TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Mercedes-Benz M-klasse User Reviews

Mercedes-Benz ML II - 320 CDI V6 aut. and Bessacarr

Melrose reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML II - 320 CDI V6 aut. (165 Kw/224 bhp year: may 2005 - 2015) and a Bessacarr Cameo 550 of (laden) 1699 kg.

This is a update on my last review on my ml 270 cdi 2001 manual-- I have now upgraded to a ML 320 cdi 06 reg, the 270 was a brill car owned it since sept 2008 till Jan 2016-- Then had a Grand Cherokee 2005 Nothing but trouble--Got rid-- then had a Vauxhall Antara 2 Ltr Auto No good for pulling the Bessacarr 550 GL at 1760 KG M.P.L.W--So Got the Ml 320 CDI-- This car is a cut above the 270 CDI Its a nicer drive and the Engine and Gearbox are fitted so well together, Pulls the Bessacarr easy and the fuel use is only 1 mpg a V6 3.Ltr Vs a 2.7 Ltr towing and the goodies in the 320 cdi make for a nice place to be, Local driving it returns 28.8 MPG, But I do put Millers in to clean the fuel system. I also change the oil and filter every 6 months the engine loves it, You will not own a better car as long as you look after it.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML II - 420 CDI V8 aut. and Elddis

Phil reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML II - 420 CDI V8 aut. (225 Kw/306 bhp year: june 2006 - 2015) and a Elddis Avante 626 of (laden) 1660 kg.

I travel to Spain each year for around 3 months covering around 14,000 miles in the process, and each year I buy a big tug and sell it when I get back.
This year I chose a Merc M Class 4 litre V8 auto as it was quite cheap. cars like this are not a sensible buy if you just want a runaround, and rich people dont want a 2007 car in their drive so for me it was a perfect bargain, 1 previous owner and relatively low mileage too.

My caravan is actually an Avante Club 624 twin axle but it wasn\'t listed, but the weights are about the same.

The Merc doesn\'t have air suspension which is a mixed blessing, not quite so composed as the R Class 320 I used last year but much less to worry about going wrong. And once the van is on the back it is very smooth driving.

Obviously the power from the big V8 just wafts you along with almost effortless composure using cruise control, the van follows obediently with virtually no lateral movement, both the car and van have 140kg max nose weights, so even when passed on the French toll roads by the express coaches it stays very composed.
Starting and stopping on inclines is no problem.
There is a small delay after you initially put your foot down to protect the gearbox, but you get used to it.

I had all sorts of weather from howling side on gales on the E2 in Zaragoza to serious storms in Madrid and everything just worked well.

I cruise around 60mph and I was getting an average of 22mpg towing and 26mpg solo. Tire wear was not too bad, could definitely see some difference from leaving to getting back home but still fully legal.
Oil consumption was about 1 litre every 1500 miles which for me was a lot, but apparently not considered extraordinary by Mercedes.

The on board Satnav was running its original 2007 disc so lots of new roads missing, MB discs are very expensive so used my Garmin instead.

Seating position was eventually good - after trying out many combinations.
I had to do an emergency stop after a lorry pulled out on me at 60 mph and the car and van stopped perfectly straight without too much drama, however there were tyre squeals and smoke from behind me from drivers who hadn\'t expected such an abrupt stop from a caravan!!
Would I recommend this car to anyone else? I would say definitely yes, if they can live with the ownership costs.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI and Avondale

Allan Cameron reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 1999 - july 2005) and a Avondale Dart 510-5 of (laden) 1180 kg.

Just bought a manual ML270 2003 plate with full service history and 87000 on the clock. Pulls our van with ease and sits in 6th gear cruise control absolutely no problem. I was worried about fuel but Im surprised how decent it is. We are travelling to France this year and my wife will now be driving due to its strength, road presence and stabilty at speed. Fantastic old bus.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI aut. and Sterling

John reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 1999 - july 2005) and a Sterling Eccles SE Amethyst of (laden) 1759 kg.

