TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Renault Scenic User Reviews

Renault Scenic II - 1.9 dCi and Sprite

Gazz reviewed on a Renault Scenic II - 1.9 dCi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: september 2003 - january 2006) and a Sprite Alpine 2 of (laden) 1179 kg.

My second review on this car , great towing our 1200 kg swift ambassador after going to Sandringham at Easter , then south coast during summer proved just how good this car is , stable , comfortable & with plenty of power when needed in any road situation , I just love it😊

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic III - 1.5 dCi [EDC] and Bailey

Andrew Crichton reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic III - 1.5 dCi [EDC] (81 Kw/110 bhp year: may 2010 - 2016) and a Bailey Ranger 500 of (laden) 1261 kg.

Information on Towcar amazingly accurate in real world. Drove first time from Newport S,Wales to Newquay Cornwall. Lowest gear on M way was 4th still 58 Mph around 3000 RPM mostly in sixth. Third needed on A30 twice but speed was knocked by other vehicles still towing at 50 MPH. Average 30MPG Motorway 28.9 MPG according to trip computer for whole trip reset at start. I was concerned with it on ly being a 1.5 DCI but amazingly competent (Don't forget Mercedes use this engine or a variant of it. Caravan was loaded with two adults one 9 year old plus bikes. Caravan all weight for two weeks, clothes toys bodyboard TV etc etc. Hopefully caravan below 1295 car below 1800KG laden giving a GTW below max of 3264 KG. Imagine 1,6DCI would be even better!! In addition seemed stable with little sway Winterhoff hitch. Car is comfortable and flexible blinds on windows built in Sat Nav. Keyless etc. Never thought I would like one but used price and low mileage swung it and I am surprisingly pleased chck used prices and low milers.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic III - 1.5 dCi [FAP] and Bailey

stuart shepherd reviewed on a Renault Scenic III - 1.5 dCi [FAP] (81 Kw/110 bhp year: june 2009 - 2016) and a Bailey Ranger 550/6 of (laden) 1258 kg.

great web site ,because of this I bought the right caravan

More details >>>


Renault Scenic II - 1.9 dCi and Sprite

Gazz reviewed on a Renault Scenic II - 1.9 dCi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: september 2003 - january 2006) and a Sprite Alpine 2 of (laden) 1200 kg.

Great little car on a 54 plate 1.9dci 118bhp , pulls well thru all the gears but use 4 & 5 mainly for towing seems to be very good on fuel too.
We tow a 1200 kg swift ace ambassador now ,used to have a rover 75 1.8 cc
Petrol but this beats it hands down , only been local with this car up till now
Longer journey to Norfolk in April will just see how comfortable it is

More details >>>


Renault Scenic lll - 2.0 aut. [CVT] and Lunar

Andy Baldwin reviewed on a Renault Scenic lll - 2.0 aut. [CVT] (103 Kw/140 bhp year: june 2009 - 2016) and a Lunar Quasar 544 of (laden) 1269 kg.

It is easy to forget that you are towing. Over the Derbyshire moors is a complete doddle. Brakes easily and from start no problems. At moment doing average 24mpg through towns and country. Very please with the car so far. Would recommend.

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic III - 1.9 dCi and Bailey

Kevin Bond reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic III - 1.9 dCi (96 Kw/131 bhp year: april 2009 - 2016) and a Bailey Ranger 520/4 of (laden) 1260 kg.

Have been towing the Ranger 520/4 with my 2010 Grand Scenic 1.9dCi for a couple of years now, all over the UK and twice on long trips in France. Despite being right on the limit of what the handbook says the car will tow, I've had no problems, including 500 mile days across France at 65 all day. Average mph around 25 (low 40's solo). This is with 4 on board the car, plus everything needed for 3 weeks away. I think I used 4th gear a couple of times on the longest/steepest stretches, but speed never fell below 50. As long as you stay within the limits of the car and don't overdo the speed, it's a great match. What's puzzling is why Renault set the 1300kg limit? Other MPV's and estates that weigh about the same and have similar power can usually tow a few hundred kg's more.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic III - 1.6 dCi Energy and Sprite

Gerry reviewed on a Renault Scenic III - 1.6 dCi Energy (96 Kw/131 bhp year: may 2011 - 2016) and a Sprite Musketeer TD of (laden) 1270 kg.

