TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Peugeot 406 User Reviews

Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI and Elddis

Ian Pinfold reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI (66 Kw/90 bhp year: april 1999 - september 2004) and a Elddis Crusader Hurricane of (laden) 1408 kg.

General urban driving towing the Eldis Hurricane on the 406 (90bhp) is not too bad, although can be heavy with two weeks worth of holiday gear in. Runs ok on the motorway once rolling, but hills are a killer. Van is a bit heavy for this model.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 Break - 2.1 TD and Caravan

Phil butler reviewed on a Peugeot 406 Break - 2.1 TD (80 Kw/109 bhp year: december 1996 - may 1998) and a Caravan of (laden) 250 kg.

A old 406 on a R plate with 160 k on the clock, what can I say a fantastic tow car and very comfortable. Really pulls well and easy in top gear on motorway and duel carriageways. Was going to buy a newer car but this stills does the job. Highly recommend!

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI and Burstner

Ian Bosman reviewed on a Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Burstner Ventana 430 of (laden) 1200 kg.

So far, having towed the van from where I picked it up to home, a distance of 130 miles, it towed perfectly. The car has been used with a lighter van for several years and is by far the best tug we have had from several Pugs, diesel and petrol. The ability to tow in 5th at 60mph is a great advantage as we have managed up to 34 mpg, 50mpg solo.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI and Bailey

Darren Roughley reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Bailey Ranger 460 of (laden) 1139 kg.

My pug 406 HDI 110bhp Rapier is brill at towing my Ranger 460/4. The car has just clocked up 84k and still going strong. MPG is very good. Changed clutch & fly wheel at around 65k because of juddering when pulling off at cost of 350 for parts and it's been fine since.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI and Bailey

Nigel Hewer reviewed on a Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Bailey Olympus 504 of (laden) 1424 kg.

I own Peugeot 406 2.0HDI Estate and a Bailey Olympus 504. Although the ratio is 94% the car copes very well with caravan. Have taken the caravan to weighbridge and has weighed in at 1380kg which is lighter than the Manufacturers 1424KG.This is my 2nd 406 and is much better than the previous petrol estate.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI and Elddis

Brian reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Elddis Crusader Hurricane of (laden) 1050 kg.

Caravan is an elddis hurricane GTX ( not in the list ) just recently got a Peugeot 406 HDI 110 Rapier and what a tow car it is, I was amazed how well it performs after using a Ford diesel before , i'm getting around 35 mpg towing and over 55 mpg without towing, so very happy with my Peugeot it's the best tow car i've ever used :)

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI and Elddis

Johno reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Elddis Crusader Hurricane of (laden) 1200 kg.

It's the 1st time I've used a diesel car to pull a caravan and my 2003 406 HDI 110 is perfect , it has plenty of torque and goes up hills with no problem, in my opinion it's a great towing car :)

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI and Lunar

Richard Gibson reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Lunar Quasar 524 of (laden) 1300 kg.

(406 2.0 hdi 110 Auto) seems to handle the our Lunar Quasar 524 (1300kg gross weight) well enough all though it's the first automatic i've owned and used as a tow car, so can't make a comparison with any other makes/models. Power takes preference over speed when towing, and at times you would like a bit more "GRUNT" under the bonnet, none the less, still a very capable car.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI and Bailey

Nigel Hewer reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Champagne of (laden) 1362 kg.

Our 406 2.0 hdi estate copes very well with the Pageant champagne s6 model. We had a 406 2.0 petrol before and found this slightly slugish on motorways but certaintly had the power when you had to pull away quicker. The diesel Pugeot is a plodder and seems to go on and on and on. Very reliable. Hopefully going to change the caravan soon to a Olympus 504 but keep the same tow car.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI and Lunar

bobby reviewed on a Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Lunar Lexon 640 of (laden) 1475 kg.

i own peugeot 20-110bhp year 2000 caravan lunar lexon 640,97per-cent match tows no proplem average 30plus plulls up hill better than the three jeeps i have owned good on motor ways great on hills a1 car for towing you do need to up the rear suspension,happy towing

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI and Bailey

Ashley reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Bailey Ranger 550/6 of (laden) 1258 kg.

406 HDI 110 good general performance and steady 49mpg solo regardless of how hard I drive (185000 on the clock miles - nearly run in now), very reliable. Tows very easy from devon to new forest, A roads & motorways steady with 30plus mpg. Cheap motoring so please don't buy all the good second hand ones out there.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 16v [1997] and Caravan

StevieB reviewed on a Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 16v [1997] (99 Kw/135 bhp year: december 1996 - april 1999) and a Caravan 1000 kg of (laden) 1250 kg.

No major problems with my 2001 406 2.0 GLX setate, Certainly feel the drag of the van and have to use the gears a lot but unless you have V6 or better that will always be the case with a petrol engine. Towing an ABI Jubilee Herald GT

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 2.2 16v and Bailey

GED reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.2 16v (116 Kw/158 bhp year: may 2000 - september 2004) and a Bailey Senator Arizona of (laden) 1464 kg.

