander is very capiable tool towing the Abbey, I have been towing for 15 yrs, mainly using 2ltr saloons which I found to be adequate but compared to the Freelander, I would not go back. The Abbey 517 GTS tows very well , I have been fully loaded with weight being distributed between car & van, all the usual in the caravan, sleeping bags, cloths etc. 2bikes on the roof of freelander, full awning & anex, Golf clubs in Boot of car, 2 bikes in caravan ( wedged between front seats ) & loungers seats to rear. I had no problem with a recent trip to North Wales even the wrong turning going, down part of the lamberis pass was a joy, but not for the vehicles coming in the opposite direction !!!

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Abbey

Steve barton reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Abbey GTS 517 of (laden) 1550 kg.

I have been very pleased with the match, the Freelander is very capiable tool towing the Abbey, I have been towing for 15 yrs, mainly using 2ltr saloons which I found to be adequate but compared to the Freelander, I would not go back. The Abbey 517 GTS tows very well , I have been fully loaded with weight being distributed between car & van, all the usual in the caravan, sleeping bags, cloths etc. 2bikes on the roof of freelander, full awning & anex, Golf clubs in Boot of car, 2 bikes in caravan ( wedged between front seats ) & loungers seats to rear. I had no problem with a recent trip to North Wales even the wrong turning going, down part of the lamberis pass was a joy, but not for the vehicles coming in the opposite direction !!!

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Elddis

Graham Loyley reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Elddis Odyssey 540 of (laden) 1560 kg.

This is the second year we have towed our Elddis 540 Odyssay with a 2005 55 plate freelander td4 down to North Devon using the very North Devon link road which UK caravanners will know about. Last year although the tow was a comfortable one we did notice on the steep hills the need to change down gears so for this year we purchased a psi power box which increases your bhp and yet reduces your mpg because you can change gear far quicker so reducing your fuel consumption. Anyone who feels they need that bit more power we would really recommend the purchase of a psi power box it is not a permanent chip placed into your management system this device you can simply unclip in 10 to 15 minutes so vehicle warranty will never be void. For an example this year we were able to travel at a constant 60mph where allowed without any changing down of gears 5th and yet returned home having filled the tank with between half and a quarter of a tank last year with having less power and continual change of gears that same distance left us with a quarter of a tank. This is to the same camp site as last year so exactly like for like and this year it towed like a dream. This will keep us going until we change the car for a Discoverylll in a couple of years time

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Elddis

Colin Guest reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Elddis Odyssey 534 of (laden) 1560 kg.

no problems. towing is a pleasure.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Bailey

Terry Hall reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Burgundy of (laden) 1380 kg.

Just towed 3000 miles around France,very easy towing,quite economical,very comfortable outfit.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Lunar

Terry Bentley reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Lunar Clubman 470-2 of (laden) 1310 kg.

As a tow car no problems, tows well at the max towing speed of 60mph. One downside the spare wheel used to get in the way when hitching up caravan, that has now been eliminated by extending the tow bar by 3".

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - 1.8i and Bailey

David F reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - 1.8i (86 Kw/117 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Bailey Ranger 460/4 of (laden) 1172 kg.

Tows well and is totally stable. On the car front, ensure that your engine has had all the LandRover mods to both the cooling system (Thermostat moved away from engine and inline with the hoses) and that the enging cylinder head gasket is the most up-to-date from landrover (2 layer steel sandwich and steel locating pins)

If the thermostat has not been done circulation of coolant is poor and will result in a blown headgasket. Doing this change does make a difference.

My freelandy has now done 63000mls and tows well, with Toyo 785 tyres to get you out of muddy rallies.

Hope this helps someone.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Abbey

Phillip Lindsey reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Abbey Spectrum 620 of (laden) 1657 kg.

found it lacking hads it chipped and now it tows like a dream no loss in power at all can not fault it

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - 2.5 V6 aut. and Lunar

Eddie Thorne reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - 2.5 V6 aut. (130 Kw/177 bhp year: october 2000 - november 2005) and a Lunar Chateau 470 of (laden) 1280 kg.

The Freelander V6 is a very good tow car but is very heavy on fuel,

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Lunar

Allen reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Lunar Lexon FB of (laden) 1480 kg.

wazzup my range rover spoert pulls my lexon fb fine with ease and my old freelander was just as good

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Bailey

wayne jones reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Bailey Ranger 470 of (laden) 1172 kg.

The td4 freelander pulls my bailey ranger 470/4 with no problem,it is good on fuel and a pleasure to drive.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Swift

william james reid reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Swift Challenger SE 480 of (laden) 1366 kg.

outstanding we have been to holland for the past two years with this outfit, we have never had any bother with both the Freelander and Caravamn doing the job they were bought for. good pulling power in all gears, good mpg, a good steady match

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 and Elddis

Terry Rolph reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 (118 Kw/160 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Elddis Crusader Typhoon of (laden) 1527 kg.

