TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Opel Vectra User Reviews

Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Bailey

Richard High reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Bailey Pageant Burgundy of (laden) 1425 kg.

I have a 08 Vauxhall Vectra 1.9 cdti Sri 150 hatchback towing on motorway I am average about 30mpg and when towing my Bailey Burgundy S5 but I can't use 6th gear so I would use 5th gear as top gear when towing my caravan.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Bailey

Dale Ridgway reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Bailey Ranger 550 of (laden) 1278 kg.

2008 150 cdti . Same as other people say , 6th gear not used too much. But going up hills the vectra is great. Just ordered some MAD rear coil springs as vehicle sit abit low when is loaded with being SRI

More details >>>


Opel Vectra - 2.0 Dti 16v and Avondale

John reviewed on a Opel Vectra - 2.0 Dti 16v (74 Kw/101 bhp year: october 1997 - may 2002) and a Avondale Dart 510-5 of (laden) 1180 kg.

I have no problems not even in the Scottish Highlands. Smooth and fast on the roads and motorways on the way there. No problems on the narrow roads with passing places. On the steeper hills first gear will cope with no problem. Fuel consumption is good, this year 2013 we covered 1550 miles averaging around 36/38 mpg. I never had to stop on any of the steeper hills so can not comment regarding very steep hill starts. My Vectra is a manual geared vehicle with 69000 miles on the clock.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 3.0 V6 CDTI and Eriba

Roy reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 3.0 V6 CDTI (130 Kw/177 bhp year: october 2003 - august 2005) and a Eriba Nova GL/SL 465 of (laden) 1350 kg.

Bought the car 8months old, caravan new in 2006. Car has averaged 42.3mpg for 60,000 miles (this includes 12,000 miles towing) so the economy is good.
Wide, long, low centre-of-gravity car is very stable when towing using the standard hitch with no additional stabilisers. Caravan tows rock-steady in all circumstances. Power is more than adequate and 6th gear + cruise control makes motorway towing easy.
Obviously the traction on wet or snowy grass is not very good, but the motor-mover is used in these circumstances. Ride quality in the car is excellent when towing, no detectable movement caused by the caravan. I would replace this (very reliable) car with a similar one if possible.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Cristall

les reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: august 2004 - june 2009) and a Cristall Sprint 390 D of (laden) 1179 kg.

towing cristall with vectra no problems did feel like i was towing

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Coachman

Jimmy reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: august 2004 - june 2009) and a Coachman Amara 450/2 of (laden) 1330 kg.

Done about 20 trips with my 2006 1.9 120bhp vectra estate and have found no problems

More details >>>


Opel Vectra Stationwagon - 2.2 16v aut. and Solifer

Janne Virtanen reviewed on a Opel Vectra Stationwagon - 2.2 16v aut. (108 Kw/147 bhp year: september 2000 - may 2002) and a Solifer Artic 520 of (laden) 1200 kg.

We just arrived a 1900km holiday trip in Lapland (north Finland). Opel is towing gradients of 11% uphill good: with speed 65km/h without teasing the car. "D" position is applicable but AT allows the biggest gear on flat road. It's useful to select "3" position when driving roads often uphills.
When accelerating, the torque coverter slip lock is activated after 60km/h if lightly torque in powerline. It's useful to lift up the accelerator pedal a little at 65km/h and allow the AT to lock turbine. This saves energy and avoids heating of transmission oil.
Fuel consumption was average 12...13 liters/100 km.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Bailey

les walker reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Bailey Pegasus 514 of (laden) 1450 kg.

i tow a pegasus 514 with my vectra 54 plate 150 bhp as previous comments forget 6th gear when towing,but apart from this what a lovely towcar.i used to tow with a discovery,but economy wise ihad to change to a more economical towcar.i borrowed a 120 bhp.vectra for a weekend.slightly underpowerd but convinced me a 150 bhp would do the job.i am glad fuel economy is much better @ iam very pleased with setup.LES.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.8 16v [c.r.] and Avondale

geoff reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.8 16v [c.r.] (90 Kw/122 bhp year: may 2002 - november 2005) and a Avondale Dart 556-6 of (laden) 1195 kg.

the vectra 1.8 petrol can easily tow on motorways in 5th gear at 60mph and also as the power for overtaking and handles well the only downside is when pulling off from standstill especially in wet conditions and hill starts as you tend to need to slip the clutch as you get wheel spin , otherwise plenty of power and nice handling combination

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.8 16v and Swift

Steve Bramhall reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.8 16v (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2005 - june 2009) and a Swift Charisma 535 of (laden) 1322 kg.

