TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Mercedes-Benz C-klasse User Reviews

Mercedes-Benz C Estate - 350e and Bailey

Ian G reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz C Estate - 350e (155 Kw/211 bhp year: june 2015 - up to now) and a Bailey Senator Arizona of (laden) 1406 kg.

Nervously started our first journey with the C350e, wondering if we had made a very expensive mistake or not.....
Spec\'d up with flip out tow bar and 18 inch alloys, we have, in theory, a good outfit.
Started silently and smoothly as we do solo, then the engine slipped in almost unnoticed and we were away!
Towing with a large caravan like the Senator Arizona is always noticeable; Previous tug was a Volvo XC90 and I have to say, the Merc was as stable and able as the big old 4x4, but an awful lot quieter, quicker and comfortable. 0-60 in around 6 seconds is always fun! Airmatic suspension, sublime.
If you need space, forget it! Even in estate form, space is tight, but if you have enough capacity, stick your stuff in the caravan and you\'ll be fine.
Don\'t forget the best bit - when you are back at the caravan after a day out, you can charge the car up again at your pitch,

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz C Mk IV Estate - 250 CDI BlueEFF aut. and Buccaneer

John Mitchell reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz C Mk IV Estate - 250 CDI BlueEFF aut. (150 Kw/204 bhp year: january 2011 - 2014) and a Buccaneer Corsair of (laden) 1740 kg.

Bought C class estate to replace M class. The caravan is only lightly loaded but I'm amazed at the stability and power of this tow car. Covering some 5000 towing miles over the last year all my concerns towing so close to 100% weight ratio evaporated. The chassis control on caravan has only activated on two or three occasions on rough roads. Economy best 34 mpg towing, 66 mpg solo. Superb tow car.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz C Mk IV Estate - 220 CDI BlueEFF aut. and Elddis

Vic reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz C Mk IV Estate - 220 CDI BlueEFF aut. (125 Kw/170 bhp year: january 2011 - 2014) and a Elddis Avante 540 of (laden) 1421 kg.

Plenty of power. Very stable. Car has trailer stability assist so this may help.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz C - 220 CDI and Lunar

M Grieve reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz C - 220 CDI (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2004 - march 2007) and a Lunar Quasar 554 of (laden) 1345 kg.

i'm worried about the noseweight, unladen it is 110Kg, and with a gas bottle and only light stuff in the fron locker and an awning on the bathroom floor all food and clothes etc stored for towing on the floor betwwen the rear beds, water drained from the combi boiler, still cannot get noseweight down below 90Kg. Im going to have to stow a 10-15Liter water carrier with water between the rear beds!!to get the nose weight lighter.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz C - 220 CDI and Bailey

Rob Roberts reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz C - 220 CDI (105 Kw/143 bhp year: may 2000 - march 2004) and a Bailey Senator Indiana of (laden) 1464 kg.

I live in the Highlands of Scotland and have no problems. Snaking I think is due to bad stowing in the van. I drive at 60 / 65 mph on dual and motorway roads and 55 / 60 mph on single carriage way.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz C Mk IV - 220 CDI aut. [BlueEfficiency][2010] and Sterling

colebags reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz C Mk IV - 220 CDI aut. [BlueEfficiency][2010] (125 Kw/170 bhp year: january 2010 - january 2011) and a Sterling Eccles SE Quartz of (laden) 1506 kg.

The 2013 Quartz SE is supposed to have an MTPLM of 1513 kg, even though the plate on mine shows 1566 kg which was for the 2012 model, that said the car pulls the van perfectly well, although over 55 mph and on open dual carriageway there can be a feeling of swaying, controlled partly by the ALKO ATS system and the traction control on the car but for peace of mind i keep just below that especially if there are cross winds. I certainly wouldn't try towing a heavier van with this car but am sure i will get used to this new van with it and as i have said in most situations it is fine, just use common sense on faster roads.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz C Mk IV - 250 CDI BlueEFF aut. and Swift

Andy Wallace reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz C Mk IV - 250 CDI BlueEFF aut. (150 Kw/204 bhp year: january 2011 - december 2013) and a Swift Conqueror 530 of (laden) 1590 kg.

Towed great and I'm a complete novice. Kept van light at 1550kg and car with all passengers and equipment was nearer 1950kg (1810kg unladed) so better than 85% ratio in reality. The C250 has plenty of pull and was able to get up to speed of 50/60 with no great shakes, never twitched when wagons and white van man sped past me. Disappointing mpg at about 28 when I normally get 58-62 mpg when solo. Did use cruise as much as possible and auot gearbox makes the towing so much easier, a lighter van may return better mpg but probably not a great deal more.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz C Mk IV - 250 CDI BlueEFF aut. and Swift

Andy Tudor reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz C Mk IV - 250 CDI BlueEFF aut. (150 Kw/204 bhp year: january 2011 - december 2013) and a Swift Challenger 540 of (laden) 1382 kg.