Over the past 50 odd years I have been towing Caravans
with Range Rovers,Landrovers,Shoguns, saloons, estates, this is my first choice now for the present days caravaning.
I have found the Freelander 2 tow's the Typhoon Crusader really well, no lack of power infact you don't know it's behind you, loads of power in reserve, and a steady 32 mpg providing you can get into tht 5th gear as often as possible.
I am very pleased with my choice this time round, the towing vehicle well out performs the other combinations I have owned in the last 50 years of caravaning.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - 2.0 di and Swift

Darren reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - 2.0 di (72 Kw/98 bhp year: april 1998 - october 2000) and a Swift Charisma 570 of (laden) 1452 kg.

Very disappointed with the Freelander, it really struggled with the Charimsa on hills, I was hoping it would do better than that being a 2.0 ti

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Bailey

ian vass reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Bretagne of (laden) 1395 kg.

Excellent towing capabilities. Tows really well uphill and on level ground. Better than my Renault Laguna.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - 2.5 V6 aut. and Abbey

Julie Gunn reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - 2.5 V6 aut. (130 Kw/177 bhp year: october 2000 - november 2005) and a Abbey GTS 420 of (laden) 1200 kg.

V6 tows without difficulty or stress we don't know we have a caravan hitched. Good visibility. Despite having a Freelander issue engine has gone wrong - we are replacing engine as it is an excellent tow vehicle.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. and Avondale

Dave Buckley reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Avondale Osprey of (laden) 1470 kg.

Love my freelander to bits , no poblems, ideal match with our new avondale

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 aut. [DPF] and Hobby

miles reviewed on a Landrover Freelander II - 2.2 TD4 aut. [DPF] (112 Kw/152 bhp year: january 2007 - 2014) and a Hobby Prestige 650 KFU of (laden) 1971 kg.

I have just towed to Austria and back from north Germany. No matter how steep the motorway hill it kept going at 100kph on cruise control. Fuel economy was 22.5 mpg on the hilly bit of the Autobahn 7 and nearly 25 on the flat. Very quiet engine and stable in strong cross winds once the nose weight on the caravan was adjusted to +100kg.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - 2.0 di and Lunar

mick wharton reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - 2.0 di (72 Kw/98 bhp year: april 1998 - october 2000) and a Lunar Delta 540-2 of (laden) 1400 kg.

freelander was a bit under-powered when i first got it a quick look on the net took me to" roverron" a web site for rover owners he does a kit for L series landrover diesels itcost 75 and takes 30-40 mins to fit transforms the perfornce from 95 bhp to 129 bhp what a differnce

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Elddis

colin guest reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Elddis Odyssey 534 of (laden) 1560 kg.

having towed several different outfits.this rates as the easiest.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Hobby

david reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Hobby Excellent 540 UK of (laden) 1500 kg.

Towed my Hobby for the first time last week with the freelander never missed a beat better than my vectra c keeping the tow bar on my vectra ( just in case)

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Fleetwood

Paul reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Fleetwood Meridien 520-EB of (laden) 1280 kg.

A stable towing outfit, but could do with a little more power for motorway work (or a smaller caravan), its better on rural roads. I was very impressed with the cars towing ability in deep snow. My ownership has been spoilt by a few problems with the car including annoying rattles and a shuddering clutch on steep hill starts when towing. Get around 37mpg normal driving.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Coachman

c.robinson reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Coachman Amara 530/4 of (laden) 1530 kg.

I find it a joy to tow; seems very stable; but at this present time having a problem with obtaining the correct nose weight on the caravan: Been in touch with coachmam but the guy i need is at the N E C this week, The nose wght should be 107 kg, but with the caravan empty it is reading 117 kg. Any body with an idea most welcome?

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Ace

Brian reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Ace Award Firestar of (laden) 1463 kg.

I,ve towed a few vans with this car and the higher position and heavier suspension makes for a very relaxed tow. A tuning chip enhancement makes all the difference to towing at low speed which is the cars downfall..n he whole thought a great tow car!!

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. and Abbey

Trevor Dallas reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Abbey GTS 418 of (laden) 1442 kg.

Our Freelander Mk1 td4auto seems sluggish at the best of times but with our Abbey 418GTS hanging on the back it seemed more so. Struggled to get more than 50mph on the motorway and on a slight incline the cruise control kept changing down. Non-motorway driving seemed more responsive. However, the whole rig seemed very safe and controllable. Overall quite pleased.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Caravan

Martin reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Caravan of (laden) 975 kg.

My Freelander Sport manual TD4 towed our 1994 Perle Adonis 3,500 miles down to southern Italy and back, in 40 plus degrees (in places) as though it wasn't there. The stiffened sport suspension makes it an ideal set up for stability and comfort, and 4x4 just adds to the ability to place the caravan exactly where you want it in slippery fields. Cannot recommend this car enough for the job.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Bailey

Dave Pearce reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Bailey Ranger 470/4 of (laden) 1167 kg.

Excellent towcar, should have got one years ago,it tows well on single carriageways easily in 5th gear at 50mph & motorways are not a problem at all,dont know the caravan is on the back. The 4x4 comes in really handy on wet campsites, no churning grass up with wheelspin like front wheel drive cars.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Avondale

A Barnard reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Avondale Dart 545-4 of (laden) 1240 kg.

