TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Mazda 6 User Reviews

Mazda 6 III - 2.2 CiTD mp and Sterling

Roy Dick reviewed on a Mazda 6 III - 2.2 CiTD mp (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 2008 - november 2012) and a Sterling Elite Diamond of (laden) 1460 kg.

Mazda 6 (2.2 litre estate 163 hp, 350 Nm) towing Sterling Elite Diamond. The caravan MTPLM is above the 85% towing recommendation at 91% but is happy on the back of the Mazda.Plenty of power and torque although the engine is not fully on the torque curve at 55 mph so there is sometimes a bit of lag while the turbo catches up. Average around 27/30 mpg. Overtaking is rarely a problem and steady cruising on motorways is easy. As there are only the two of us we normally pack the porch awning in the car along with the Aquaroll and the Wastemaster to keep the caravan weight down. By carefull packing, the noseweight is down to the prescribed figure and we use an ALKO hitch. Very stable although it does twitchy a bit in strong crosswinds. Quiet and refined at normal cruising speeds in top gear when towing and when solo. 53 mpg when cruising at 70 on long journeys.

More details >>>


Mazda 6 IV - 2.2 D and Sprite

Phil Stott reviewed on a Mazda 6 IV - 2.2 D (110 Kw/150 bhp year: november 2012 - up to now) and a Sprite Alpine 2 of (laden) 1179 kg.

Change from a Nissan x trail to a mazda 6, was worried I may miss the 4 wheel drive. However the mazda was more stable than the x trail and much better if compared to x trail in 4X4 mode. The cruse control is great on motorway I set to 58mph and this is maintained without issue. Puling f is a breeze and MPG is great especially compared to the xtaril, just shows you dont need a 4x4 with a suitable van.

More details >>>


Mazda 6 III - 2.2 CiTD mp and Swift

Andy Muir-Webb reviewed on a Mazda 6 III - 2.2 CiTD mp (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 2008 - november 2012) and a Swift Charisma 555 of (laden) 1469 kg.

I have been towing a Swift Charisma 555 with the Mazda 6 2.2 hatchback for 4 years now. Plenty of power especially going up hills when I regularly overtake other vans and some motor homes! I average just under 30mpg fully loaded. Just returned from France with 150 bottles of wine on board too!

More details >>>


Mazda 6 III - 2.2 CiTD mp and Sterling

Stuart Everitt reviewed on a Mazda 6 III - 2.2 CiTD mp (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 2008 - november 2012) and a Sterling Europa 490 of (laden) 1383 kg.

Mazda 6 (2.2 estate 163 bhp) towing a Sterling Europa 490 . This car replaced a Passat 2.0 TDI which I thought would take some beating but the towing with the Mazda beats it. 33mpg towing and you wouldn't know the van was there. Solo the car is superb. Quite, refined 50+mpg and corners like its on rails

More details >>>


Mazda 6 III - 2.2 CiTD mp and Swift

Derek Moffitt reviewed on a Mazda 6 III - 2.2 CiTD mp (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 2008 - november 2012) and a Swift Charisma 555 of (laden) 1469 kg.

Replaced my 130 B.H.P. Laguna (diesel) for the Mazda 2.2 163 B.H.P.(diesel) The difference in towing is dramatic, excellent. I was pleased with the laguna but this is a big improvement & capable of towing 1600 kg. against the laguna at 1500kg. with driver only. Would certainly recommend. Derek Moffitt.

More details >>>


Mazda 6 III - 2.2 CiTD mp and Lunar

Ken Williams reviewed on a Mazda 6 III - 2.2 CiTD mp (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 2008 - november 2012) and a Lunar Clubman 470-2 of (laden) 1310 kg.

Towed my Luna Clubman 470-2 with the Mazda 6- 163ps for the first time over Easter and found it perfect. the car coped with the high winds on motorways without any problems. Most of the time i was traveling at 55-60 mph in 6th gear. Found it a bit heavey on fuel but was pleased with the performance.