Great towcar stress free towing, never struggles even with 4 adults, 2 kids,3 bikes and 3 kayaks on the roof, wish I could aford a new one.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 500 aut. and Caravan

John Barron reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 500 aut. (215 Kw/292 bhp year: september 2001 - july 2005) and a Caravan of (laden) 1750 kg.

Will keep you updated, have just bought both, will let you know

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI and Bessacarr

m.g.jukes reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 1999 - july 2005) and a Bessacarr Cameo 550 of (laden) 1699 kg.

update on my ml270 cdi manual pulling a bessacarr 550 gl had it since September 2008 used regular to pull the caravan everywhere. only put tyres on and brake pads, these are very good caravan pulling cars .get one you will not be disappointed, just change oils regular

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI and Lunar

steve reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 1999 - july 2005) and a Lunar Lexon 640 of (laden) 1694 kg.

I use my 270 cdi auto to tow a Lunar delta 640 twin axle. I would confirm the reviews above in that it pulls very well with excellent stability. Better then the manual discovery I had before.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 320 aut. and Sterling

Mark Lister reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 320 aut. (160 Kw/218 bhp year: march 1998 - october 2002) and a Sterling Elite Emerald of (laden) 1650 kg.

Running a ML430 on LPG easily handles my Sterling Elite Explorer, only returns about 12mpg when towing but on gas converts back to low 20s. Very smooth and comfortable and is very stable even in high winds.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML II - 320 CDI V6 aut. and Swift

AlanThomas reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML II - 320 CDI V6 aut. (165 Kw/224 bhp year: may 2005 - 2015) and a Swift Conqueror 645 of (laden) 1732 kg.

I tow my 2010 Conqueror 645 with a Merc M-class 320 CDI V6 auto fitted with a Brabus chip and full AMG bodykit which means extra wide tyres and even more power. Towing is a pleasure as the car and van are so well matched. Bags of power to accelerate and overtake, hills are no problem, and when you switch on the cruise control it's almost as if the van isn't there as the gearbox is superb even with nearly 2 tonnes on the back, and the steering gets you around the winding French country roads with no problems whatsoever. Only drawback, 18-19 mpg, but will creep over 20 if motorways are used. Best gadget - reversing camera so you can see when you hitch up. Used to tow with a Jeep Grand Cherokee which bounced around like a lump of jelly. Even with 4 litres under the hood, the Merc make's the Jeep feel like a Model-T!

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 500 aut. and TEC

ollie reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 500 aut. (215 Kw/292 bhp year: september 2001 - july 2005) and a TEC Weltbummler 640 of (laden) 1690 kg.

this car is very powerful, and i have had no probs towing but you would expect that as it has a 5ltr v8 engine and the fuel consumption isnt that bad either, but as this caravan is wider than the norm it is a very good idea to invest in some good towing mirrors that dont shake to pieces
happy caravaning

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI and Avondale

martyn foxwell reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 1999 - july 2005) and a Avondale Land-Ranger 6400 of (laden) 1690 kg.

as you can see i have a heavy setup. have had a full remap on engine
tow to france /spain would not use anything else

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI aut. and Bessacarr

Michael Gardner reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 1999 - july 2005) and a Bessacarr Cameo 550 of (laden) 1699 kg.

I love this towcar, pulls our twin-axle without any issues at the legal maximum all day long. Solid as a rock, accelerates and overtakes well and economy not bad at 23mpg towing and 32mpg solo. I would like an estate car but nothing seems to come close on the towing specs. as this ML. Problem with ML's good, low mileage used ones are not cheap.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI and Bailey

karl reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 1999 - july 2005) and a Bailey Senator Wyoming of (laden) 1635 kg.

i have owned my ml270 now for about 18 months,and i have to say it is brilliant! i had a range rover which was the most unreliable car i have ever owned!! the ml tows like a dream, i have chipped the engine with a simple plug in box,bought of ebay,what a massive difference!with the twin axle senator on the back,it pulls like a steam train and is very stable indeed!.fuel economy is not to bad either! so if you need a good strong powerful towcar, GET ONE OF THESE!