Towing my Swift Charisma is OK but you have to make good use of the gears. Will accelerate reasonably well to over take again with a drop down to 4th gear. Performance overall is good but fuel consumption when towing is poor 20mpg on a good day.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Lunar

glyn davenport reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: august 2004 - june 2009) and a Lunar Quasar 546 of (laden) 1430 kg.

i thought my 2 ltr 150bhp mondeo was good bt this is just brill

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Bailey

Nick Frost reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Bailey Ranger 500 of (laden) 1261 kg.

Car pulls very well in 5th on motorways 6th not really useable, brilliant economy when towing. Only complaint is the cluch gets very hot and smelly in slow traffic and when reversing the caravan onto a pitch.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.8 16v and Fleetwood

John reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.8 16v (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2005 - june 2009) and a Fleetwood Colchester 520 of (laden) 1180 kg.

You need to be a little careful with this set up as the MTPLW is 50kg higher than the vehicles towing weight. However, if you are not loading it up too much you should be ok. I don't bother with an awning, use plastic crockery, and that saves a lot of weight.
In terms of towing, its not as good as a diesel, but not terrible either. Vauxhall manufacturer guidelines recommend petrols tow between 2500-3000 rpm, and towing ability is ok within this band. It may mean sitting in 4th at 50mph when going up slight gradients, but hey, its a petrol and it handles the revs ok. I have rarely used 5th gear im afraid, but to be honest it drives comfortably in 4th at 55. If power is urgently needed, this car does pull well if you take it up to 6000rpm, but you wouldn't want to do this routinely. One tip: i find that economy is better when cruise control is switched on as much as possible, as it can control acceleration better than i can- in economy terms. I get roughly 25 mpg, not great, but not disastrous either.
If your towing long distances with this set up, your better with the diesel models, otherwise this set up is OK.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Caravan

david balls cock reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Caravan of (laden) 250 kg.

swear buy the good old vectra cdti sri chipped up now 190 bhp , pulls a 1590kg van front end of nearly with that much power.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 1.9 CDTi and Bailey

JOHN H reviewed on a Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Bailey Pageant Auvergne of (laden) 1385 kg.

I have a vectra estate sri 150bhp i has a tuning box fitted it gives 206bhp.This car is awesome pulls like a train goes up hills like they are not there.Forget 4x4s try one of these you wont be disappointed.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra Stationwagon - 2.0 Dti 16v [1996] and Elddis

Andy Wilson reviewed on a Opel Vectra Stationwagon - 2.0 Dti 16v [1996] (74 Kw/101 bhp year: february 1999 - september 2000) and a Elddis Odyssey 524L of (laden) 1475 kg.

Further to previous notes, with over 1000 miles towed with this combination.

This car should be very easy on the clutch. It will pull away at tickover, even on a slight incline, then when clutch fully engaged pull strongly away. This is very useful when manouvering on site.

Average speed achived on long motorway journey was 56mph. Average fuel consumption was 30.3mpg in good conditions. Lowest was 28.1mpg after crossing the Pennines (A66 Scotch Corner to Penrith) and incurring heavy headwinds.

Only need to change down on steeper motorway inclines, but if there is no danger of holding up other traffic I usually allow the speed to drop until the reduced drag balances the load of climbing the hill. Speed seldom drops below 50mph in this way on UK Motorways.

Overall I am (pleasantly) surprised at how well this car deals with towing it's own weight. The soft-blown turbo with it's modest peak power output belies the capabilities where it counts, between 1500 and 2500rpm.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Elddis

Baz Upward reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Elddis Avante 534 of (laden) 1350 kg.

Had the Vectra a year, bought it specifically to tow our Eldis. No great issues, tows fine. Yep 6th gear struggles but in 5th no problems. Good economy, no overheating problems. Slight problem pushing van back up hill on to pitch - needs a bit of revving. Other than that a good tow car.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra Stationwagon - 2.0 Dti 16v [1996] and Elddis

Andy Wilson reviewed on a Opel Vectra Stationwagon - 2.0 Dti 16v [1996] (74 Kw/101 bhp year: february 1999 - september 2000) and a Elddis Avante 524 of (laden) 1420 kg.