I HAVE NO PROBLEMS IT TOWS VERY GOOD I TOW WITH A PEUGEOT 2.2 SRI PETROL

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI and Lunar

Les reviewed on a Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Lunar Chateau 470 of (laden) 1280 kg.

Mine is an 02 406 auto 110 bhp saloon,towing Lunar lx 2000 525 (1300kg).No probs whatsoever, great on motorways especially with cruise control on.Average towing mpg is 30.Will poodle along all day......

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI and Coachman

COLIN FREDERICK GOODWIN reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI (66 Kw/90 bhp year: april 1999 - september 2004) and a Coachman Amara 380/2 of (laden) 1205 kg.

Have been towing Coachman Amara 1205 kg. Found it to be average performance and a lot of gear changes.off
of nice flat motorways where its possitble to cruise at 60
until an incline. Will be changing the car next year
possibly for a 307 with 135hp 2ltr HDI engine, My car
is an Estate with all the goodies and built in Sat Nav
and very roomy and comfortable but just lacks the power.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI and Elddis

Brian reviewed on a Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Elddis Avante Club 362 of (laden) 1129 kg.

Mine is an eight year old 110 saloon & the only reason I would trade it is for ANOTHER one. I am unable to fault its comfort, ride or towing ability. On the level at 60mph at under 2000 revs, 40mpg is easily obtained. The saloon is still an attractive car but maybe the estate is more practical for us 'caravanner's' !!

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI and Sterling

D Warren reviewed on a Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Sterling Europa 490 of (laden) 1383 kg.

this is a new match for me .but so far very pleased with the performance, am finding it an excellant tow car.Although it is only the 90 bhp model,it is still quite lively & economical

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI and Abbey

dave reviewed on a Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Abbey Aventura 318 of (laden) 1404 kg.

this is best tow car have been all over europe..car is a--110 bhp

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI and Bailey

Ash reviewed on a Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Bailey Ranger 550/6 of (laden) 1208 kg.

First time towing, found the peugeot 406 towed the Bailey Ranger 550/6 nice and smoothly, great economy with 40mpg usually get 50mpg unladen. 5th gear not great though, used 4th gear for less engine stress at rev range.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 2.2 HDI and Coachman

ernie stevens reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.2 HDI (100 Kw/136 bhp year: may 2002 - september 2004) and a Coachman VIP 460/2 of (laden) 1430 kg.

only towed the coachman once so far,performance is excellent from the high powered pug did about three hours total including some hill work,no problems,i didnt have an anti snake devise fitted as it was nicked out of our shed but the van never moved at all even with a few cross wind,having a citroen xantia before this which i thought was the bees nees for towing,the 406 is as good for stability and power is fantastic in any gear,would recomend to anyone go and get one if you can find one ,they are well sought after and low milage ones hard to get,fuel economy is good to if you keep the right foot as light as poss it will give a good return .all in all out of 10 i would give it 9.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 Break - 2.1 TD and Compass

Susan Jane Barber reviewed on a Peugeot 406 Break - 2.1 TD (80 Kw/109 bhp year: december 1996 - may 1998) and a Compass Rallye 482 of (laden) 1400 kg.

This outfit has traveled from John o Groats to Lands End and most places inbetween.We have travelled in all weather conditions winter and summer without a problem.The Peugeot is a great workhourse and I would be hard pressed to find a fault with it.I look forward to many more happy trips with this(Old Lady) of the road.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI and Bailey

ALF reviewed on a Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Bailey Ranger 470/4 of (laden) 1167 kg.

I had a landrover disco but this car has out performed it in every way have hand it for 8 years with no trouble in reliabilty good on fuel smooth and quiet ride great tow car

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI and Bailey

Paul reviewed on a Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Bailey Ranger 550/6 of (laden) 1258 kg.

Fantastic tow car. went to this car from a 4x4. No problem pulling a fairly large caravan.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 16v [1997] and Caravan

Grant reviewed on a Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 16v [1997] (99 Kw/135 bhp year: december 1996 - april 1999) and a Caravan of (laden) 1225 kg.

Easy comfortable drive, stacks of power, have to remeber there is a van there when pulling a smaller van (compass corona 475).

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI and Lunar

Mrs Smith reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Lunar Lexon 580 CS of (laden) 1410 kg.

We have a Peugeot 406=2.0 HDI 110 BHP and we tow our Lunar Lexon CS 2004 model very well indeed with this car.
We do not have any problems what so every with the outfit or the car and we tow in 5th gear most of the way to Cornwall on the M5.

The car and caravan are well suited for a very comfortable ride and tow.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI and Compass

John reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Compass Rallye 540 of (laden) 1312 kg.

This car makes a great towcar and in 20 years of towing it has been my best towcar. It performs well on hills and can pull the Compass at 60mph all day without a problem.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI and Compass

John reviewed on a Peugeot 406 Break - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Compass Rallye 540 of (laden) 1312 kg.