Its the best 4X4 on the market by far, It tows my
Avondale caravan with ease, Its a dream to drive.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Swift

Selwyn Cooper reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Swift Challenger 490 of (laden) 1550 kg.

Good tow car no effort pulling up hill dont know caravan is on the back

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - 2.0 di and Bailey

davidh reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - 2.0 di (72 Kw/98 bhp year: april 1998 - october 2000) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Champagne of (laden) 1362 kg.

i tow my bailey pageant with a freelander td4.It pulls very well.Much better than my old disco.its big enough for two with all our gear.Good tug.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Adria

Paul Quibell reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Adria Altea 432 PH of (laden) 1141 kg.

Pulling my adria altea was an absolute dream!!so relaxing illegal speeds are easy to do!cant recommend this car enough.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. and Abbey

Diane Bell reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Abbey Spectrum 416 of (laden) 1680 kg.

Top marks to the freelander it pulls like a train, but it does take a bit of juggling to get the noseweight down but a good match to the new abbey spectrum 416.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Abbey

john b reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 418 of (laden) 1427 kg.

freelander sports with 30% stiffer suspension (140k nose weight ) stops most of the pitching and maintains a level ride ,not funny when you have to replace the tyres though (18 inch wheels ) but good road holding

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Dethleffs

Andrew reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Dethleffs Lifestyle 510 of (laden) 1300 kg.

Very good towing, safe and powerful when you need.
Good in mountain roads. Tanks to TowCar.com! Sorry for my english. Bye bye from Venice-Italy.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Compass

Bertie reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Compass Corona 505 of (laden) 1358 kg.

I have owned this car 6 years and it is excellent for towing.
My previous caravan a Swift Challanger 490sel was just as easy to pull.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - 2.0 di and Bailey

T.Thirlwall reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - 2.0 di (72 Kw/98 bhp year: april 1998 - october 2000) and a Bailey Ranger 460 of (laden) 1139 kg.

I tow my Ranger 460 with a Freelander 2.0XEDi without any problems at all, You need to keep it above 1700rpm
to get the torque, but this is no problem as you can cruise at 2000rpm in top gear. Feels ultra secure and pulls up hill like a train.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Caravan

Geoff Cardnell reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Caravan of (laden) 1300 kg.

Contarary to popular opinion I have found the Landrover Freelander TD4 to be reliable,comfortable and a dream to tow my Eriba Troll. Reasonably inexpensive to run with 37mpg routinely achieved.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Swift

j bain reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Swift Charisma 590 TA of (laden) 1534 kg.

The car pulls this van with ease..The clutch can smell when reversing but this is a characteristic of the car,not a clutch problem.Dont go on muddy fields so dont need low ratio,id rather save money on fuel

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Bailey

ian williams reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Bailey Senator Wyoming of (laden) 1654 kg.

Pulls very well and with ease, I had the freelander chipped sometime ago which makes a big difference and would recomend to anyone.With the wyoming being twin wheel its very stable.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Bailey

ian williams reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Bailey Senator Wyoming of (laden) 1654 kg.

Pulls very well and with ease, I had the freelander chipped sometime ago which makes a big difference and would recomend to anyone.With the wyoming being twin wheel its very stable.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Abbey

margaret ballard reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Abbey Spectrum 520 of (laden) 1651 kg.

The freelander pulls the caravan with out any problems.
Turning and reserving can sometimes make the clutch a little hot but no problems with it, fully loaded or empty.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Ace

rob reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Ace Jubilee Herald of (laden) 1353 kg.

this car pulls a lot better than the older model,It doesn't seem to struggle anywhere much towing this van & has easily overtaken other cars on carriageways, even on inclines

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 and Burstner

eddie reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Burstner S 500 TS of (laden) 1450 kg.

Towing with this outfit is a complete pleasure, can sit at 50mph in top gear on most single carriageways , and easily cruises on motorways, 4x4 comes in handy when backing on to our steep driveway.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - 2.0 di and Coachman

nrbeswick reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - 2.0 di (72 Kw/98 bhp year: april 1998 - october 2000) and a Coachman Amara 450/2 of (laden) 1315 kg.

My Freelander 2.0XEDi tows the Coachman Amara superbly. Its stable feel along with ample torque uphill when needed makes this a pleasure to tow in comparison to my previous car (Ford Mondeo 1.8). The Freelander is comfortable on long journeys with all the space we need to throw all our equipment in the back. Dog too!!. I feel we have made a good choice in tow vehicel.

More details >>>


Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. and Bailey

Harry Green reviewed on a Landrover Freelander - Td4 aut. (82 Kw/112 bhp year: october 2000 - december 2006) and a Bailey Senator Arizona of (laden) 1356 kg.

My Freelander is a 2003 Td4. This automatic 4x4 works far better than I expected and although I am new to towing I am looking forward to more caravaning this year
especially with the Freelander

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us