This Grand Scenic is a very good performer. No problems on motorways or general roods. Good at pulling and economy about 32 mpg when towing caravan. Overall I am well please with the car and carries all of the heavy load in the car with no problems. If required, the rear seats can be removed for more room or weight capacity.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic III - 2.0 dCi [FAP] and Bailey

M. Chant reviewed on a Renault Scenic III - 2.0 dCi [FAP] (118 Kw/160 bhp year: june 2009 - 2016) and a Bailey Ranger GT60 460/2 of (laden) 1177 kg.

I have had this combination for a while and cannot fault the cars ablity to pull this ranger with ease,
We've towed all over Europe, without any problems, a great pairing.

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic III - 2.0 dCi and Bailey

mick berry reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic III - 2.0 dCi (118 Kw/160 bhp year: april 2009 - 2016) and a Bailey Ranger 460/2 of (laden) 1131 kg.

Have towed caravans for 40 years now. Have had this outfit for nearly three years. Have towed this outfit to Scotland, Switzerland and the South of France 4/5 times now. Very stable unit. Diesel engine pulls like a tank, takes most motorway inclines in sixth gear. Cruises at legal limit all day. Renault Grand Scenic 1.9tdi 42MPG solo,31/2 mixed driving but only 24/25 towing. Rear suspension takes ball hitch weight without any noticeable drop in ground clearance.Brakes and stability excellent at all speeds.
12N electrics complicated to wire up as car light are impulse type.
Would reccomend

More details >>>


Renault Scenic Fase II - 1.5 dCi and Caravan

juanma reviewed on a Renault Scenic Fase II - 1.5 dCi (78 Kw/106 bhp year: september 2006 - june 2009) and a Caravan 750 kg of (laden) 1100 kg.

Pues como mi Hergo impala 420 no aparece en la lista lo he puesto un poco a ojo. Calculo que mi caravana pesará con todo dentro en torno a los 1.100 kgs y el coche con la carga unos 1.665. He salido varias veces y salvo las cuestas arriba el conjunto va bien. Imagino que las cuestas arriba se nos atragantan a todos. Le pongo el regulador y la 5ª (o 6ª si es llano) y a recorrer kilómetros. Y si la carretera se empina, 4ª y con regulador, porque con el acelerador normal se queda...

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic III - 1.6 dCi Energy and Sprite

John reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic III - 1.6 dCi Energy (96 Kw/131 bhp year: may 2011 - 2016) and a Sprite Musketeer EB of (laden) 1252 kg.

We've had this car for a few months now and are very impressed with it's performance towing our Sprite Musketeer EB 2010. I has a 2.0 tdi passat previous and thought it would be a big step down. In fact the car pulls away from junctions much better and and can use 6th gear unless on inclines.

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic III - 1.9 dCi and Bailey

Mick Berry reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic III - 1.9 dCi (96 Kw/131 bhp year: april 2009 - 2016) and a Bailey Ranger 460/2 of (laden) 1131 kg.

Towed my caravan and all its bits 3000 miles down through France and the Midi Pyrenes, excellent tow car. Stable on all types of roads/motorways.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic - 1.9 dCi and Bailey

DJ Hammond reviewed on a Renault Scenic - 1.9 dCi (75 Kw/102 bhp year: april 2000 - september 2003) and a Bailey Ranger 470/4 of (laden) 1167 kg.

I have a Bailey Ranger470/4 year 2005. I tow it with a Renauly Megan'e Scenic 1.9 Diesel, You Know when you are on a Hill, but otherwise tows fine I have even had it at 70 mph on the Motorway! " I Know its not allowed but you have to try these things" Any way even at 70 mph ot did not even twitch, you would'nt have knpwn it was on the back of the car, I am well impressed.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic Fase II - 1.5 dCi and Elddis

Roger Williams reviewed on a Renault Scenic Fase II - 1.5 dCi (78 Kw/106 bhp year: september 2006 - june 2009) and a Elddis Xplore 302 of (laden) 950 kg.