I was happy to contemplate towing 1:1 with this car as the torque is very strong from low revs, even though peak output is modest. The car has done 220k miles (350K kilometers).
It is very drivable around town / minor roads with good flexibility through the gears. On the motorway is easily achieves 60 mph (96 k/h) and can hold top gear on gentle inclines.
It seems to perform slightly better than the statistics suggest on this web-site.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Abbey

Richard Phillips reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 420 of (laden) 1427 kg.

We own a 2006 Abbey GTS Vogue 420, and tow with a 2008 Vectra 150bhp SRi. Of the 3 journeys we've made so far, hav'nt encountered any probs. I do however try to keep the weight at least 75kgs below MTPLM. Great car 'thou.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Fleetwood

jamie reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Fleetwood Sonata Nocturne of (laden) 1375 kg.

my vectra exclusive 1.9 150 auto diesel tows my fleetwood sonata nocturne a dream and returns excellent mpg 10/10

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Geist

James reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Geist Aktiv 495 of (laden) 1375 kg.

We bought the Geist as our first caravan 2 years ago and bought the Vectra SRi to match and the only issue I have had is that reversing up even a slight incline does make the clutch very hot. Apart from that the car has been brilliant with plenty of smooth power and it will cruise all day and at 60 withthe van on the back and average 32 mpg. I especially like the excellent seats, which are just about the best in any car I have owned, very important for the longer journies.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Elddis

Chris reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Elddis Avante 524 of (laden) 1312 kg.

2006 Vectra 1.9 CDTI 16v (150) with tuning box providing 180 bhp pulls the Elddis Avante with ease. Can use 6th gear more since addition of tuning box. Fuel economy good at 32mpg average towing. Car really excells running up steep motorway inclines and leaves 4x4 towcars behind!

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Swift

Richard P reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Swift Challenger 520 of (laden) 1391 kg.

We've had to change our caravan to a Swift Challenger 520se. (1418kgs). Coming home from Devon on the A38 she towed the 'van at 60mph uphill !! It really is an awesome towcar and I cannot praise it enough

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Adria

andy sheldon reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: august 2004 - june 2009) and a Adria Altea 542 DK of (laden) 1270 kg.

Used to tow with a Peugot 406 2litre turbo and the Vectra is miles better. Both are diesel powered and the economy for the Vectra is around 25 - 30mpg during towing. I have had no real issues and would buy this combination again.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Swift

william hill reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Swift Charisma 570 of (laden) 1452 kg.

i tow a swift charisma 570 i feel like the suspension is tolow as it makes my van look nose heavie been told must up grade my springs its a shame as car handeling is superp a lot better than my old 4x4

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Swift

Richard 'P' reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Swift Charisma 565 of (laden) 1275 kg.

I tow a 2003 Swift Charisma 565 (139kgs max), unable to find on list! Just bought a 2008 150ps SRi, from a Vectra 2.0dti. No comparison, this tows the caravan very well and I'm really impressed. When 'light engine' it's a flying machine too!!!

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Swift

Richard 'P' reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Swift Charisma 565 of (laden) 1275 kg.

I tow a 2003 Swift Charisma 565 (1339kgs) with a 1.9 CDTi 150ps, SRi, and she pulls this caravan without effort, I'm really impressed, economical too.Previously had 2.0DTi. No comparison !!!

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Abbey

james reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 416 of (laden) 1413 kg.

only just purchased our caravan so not done much towing. on motorway the car felt a little light and didnt feel too confident, but the car had plenty of pulling power although 6th gear was never used.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 2.0 Dti [w.r.] and Swift

Richard Phillips reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 2.0 Dti [w.r.] (74 Kw/101 bhp year: may 2002 - august 2004) and a Swift Charisma 565 of (laden) 1325 kg.

We recently changed from a folding camper to a Swift 565 Charisma 2003. MTPLM 1339kgs. Car tows well. More 'bulk' after folding camper, but steady. Alko hitch lock fitted. pulls well on A roads and motorway(s). I do keep an eye on the nose weight thou'

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Abbey

shaun booth reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: august 2004 - june 2009) and a Abbey Aventura 318 of (laden) 1404 kg.

towed the same caravan with citroen c5 turbo diesel estate.the vectra was far better ,more acceleration ,more power and a much smoother ride all together.im very pleased with it

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 1.9 CDTi and Swift

L Mogano reviewed on a Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 1.9 CDTi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: august 2004 - june 2009) and a Swift Charisma 570 of (laden) 1452 kg.