Car is the C-Class Coupe (weighs 1660kg, Van is not listed so I used a close weight from the list - its a Swift Coastline 584 (based on Challenger Sport).
Tows great, the "Hold" function on the car holds the train beautifully, very stable tow.
Consumption about 32mpg towing, 55mpg solo.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz C Mk IV - 220 CDI BlueEFF aut. and Bailey

Ian Sherry reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz C Mk IV - 220 CDI BlueEFF aut. (125 Kw/170 bhp year: january 2011 - december 2013) and a Bailey Pageant Burgundy of (laden) 1425 kg.

Just had my first outing with my new car (C Class 220cdi Sport saloon auto) towing my 2009 Series 7 Pageant Burgundy.
All I can say is "why have I waited so long to buy this car?" In the auto configuration it makes towing completely effortless. I will never drive a manual again.
All this coupled with 25 mpg towing.....I am a very happy man.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz C - 180 1.8 [202] and Caravan

Louis Jordaan reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz C - 180 1.8 [202] (90 Kw/122 bhp year: september 1995 - may 2000) and a Caravan of (laden) 1050 kg.

Towing a 5 sleeper Sprite is very good. I also have a speed boat. Kestrel 505. What a pleasure to tow. Safe driving speed is 100 to 110km/h.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz C - 220 CDI and Swift

chris reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz C - 220 CDI (105 Kw/143 bhp year: may 2000 - march 2004) and a Swift Challenger SE 480 of (laden) 1420 kg.

we towed our swift meridian with our c220cdi and had bad problems with snaking as soon as anything large passed us, i dont recommend this car for towing

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz C - 220 CDI and Burstner

Juan Carlos Bermejo reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz C - 220 CDI (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2004 - march 2007) and a Burstner Averso 460 TL of (laden) 1300 kg.

Solo he estado una vez de viaje e hice 2500 Km entre el sur de España, los Pirineos, Euskadi y volver al sur.
Solamente durante una subida del 17% de pendiente en 10 curvas tipo caracolillos y carretera estrecha tuve un poco de miedo, sobretodo cuando estaba prohibido a camiones mayores de 10 ml de longitud y yo media 12 ml.
En realidad no pasó nada el coche fue perfecto.
Un saludo

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz C - 220 CDI and Bailey

Cheryl Eichhammer reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz C - 220 CDI (105 Kw/143 bhp year: may 2000 - march 2004) and a Bailey Senator Indiana of (laden) 1464 kg.

We love our Merc C220 CDI estate but we are having terrible snaking at 53 / 55 mph,with our bailey senator Indiana, very frighteneing, has anyone the same problem? HELP !!!

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz C - 270 CDI and Bailey

Graham reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz C - 270 CDI (125 Kw/170 bhp year: september 2000 - march 2004) and a Bailey Ranger 620/6 of (laden) 1481 kg.

Having just returned from Devon back to Northumberland. No problems towing. Returns 25.8mpg on an average speed of 52mph according to readings on dash. Solo driving returns up to 58mpg. Car is a c270 estate 2002.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz C Mk IV Estate - 350 CDI V6 aut. [BlueEfficiency][4Matic] and Fendt

raquel reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz C Mk IV Estate - 350 CDI V6 aut. [BlueEfficiency][4Matic] (170 Kw/231 bhp year: january 2010 - january 2011) and a Fendt Saphir 470 TFB of (laden) 1380 kg.

ya me comentaras creo segun este informe que es buena la compra del combinado.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz C - 270 CDI and Bailey

Dennis Johnston reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz C - 270 CDI (125 Kw/170 bhp year: september 2000 - march 2004) and a Bailey Senator Indiana of (laden) 1464 kg.

I actually pull a Bailey California which is not on the list but is almost identical to the Oklahoma. Car is an Avantgarde and its harder suspension copes very well with 'van noseweight. I also find this an excellent outfit, achieving circa 24mpg towing and up to 50 mpg solo on any decent long run. Acceleration and hillclimbing are both effortless but possibly because of the high gearing in top gear the car is happier in 4th gear at times. Very pleased with the outfit.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz C - 180 2.0 [202] and Bailey

Ray French reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz C - 180 2.0 [202] (95 Kw/129 bhp year: october 2000 - june 2002) and a Bailey Ranger 510 of (laden) 1185 kg.

In general towing with this car is comfortable and accelaration is good when required. The engine struggles somewhat with steep hills.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz C - 220 CDI and Abbey

kdned reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz C - 220 CDI (110 Kw/150 bhp year: march 2004 - march 2007) and a Abbey Aventura 317 of (laden) 1243 kg.

Agree with the report. Plenty of pulling power what ever the terrain including acceleration from a standing start. Fuel economy good at around 28mpg even better on motorways using cruise control at a stedy 55mph

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz C - 270 CDI and Abbey

Ralph Kelsall reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz C - 270 CDI (125 Kw/170 bhp year: september 2000 - march 2004) and a Abbey GTS 418 of (laden) 1442 kg.

I am delighted with the performance of the car with the van on the back. Suspension on Elegance and Classic models was a little soft with 75 kgs. nose weight but I fitted MAD suspension aids and this cured both the softness and the rear end sag problems. Fuel consumption with van on is 23.9mpg (automatic) and 36 when solo. Stability of the outfit is exemplary and I can thoroughly recommend both the vehicle and the Van for touring. Super combination

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us