The Peugeot makes a great towcar in 20 years of towing it is the best towcar I have owned. It has no problem towing my compass even on steep hills. Would reccomend to anyone.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 2.0 16v and Bailey

Steve reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.0 16v (99 Kw/135 bhp year: september 1996 - september 2004) and a Bailey Ranger 550/6 of (laden) 1258 kg.

I have been towing for the past 12 months with a 406 saloon with no problems. The motorway performance is excellent.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI and Caravan

paul reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI (66 Kw/90 bhp year: april 1999 - september 2004) and a Caravan 1250 kg of (laden) 1500 kg.

acceleration is not bad found it better than your figures fuel consumption was about 28 to 32 to gallon on normal road conditions steep roads you do have to accelerate hard but once rolling not bad as an outfit

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 1.9 DT and Lunar

russell reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 1.9 DT (55 Kw/75 bhp year: december 1996 - october 1998) and a Lunar Clubman 470-2 of (laden) 1310 kg.

we went to lands end with this outfit and no trouble at all apart for very quick de-celleration when going up hills.
that was also with nothing in the caravan.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI and Sterling

Edmund howard reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Sterling Europa 460 of (laden) 1295 kg.

I was actually towing a sprite 450EB. I was driving up to " Callow Top " just outside Ashbourne when I found my front wheels starting to spin. I admit the surface was greasy but what happenrd next was mindblowing.Smoke started to come from the tyres ,we slowed to a halt and the van was starting to pull us backwards.We had often noticed that the wheels lacked traction on hills, which concerned us, but his was "Bye bye Pergeot "

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI and Caravan

Roy Dick reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Caravan of (laden) 1175 kg.

Excellent towcar. Towed our Avondale "Kestrel" with "forget it is there" ease. We have changed to a Swift
Archway Denford at 1207 MTPLM and it just as easy.
returns 55mpg solo over 200+miles on motorways and around 35mpg towing. If we drive at a steady 50-55mph, it returns the makers claim of 63mpg. We have had the car for 7 years and apart from a replacement faulty clutch (Peugeot said there was nothing wrong with it, but then they would!) and normal wear and tear (tyres etc.), we have had no problems whatsoever.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 Break - 2.1 TD and Caravan

ansome reviewed on a Peugeot 406 Break - 2.1 TD (80 Kw/109 bhp year: december 1996 - may 1998) and a Caravan of (laden) 1225 kg.

Well ansome motor 406 GLX 1998 DT 2.1 ave got a Lunar Solar 524 GTS 1200 KGS fully loaded tow`s like a dream towed last year with a 406 1.8 petrol saloon great car but hard work ,once again payed 800 quid for it 103000 clicks great tug .Happy caravaning.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI and Abbey

Robert Benson reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Abbey Aventura 315 of (laden) 1223 kg.

I have been towing caravans since 1970 and have had numerous towcars, the 406 110HP is by far the best and is constantly returning 30 MPG towing my Abbey caravan. Reliability is second to none the engine is bullet proof and would recommend it to anyone.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 2.0 16v and Avondale

L. Tinson reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.0 16v (99 Kw/135 bhp year: september 1996 - september 2004) and a Avondale Dart 556-6 of (laden) 1275 kg.

Have been towing the Dart 556/6 for over 5000 miles now with my 406 Estate and had no problems with it.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI and Fleetwood

dot1034 reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.0 HDI (80 Kw/109 bhp year: october 1998 - september 2004) and a Fleetwood Sonata Melody of (laden) 1360 kg.


my peugeot 406 2.0hdi tows verry well i have had no problems
and pretty good mileage

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 - 2.0 16v and Knaus

J. Lundberg reviewed on a Peugeot 406 - 2.0 16v (99 Kw/135 bhp year: september 1996 - september 2004) and a Knaus Sport 450 FS of (laden) 1225 kg.

Have only used it on flat road, and it runs pretty good.

More details >>>


Peugeot 406 Break - 2.1 TD and Bailey

Roy Wyre reviewed on a Peugeot 406 Break - 2.1 TD (80 Kw/109 bhp year: december 1996 - may 1998) and a Bailey Pageant Moselle of (laden) 1287 kg.

The 406 in question is a 2.1 TD Estate 1997 on an R plate. She has 140,000 miles under her belt and can still return almost 40m.p.g. solo if driven as to not bring in the turbo.
The Moselle is a 99 model with standard equipment + microwave, porch awning, barbecue, T.V.,DVD etc. This current caravan was purchased new and has covered 16,500 miles attached to the car, and although the unit has never left the shores of mainland U.K. (Other than O.O.Wight) the unit has been to most areas of the Kingdom.
I can only praise the handling and general stability of the two units together and can honestly say motorway speed limits can be maintained and causing grief to other road users due to any lack of power has been mainly avoided.
The only unfortunate result of vehicle progress is that cars are getting lighter and caravans are getting heavier.
Our latest purchase of an Abbey 417 GTS has forced me into the purchase of a Nissan X-Trail. Lovely unit which I will review at a later date. But the Peugeot 406 remains in the family and has been and still is a fantastic work horse.

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us