I have a 56 plate Vectra estate 1.9 cdti (120) with 113000 on the clock and tow a 2005 Charisma 570. The car pulls the van with ease and feels very stable. The only gripe I have is the 1st gear could do with a little more torque for pullling off, the need to slip the clutch a little is often called for. Overall though what a lovely partnership.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Abbey

jim v reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Abbey Aventura 316 of (laden) 1489 kg.

i used to tow my abbey adventura with a toyota avensis 1.8 t3s, swapped to the vectra and found it to be an excellent towing vehicle like someone said earlier no problem passing a 4x4 with or without the van

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III GTS - 3.0 V6 CDTI and Coachman

A.Hutcheon reviewed on a Opel Vectra III GTS - 3.0 V6 CDTI (135 Kw/184 bhp year: august 2005 - june 2009) and a Coachman VIP 545/4 of (laden) 1635 kg.

I know this is above the recommended balance for the UK, but this outfit is not for the newcomers anyway. it handles well, with fantastic acceleration, passing lorries and slower cars on hill is certainly not a problem. You have to keep an eye on the speed as there is so much power. 21 to the gallon towing. and around 27 mpg as an all round figure. A good tow even when getting low on fuel. but I don't overload the van anyway.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III GTS - 2.2 Dti aut. and Coachman

Stephen reviewed on a Opel Vectra III GTS - 2.2 Dti aut. (92 Kw/125 bhp year: august 2002 - august 2004) and a Coachman Amara 520/4 of (laden) 1500 kg.

My 2.2 auto vectra towed my caravan very well i managed to get 29.3mph,unfortunately the match given here is not quite accurate as the caravan max is 1477kg not 1500kg which does then take it down to 89%. all in all an extremely good tower

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 2.0 Dti and Lunar

John Atterton reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 2.0 Dti (74 Kw/101 bhp year: may 2002 - august 2004) and a Lunar Lexon SE of (laden) 1437 kg.

Confirm the findings that the Lexon SE is probably at the limit for comfortable handling by the Vectra 2Dti. Have not experienced any problems towing at a fairly constant 50 mph. The Vectra tows well whether negotiating. motorways or steep hills in North Yorkshire. Grantham Caravans who supplied the new Lunar last year advised the match would be OK and so far it has.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 1.9 CDTi and Coachman

Stewart King reviewed on a Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Coachman Amara 535/4 of (laden) 1480 kg.

This car is brilliant for towing. The 150bhp makes it so easy considering the Amara 535 is close to the limit. I do not understand the people moaning over the cruising 6 Gear. The answer is you don't use it ! Still getting 33mpg so I'm well pleased. Go for the estate, loads more space and the car looks better.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Coachman

David Hunter reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Coachman Amara 450/2 of (laden) 1340 kg.

Excellent ! I previously towed with a 2.5L petrol Omega and was surprised and delighted to find the Vectra was a better tow car. Around 33mpg towing on the level in 5th and 50mpg on the level solo in 6th. Glad most of the motoring press don't seem to like them - it keeps the price right!!

More details >>>


Opel Vectra - 2.5 V6 and Ace

John Hoskin reviewed on a Opel Vectra - 2.5 V6 (125 Kw/170 bhp year: august 1997 - september 2000) and a Ace Award Brightstar of (laden) 1370 kg.

Excellent tow car, normal run gives 29 MPG, with van you can achieve 25 MPG. Outfit very stable and most motorway hills allow you to stay in 5th gear. Side wind and passing lorries seem to have minimal effect on stability, with normal stabiliser fitted.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 1.9 CDTi and Bailey

Craig Douglas reviewed on a Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Bailey Pageant Auvergne of (laden) 1385 kg.

This car is the best tow car I have had .Previous car was a 3.0 v6 shogun sport.The vectra put it to shame.Towed from Windermere to Padstow on one tank .Cruise control at 60mph all the way.Packed to the gills wife 3 kids 5 bikes roofbox the all shootin match.If you want a Tow Car buy this car

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 1.9 CDTi and Swift

Neil Pearson reviewed on a Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Swift Charisma 570 of (laden) 1452 kg.

The Vectra Estate with factory fit retractable tow bar and self levelling suspension is a great match with the Swift 570, almost effortless towing and very stable, even at the higher speeds allowed in France.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III GTS - 3.0 V6 CDTI and Bailey

stan reviewed on a Opel Vectra III GTS - 3.0 V6 CDTI (135 Kw/184 bhp year: august 2005 - june 2009) and a Bailey Pageant Limousin of (laden) 1578 kg.