More details >>>


Mazda 6 II - 2.0 S-VT and Bailey

Graham Ford reviewed on a Mazda 6 II - 2.0 S-VT (108 Kw/147 bhp year: july 2005 - january 2008) and a Bailey Pageant Provence of (laden) 1475 kg.

October 2008, Adequate on the flat, although never above 4th gear & pretty good on motorway inclines providing you had a good run at it! Steep hill on site used was interesting, & that confirmed for me that unit was too heavy for the Mazda & about to change to a 2.0 Tucson diesel (138bhp) to make towing less fretful.

More details >>>


Mazda 6 SportBreak II - 2.0 CiTD and Caravan

Bob Hutchison reviewed on a Mazda 6 SportBreak II - 2.0 CiTD (89 Kw/121 bhp year: july 2005 - february 2008) and a Caravan of (laden) 1050 kg.

My car is a Mazda 6 Sakata, 2.0 Diesel (120 bhp ), towing an Ace Jubilee Diplomat laden at approx 1250kg.
It is an excellent tow car. It always maintains complete stability even in high winds. Acceleration is good, especially in third and fourth gears, and the outfit cruises effortlessly at 60 mph in fifth gear. Sixth gear is possible for motorway cruising on the flat at 60mph, but inclines require a drop down to fifth. First gear is fairly high so hill starts require a bit of clutch work, but are easily managed and I've never been aware of over heating the clutch.
Diesel consumption is 47 mpg solo and 29.5 mpg towing.
The outfit remains very level when hitched.
All in all an excellent tow car which I can highly recommend .

More details >>>


Mazda 6 III - 2.0 aut. and Swift

Linda reviewed on a Mazda 6 III - 2.0 aut. (108 Kw/147 bhp year: january 2008 - november 2012) and a Swift Charisma 220 of (laden) 1193 kg.

I find this a perfect match. Critical that you get the nose weight correct. Too heavy and the van seesaws. Petrol consumption not too bad about 30mpg towing. When the car was relatively new there was a fair bit of gear seeking. However now that its run in properly the gear box has sesttled down. Acceleration when you need it. Goes up steady inclines without problem. I would not, however, be happy to tow up lengthy inclines (say A7 between Longtown and Hawick) - think it might prove too much for the gear box.

All in all I will be sorry to swap the Mazda

More details >>>


Mazda 6 II - 2.0 CiTD and Compass

Andy reviewed on a Mazda 6 II - 2.0 CiTD (89 Kw/121 bhp year: july 2005 - january 2008) and a Compass Corona 505 of (laden) 1358 kg.

Swapped mondeo for mazda6 2.00td (121)
Bought a Compass corona 505 year 2006
Your match came in at 90% was a bit unsure.
No worries car perfect unlimited power 2nd gear,3rd 4th 5th all usable 6th on moterway flat.
I spent 10 grand on the caravan on your sites matching system found it exerlant in everyway
Thaanks Andy.

More details >>>


Mazda 6 II - 2.0 CiTD and Bailey

Dennis reviewed on a Mazda 6 II - 2.0 CiTD (105 Kw/143 bhp year: july 2005 - january 2008) and a Bailey Pageant Provence of (laden) 1405 kg.

The Mazda6 is great at towing our Bailey Pageant Provence, it returns around 21mpg. The only problem is reversing the van into tight spots, I have almost burnt out my clutch on a couple of occasions. Could do with a motor mover on the van then all would be perfect.

More details >>>


Mazda 6 II - 2.0 CiTD and Eriba

David reviewed on a Mazda 6 II - 2.0 CiTD (105 Kw/143 bhp year: july 2005 - january 2008) and a Eriba Touring Familia 320 of (laden) 900 kg.

The Mazda 6 really does not notice pulling the Eriba Familia 320, under any conditions. We chose this as a couple moving from a motorhome to a car and caravan and not wishing to lose to much power on the hills around south wales. The normal car mirrors enable a clear view down this narrow width caravan which is one less towing complication.

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us