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI and Compass

ivordadriver reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 1999 - july 2005) and a Compass Rallye 634 of (laden) 1839 kg.

I have owned a ML270 Auto and tow a Compass Rallye 634 ... It is effortless with this car and you don't notice that much difference in fuel consumption. Mine is a 2001 ML and I am hoping to upgrade to a 2004 one this year ... Had a rival towcar previously and would not replace the Merc with anything but another Merc ML ... hope in another few years when I'm upgrading the tow car that the new shaped ones perform equally as well ... certainly 10/10

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI aut. and Compass

Tony Mansfield reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 1999 - july 2005) and a Compass Omega 540 of (laden) 1560 kg.

Only had the Mercedes two months, we took the caravan to the lake district from Scunthorpe, it never faltered, i wish we had bought the car sooner, 26.8 to the gallon and thats over the A66, Buy one Now!

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML II - 280 CDI V6 aut. and Abbey

Jon Matthews reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML II - 280 CDI V6 aut. (140 Kw/190 bhp year: may 2005 - 2015) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 420 of (laden) 1427 kg.

Fantastic tow car, previously had the "highly acclaimed Discovery 3" great when it worked but an unreliable piece of junk. The new ML is amazing, stable, tows with ease a real pleasure to drive and no reliability issues in 35k miles.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML II - 320 CDI V6 aut. and Swift

Simon Moore reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML II - 320 CDI V6 aut. (165 Kw/224 bhp year: may 2005 - 2015) and a Swift Conqueror 645 of (laden) 1732 kg.

I tow a Swift Conqueror 645 Lux with the Merc 320cdi sport. This car is more than capable of the job. Power is of no issue. The fuel is though, be prepared when towing to achieve around 18-19 ish MPG. Better built than the BMW X5, More luxurious than a Range Rover
Sport. Easy to manouvre and reversing no problem, Approx 41-42 ft long when coupled.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI aut. and Swift

Colin Daines reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 1999 - july 2005) and a Swift Challenger 620 of (laden) 1724 kg.

Have towed Elldis super scirroco and Swift Challenger 620 with ML 270 excelent performance and very steady even when passing H G V.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI and Bessacarr

MELROSE reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 1999 - july 2005) and a Bessacarr Cameo 550 of (laden) 1699 kg.

I HAVE HAD OTHER 4X4s THIS MERC 270 MANUAL PULLS MY BESSE PERFECT,SOME PEOPLE SLAG THEM OFF, IF I COULD AFFORD A NEW ONE BE THERE IN A FLASH, MINE IS A 2001 MODEL HAD IT TWO AND A HALF YEARS, NEVER LET ME DOWN.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 320 aut. and Abbey

Matt Wild reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 320 aut. (160 Kw/218 bhp year: march 1998 - october 2002) and a Abbey Spectrum 418 of (laden) 1553 kg.

Bought my gas converted ml320 in 2009 for £5000. Bought my abbey 418 for £3000. As a first time caravanner am 100% impressed with all aspects of the merc, towing is a breeze and i can put it on cruise control at 70 with no problems.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI and Coachman

BAZZA reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 1999 - july 2005) and a Coachman VIP 545/4 of (laden) 1635 kg.

I have the Mercedes for two years it is the best one for towing with any caravan,but with the coachman vip 545/4 it is a pleasure to drive and to pull my caravan 10/10

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI and Coachman

JOHN S reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 1999 - july 2005) and a Coachman Pastiche 540/4 of (laden) 1515 kg.