Fantastic car just keeps pulling, lots of grunt, great on hills average 21mpg towing if you keep to 60mph very hard to as so much power, don't know what i can replace it with that will be better.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.8 16v and Compass

Jimmy Jones reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.8 16v (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2005 - june 2009) and a Compass Corona 362 of (laden) 1150 kg.

My 1.8 Vectra Exclusive towed well when I went up to North Wales from West Wales using "A" Class roads. I have also been to the Brecon Beacons and it performed well. Due to the type of roads didn't get to use 5th gear much but when I did it towed fine

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 2.2 Dti and Sterling

Dean reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 2.2 Dti (92 Kw/125 bhp year: may 2002 - august 2004) and a Sterling Europa 390 of (laden) 1193 kg.

Tows great. Does anyone else have a noisy back end on their Vectra whether towing or not? Ir's been checked over by three different garages and none of them have found what the problem is. Any suggestions?

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 1.9 CDTi and Elddis

Russ Webb reviewed on a Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Elddis Odyssey 505 of (laden) 1475 kg.

The Vectra and the Elddis are an excellent match together. With its 150 bhp the Vectra was able to tow with ease on inclines and handles very well on uneven, twisty roads which is ideal if your going to the Lake District or heading to Scotland.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 1.9 CDTi aut. and Sterling

GAVIN reviewed on a Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 1.9 CDTi aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: july 2005 - january 2008) and a Sterling Europa 540 of (laden) 1452 kg.

I have an 08 19cd sri (150bhp) vectra, i tow a Sterling Europa 540. The vectra is brilliant, plenty of power against this 23ft van. On the flat i can get into 6th gear all be it there is not a lot of acceleration, all the same it does cut down on fuel use. Up hill no problem at all, even on the steep inclines this car has enough power. Fuel economy without is excellent and with still very respectable. I try to go away once a month in season and for a 2 week break in the summer and wouldn't say that fuel is top of my thoughts. I also added a roof box and coupled with the large boot space makes packing up no problem. My only concern with the SRI is that it has sports suspension so it sits lower than your normal vectra. Looking along the line of my car to van it does sit down past the horizontal at the hitching point, but only just. The up side is that the suspension is stiffer so it doesn't travel down much on uneven surfaces. These 2 are a perfect match and in real life they work well together. Fully packed the vectra performs well.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 2.0 Dti and Swift

Monty reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 2.0 Dti (74 Kw/101 bhp year: may 2002 - august 2004) and a Swift Toscane 490 of (laden) 1200 kg.

I have no problem towing this weight , very stable rarely drop below 60 , on long motorway inclines can drop to 50 .All in all i am more than happy with this combination .

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.8 16v and Bailey

Bruce Kain reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.8 16v (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2005 - june 2009) and a Bailey Pageant Burgundy of (laden) 1425 kg.

The Vectra 1.8 SRI 140bhp towing a Bailey Burgundy 1425KG OMG !! Short trip to Wales my pulse never dropped below 100 ! This is a dangerous combination, the Vectra is rated at 140 ponies but i think 40 died during this trip, pull a Burgundy ? this car wouldn't pull me out of bed ! 5th gear, Whats that ? During the trip i told my wife we had to lose some weight so we ended up jettisoning the 15 tins of beans we had taken, oh oh, it made no difference, if you're looking for a scary ride try this combo, bettered only by the Pepsi Max at blackpool.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 1.9 CDTi and Caravan

Cara Van Puller reviewed on a Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 1.9 CDTi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: august 2004 - june 2009) and a Caravan of (laden) 1000 kg.

Excellent, can't tell it'sthere, better than Passat

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 2.0 Dti and Bailey

ceebee reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 2.0 Dti (74 Kw/101 bhp year: may 2002 - august 2004) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Monarch of (laden) 1239 kg.

Nice combination. On steep climbs (7%) in 30mph limit it needs 3rd gear at the top but if you can get speed up before you hit a slope you can stay in 5th most of the time.
Engine temperature doesn't rise above that when driving solo so engine doesn't seem to labour. With noseweight of just over 75Kg stability was fine.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III GTS - 1.9 CDTi aut. and Bailey

Bernie reviewed on a Opel Vectra III GTS - 1.9 CDTi aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: october 2005 - june 2009) and a Bailey Ranger 510/4 of (laden) 1223 kg.

This Vectra is a very good towcar, on motorways cruises easily at 60mph as long as the caravan nose weight is kept below 75kg. it is perfectly stable. The only downside is fuel consumption drops to about 30mpg. But all in all a very good car for the caravaner.(I have done about 2000 miles towing with this car.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.8 16v and Bailey

Graham Forrest reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.8 16v (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2005 - june 2009) and a Bailey Ranger 510/4 of (laden) 1223 kg.

My 1.8 Vectra Exclusive has not performed very well, really poor when faced with long climbs, have to make real use of gears, fine / stable on flat.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 2.0 Dti and Bailey

Ceebee reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 2.0 Dti (74 Kw/101 bhp year: may 2002 - august 2004) and a Bailey Ranger 380 of (laden) 1058 kg.

Fantastic combo, You forget the van's there , which is the biggest problem with the outfit when you find yourself doing 70+ on the motorway !
Unfortunately this size of van ids disappearing , my new one is over 1200Kg loaded but towcar says it will tow so ,,,.....

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Bailey

Mr R Blakeley reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: august 2004 - june 2009) and a Bailey Ranger 460/2 of (laden) 1131 kg.

Its pants and has a crap nose weight

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Adria

karl butler reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Adria Adora 532 UP of (laden) 1375 kg.

I drive a 150bhp SRI version and have enjoyed effortless towing, cant rate it enough........even stocked to the gills with kids and luggage !! As reviewed by others, the only down side is the 6th gear towing, but hey drop into 5th and away you go....its no big issue !

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 2.2 Direkt [6MT] and Bailey

Andrew reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 2.2 Direkt [6MT] (114 Kw/155 bhp year: july 2005 - june 2009) and a Bailey Ranger 500/5 of (laden) 1194 kg.

Hopeless on hill starts, slight incline clutch starts to slip. Great disapointment!!!!!!!

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 3.0 V6 CDTI and Coachman

Stan Bakewell reviewed on a Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 3.0 V6 CDTI (135 Kw/184 bhp year: august 2005 - june 2009) and a Coachman Amara 520/4 of (laden) 1490 kg.

Just purchased this car,taken caravan out once on a short trip,found that this is fantastic plenty power on start off and just loves hills, just keeps pulling.cant wait to take it on motorway to see how she goes.I was getting around 28mpg with the caravan on doing normal roads and hills, I think this will increase on motorway driving will let you know.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 2.2 Direkt [6MT] and Polar

Petri reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 2.2 Direkt [6MT] (114 Kw/155 bhp year: july 2005 - june 2009) and a Polar 590 of (laden) 1600 kg.

Horrible combination max speed 60 km/h. Caravan takes the lead. Takes 18l/100km gasoline. My Old Omega 2.0 pulls that caravan very nice and take 13l/100 km

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.8 16v and Bailey

gavin johnstone reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.8 16v (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2005 - june 2009) and a Bailey Ranger 500/5 of (laden) 1244 kg.

The Vectra tows the bailey ok but looses power when confronted with climbing mediocre gradients which gets rather frustrating when you have change down to 3rd or 2nd gear to obtain more pull. Stability is fine however, hill starts can be a little tricky.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Compass

Joshua Kawalek reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Compass Corona 475 of (laden) 1249 kg.

The car is an awesome towcar. Drove from Derby to Padstow (300miles)with ease had to drop down to 5th on some of the more serious hills on the A30. The car returned 34.9MPG. There is no need for 4X4's as everyone towing with a 4X4 I overtook (mostly on hills)

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III GTS - 2.2 Dti aut. and Abbey

j d williams reviewed on a Opel Vectra III GTS - 2.2 Dti aut. (92 Kw/125 bhp year: august 2002 - august 2004) and a Abbey Vogue 520 of (laden) 1400 kg.

My Vectra towed my caravan very well i got 27.5mpg it has a Kenlowe auto gearbox oil cooler fitted as well as the original cooler which keeps the gearbox much cooler when towing, which you need as the original one is not sufficent in my view, i hope this information helps anybody out there.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Bailey

I M reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Bailey Pageant Auvergne of (laden) 1385 kg.

I tow with an 06 Vectra Sri 150. Performance is more than enough if you use the gears right. This model on the 06 plate's unladen weight (1455KG) is lower than the earlier SRI CDTI 150 models(1525KG). Towing at approx. 62 mph is ideal for allowing the engine to pull quite happily in 6th on flat and small inclines. Fuel consumption is excellent returning about 32 / gal and I would recommend the car to anyone who wants a good affordable family towcar.low car tax and excellent fuel economy, towing and solo.no need for the 4x4.!