I Have had two of these models from 2000 to2008. they are excellent towcars, Certainly the best I have owned in 40 years of caravanning. Pleasure to Drive both towing and solo

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 320 aut. and Swift

A Choppin reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 320 aut. (160 Kw/218 bhp year: march 1998 - october 2002) and a Swift Challenger SE 480 of (laden) 1366 kg.

My ML320 2000 yr. tows my Swift Challenger 480 SE without any problem at all, I dont subscribe to the "I dont know its on the back" description but it comes close. 18 mpg towing, up to 24 solo.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML II - 350 V6 aut. and Dethleffs

Dave Butler reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML II - 350 V6 aut. (200 Kw/272 bhp year: may 2005 - 2015) and a Dethleffs Beduin Emotion 595-2 S of (laden) 1774 kg.

My Mercedes ML 320 v6 towed liked a dream I have towed a Dethleffs to the top of the St Berdard pass which is 2472 metres high Switzerland Italy border. Round some really tough hair-pin bends what a machine, best tow car I have ever used to one of the peaks highest peaks so far I would Highly reccomend this machine.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI and Bessacarr

Jimmy C reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 1999 - july 2005) and a Bessacarr Cameo 525 of (laden) 1648 kg.

Excellent towcar. Had no problems towing all the way into France. Very comfortable and easy to drive with auto in cruise. Pleasure to own.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 320 aut. and Eriba

andy tain reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 320 aut. (160 Kw/218 bhp year: march 1998 - october 2002) and a Eriba Nova S 540 of (laden) 1550 kg.

my ml320 99yr tows my hymer swing no problem even thou its 1500kg.mys gas converted and i get about 16 on short runs.not tried a long one yet.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI and Lunar

austin black reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 1999 - july 2005) and a Lunar Lexon 575 EB of (laden) 1410 kg.

i have towed for over 30 years this car is by far the best tow car i have owned auto box no problem it will pull all day seated in luxury cruise control on let it do the business what more can i say buy one

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML II - 320 CDI V6 aut. and Elddis

m edwards reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML II - 320 CDI V6 aut. (165 Kw/224 bhp year: may 2005 - 2015) and a Elddis Crusader Super Storm of (laden) 1819 kg.

I have been towing the Elddis superstorm with a 94 isuzu bighorn which has performed well apart from long motorway hills where it was difficult to maintain much over 50mph apart from this it proved a good combination. With my mercedes however I can hold 60mph with power to spare which is not surprising given the extra torque and hp. This is a perfect tow vehicle for this weight of caravan. 5 stars in my opinion. The auto gearbox with column change also makes manouvreing a doddle.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 320 aut. and Sterling

MARK reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 320 aut. (160 Kw/218 bhp year: march 1998 - october 2002) and a Sterling Eccles Amethyst of (laden) 1386 kg.

My mercedes ml320 tows my 23ft sterling eccles with ease at about 20mpg it has the same mpg as my friends shogun sport 2.5d but my tax is still cheap as its 1999. hope this helps someone

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML II - 350 V6 aut. and Bailey

Alan Woodward reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML II - 350 V6 aut. (200 Kw/272 bhp year: may 2005 - 2015) and a Bailey Senator Louisiana of (laden) 1643 kg.

The ML is the best towcar I have ever used, I have towed with V8 Discovery's V6 Rovers but the ML beats the lot, stability & pulling are excellent, when using cruise control it'll go up and downhill at the sellected speed without any effort, coupled with the Louisianna's stability control system they are a perfect match.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI aut. and Vanmaster

John P. Clarke reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 270 CDI aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: december 1999 - july 2005) and a Vanmaster Ovation 480 ET of (laden) 1480 kg.

Excellent all round performance in every respect of towing this outfit.

More details >>>


Mercedes-Benz ML - 400 CDI aut. and Burstner

Ole Węhrens reviewed on a Mercedes-Benz ML - 400 CDI aut. (184 Kw/250 bhp year: september 2001 - july 2005) and a Burstner Ventana 690 of (laden) 1780 kg.

Perfect, byt expensive

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us