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 3.0 V6 CDTI and Swift

Dave Sangwine reviewed on a Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 3.0 V6 CDTI (130 Kw/177 bhp year: october 2003 - august 2005) and a Swift Challenger 530 of (laden) 1545 kg.

The 3 litre diesel Vectra pulls the caravan really well. There is no performance drop when coming up motorway inclines and it'll pull away on a hill start, no problem. Because the Vectra is front-wheel drive, starting an incline on wet grass is a non-starter, however. But all in all, I'm very satisfied.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Bailey

Chris Bennett reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Champagne of (laden) 1362 kg.

Towing the Bailey Pagent Champagne with my Vectra 1.9 cdti is a breeze,fuel economy is good too,it pulls well on the flat in 6th gear,using the gearbox properly there is no problem towing anywhere.Would recommend the Vectra as a tug any day with this combination.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.8 16v and Bailey

Anthony Stanley reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.8 16v (103 Kw/140 bhp year: november 2005 - june 2009) and a Bailey Ranger 510/4 of (laden) 1223 kg.

My 1.8 Vectra easily pulls my Bailey Ranger on most roads but on inclines I have to drop down to third but still pulls OK and on hill starts have not experienced any problems moving off.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 2.2 DGi aut. and Eriba

Andrew Musgrave reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 2.2 DGi aut. (114 Kw/155 bhp year: january 2004 - june 2009) and a Eriba Touring Troll 540 GT of (laden) 1120 kg.

On municipal weighbridge caravan weighed 1100kg loaded and car 1475kg empty with half tank of fuel. Outfit is very stable when towing. Good performance, easy to maintain 110 kph, easy to keep up with traffic. No need to fit extension mirrors due to relative widths.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 2.2 Dti aut. and Coachman

Andy Watts reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 2.2 Dti aut. (92 Kw/125 bhp year: may 2002 - august 2004) and a Coachman Amara 520/4 of (laden) 1490 kg.

BEST Tow car I have ever had ( excluding 4x4)
Good solid handling and stable tow.
Auto box copes admirably and does a lot in 5th gear- providing you are sensible with your right foot.(use cruise)

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Bailey

Andrew Lovatt reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Monarch of (laden) 1239 kg.

I tow a 2007 Bailey Pageant Monarch (MTPLM 1239Kg) with an 06 Vectra Sri 150. Performance is more than enough even up long, steep highland hills if you use tghe gears right. Towing at approx. 62 mph on the clock (which seems to be a genuine 60 mph) is ideal for allowing the engine to pull quite happily in 6th on flat and small inclines. Fuel consumption is excellent and I would recommend the car to anyone who wants seriously capable towcar.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra - 1.8 16v and Caravan

Sibbee reviewed on a Opel Vectra - 1.8 16v (85 Kw/116 bhp year: november 1995 - september 2000) and a Caravan of (laden) 1150 kg.

We have towed this Avondale/Mayfly 1999 with our 2000 Vectra B for 7 years without any problems. We have travelled as far as the south of France and average approx 28-30mpgwhile towing.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Abbey

Shaun Carr reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Abbey Aventura 330 of (laden) 1423 kg.

I tow a 2004 Abbey Aventura 330 with my Vectra CDTi SRi 150 bhp and have encountered no problems. Car pulls very well, no issues with over heating. Good economy even though my car has a tuning chip giving around 185 bhp. Great combination!!

More details >>>


Opel Vectra - 1.8 16v and Caravan

peachy66 reviewed on a Opel Vectra - 1.8 16v (85 Kw/116 bhp year: november 1995 - september 2000) and a Caravan of (laden) 1000 kg.

towing caravan ok but struggle on inclines had engine management system re-mapped 200 pushed car to 140bhp towing is no longer a problem

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 1.9 CDTi and Sterling

watson Beveridge reviewed on a Opel Vectra III Stationwagon - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Sterling Eccles SE Moonstone of (laden) 1545 kg.

The vectra /moonstone is a perfect match .Even with the Vectra fully laden it pulls with little effort.Touring the north of Scotland this summer I averaged 39 MPG.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Lunar

Adam Bond reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Lunar Quasar 524 of (laden) 1220 kg.

Towing with 2006 Vectra Hatchback Exlusiv. 1.9cdti 150bhp version coupled to a 2006 Lunar 524. I find this outfit to tow very well, I load very little in the van when towing, prefering to put the weight in the car instead. These cars are fairly high geared especially the 6th gear so it never really gets used, but in all other gears it pulls very well and is still quite frugal on diesel. I would probably have liked the vectra's weight to have been a little more with this van, but with sensible loading it always feels stable with little effect if any from passing vehicles etc. No problems whatsoever when towing.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Sterling

John saunders reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Sterling Eccles Amethyst of (laden) 1436 kg.

My 2006 Vauxhall Vectra Elite 150 psi diesel pulls the Sterling fine but it is not happy with 6th gear, biggest issue is when in very slow traffic the clutch starts to get hot and when the traffic starts to move again we get what appears to be clutch slip before the car settles down. but apart from this we are vey happy with the performance.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 2.2 DGi and Fleetwood

mr l dunn reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 2.2 DGi (114 Kw/155 bhp year: january 2004 - july 2005) and a Fleetwood Sonata Rhapsody of (laden) 1375 kg.

hi i find my vectra perfect for towing my fleetwood sonata
1400kg i also carry a generator food and 2small dogs
plus me and my wife in my car (estate) 2.2dti i average
27mpg diesel i do about 10 rallies a year now we are retired and belong to the retired caravanners club

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 2.0 Dti [w.r.] and Sprite

Dave reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 2.0 Dti [w.r.] (74 Kw/101 bhp year: may 2002 - august 2004) and a Sprite Alpine 2 of (laden) 1159 kg.

Use of gear box more frequent when towing. Perfectly capable for this size of caravan.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 2.2 Dti and Caravan

David Titchmarsh reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 2.2 Dti (92 Kw/125 bhp year: may 2002 - august 2004) and a Caravan of (laden) 1200 kg.

I have had my 82 model Fleetwood Sonata Serenade for 3 years and have found it a dream to tow with my 2.2Dti Vauxhall Vectra. Having just returned from 3 weeks touring the North and West coast of Scotland on single track and extremely hilly roads, I am even more impressed with my cars perpormance. In excess of 30mpg over the 3 weeks is excellent I think. My max speed is always 60mph where safe to do so.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Bailey

Ted Grantham reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Bailey Senator Arizona of (laden) 1456 kg.

Just had my first year towing Bailey Senator Arizona with Vectra SRI 150 BHP Diesel. It struggled on the motorway in 6th gear and engine overheated on steep hills. Changing it for a bigger and better tow car. The car is great - but not for towing my caravan!

More details >>>


Opel Vectra - 2.0 Dti 16v and Abbey

Eddy Adam reviewed on a Opel Vectra - 2.0 Dti 16v (74 Kw/101 bhp year: october 1997 - may 2002) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 215 of (laden) 1279 kg.

Good smooth motorway driving assuming you can keep at 60mph in 5th gear, any changes in incline affects speed quickly. Good overtaking when you drop to third gear. Fuel economy on long journeys is approx 36 miles per gallon. Good pulling power in first gear when pulling out at junctions. Do not overload caravan, put heavy weight items in car boot if possible.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III GTS - 2.2 Dti [w.r.] and Bailey

R Mason reviewed on a Opel Vectra III GTS - 2.2 Dti [w.r.] (92 Kw/125 bhp year: august 2002 - august 2004) and a Bailey Pageant Moselle of (laden) 1287 kg.

Vauxhall Vectra C 2.2 dti elegance, fantastic towcar plenty of low down grunt for when you need it. Very stable on B, A class roads and a dream on motor way. Normal buffeting from HGV and slight decrease in power on steep inclines but use the gearbox correctly and you won't notice it at all. Solo 44+ mpg towing 32+ mpg well pleased very comfortable, wlfe could not get comfortable in previous mondeo seats but not a word out of her in the vectra, good load space easy to get your load in and out.

More details >>>


Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi and Standaard Caravan

Pete Steers reviewed on a Opel Vectra III - 1.9 CDTi (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2009) and a Standaard Caravan of (laden) 1400 kg.

I have been towing for a number of years and tried different cars, however, I now have the Vauxhall Vectra SRI 150 BHP diesel - Kerb weight 1555 kg, towing 1400kg of Caravan MTLPM, she performs superbly, loads of guts uphill and on the straights no comparison with other cars such as the Ford Mondeos 138 BHP. The car has achieved overall whilst towing 32 MPG. As well as the performance whilst towing the whole outfit looks brilliant and makes heads turn. So don't bother with the 4+4s this outfit eats them all and very safely to boot.

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us