Small is beautiful. We have chosen an economical Scenic since it is driven solo for 90% of the year, and this dictated the size of the caravan to give an enjoyable driving experience - after all, the journey is part of the holiday! A useful guide is to be above 40 BHP/tonne of train weight. The Scenic 1.5dci and Xplore 302 gives 42, which is reflected in the performance and fuel economy of 33 mpg. This combination will go anywhere and being able to park in town car parks is another advantage. The Xplore 302 is remarkably roomy.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic II - 1.9 dCi and Lunar

David reviewed on a Renault Scenic II - 1.9 dCi (96 Kw/131 bhp year: may 2006 - september 2006) and a Lunar Quasar 525 of (laden) 1395 kg.

Excellent website! Bears out my limited experience of towing with this car. Nearly thirty years of experience towing caravans I was concerned that this time the caravan might "wag the dog" but the outfit is very stable and has adequate power. Off to Switzerland soon so that should be a real test!

More details >>>


Renault Scenic - 1.9 dCi and Bailey

John reviewed on a Renault Scenic - 1.9 dCi (75 Kw/102 bhp year: april 2000 - september 2003) and a Bailey Ranger 500/5 of (laden) 1244 kg.

we are first time towers,and we got our Renault Scenic 1.9 dci turbo before the Bailey ranger 500/5, and we did not know about your web site,Fortunetly we dont go very far with the van,within 40 miles of where we keep it,and it copes ok,but i wouldn't like to travel to far as i think it would struggle a little.

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic Fase II - 2.0 16v aut. [7-seats] and Sprite

Carl Wood reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic Fase II - 2.0 16v aut. [7-seats] (99 Kw/135 bhp year: september 2006 - april 2009) and a Sprite Musketeer TD of (laden) 1252 kg.

I have towed this caravan up hills down hills and at 60mph with no probem. I was shocked to hear I can't tow my caravan any more because I thought I could tow 85% of my car weight. If I was towing it on my own and with no "holiday stuff" in the caavan then I would be okay.... Maybe I need a new car (as the caavan is a 2009 model) or send the family on the train to meet me there....................

More details >>>


Renault Scenic Fase II - 1.6 16v aut. and Swift

Andrew Baldwin reviewed on a Renault Scenic Fase II - 1.6 16v aut. (82 Kw/112 bhp year: september 2006 - june 2009) and a Swift Charisma 535 of (laden) 1277 kg.

Expect 25- 31 mpg at steady 55. Tows easily and even been tested on hill start. Have to build speed on long inclines. Never had problem so far. Recommended.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic Fase II - 1.5 dCi and Standaard Caravan

Ian McArthur reviewed on a Renault Scenic Fase II - 1.5 dCi (63 Kw/86 bhp year: september 2006 - june 2009) and a Standaard Caravan of (laden) 1300 kg.

Car 2008 1.5Dci DynamiqueS, caravan swift jura 1185Kg.
previously towed with 1.9Dci Maxim and was not too sure about smaller engine. No problems at all with the 1.5. Third season with the car, towed last year and this in extreme North of Scotland. Very pleased with performance, don't really notice difference from 1.9.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic Fase II - 1.5 dCi and Lunar

Momist reviewed on a Renault Scenic Fase II - 1.5 dCi (78 Kw/106 bhp year: september 2006 - june 2009) and a Lunar Ariva of (laden) 980 kg.

Very much impressed by the towing performance of this combination. In particular, I'm getting up to 36 mpg, provided I keep my towing speed within the speed limit (60mph on Motorway) and don't try to keep this up in adverse conditions or up hills. Trying to maintain 66 mph will kill the fuel economy though - to much less than 30mpg. Very stable, and with smooth acceleration.

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic Fase II - 1.9 dCi [7-seats] and Bailey

Pfrench reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic Fase II - 1.9 dCi [7-seats] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: september 2006 - april 2009) and a Bailey Pageant Moselle of (laden) 1275 kg.

great match seems more stable than when towing my bailey 470/4 . Just been to cornwall long trek from birmingham but the scenic was brilliant lowest gear on hills was third . on motorway inclines it flew past other tourers due to chipping it to 160 bhp with no change in fuel economy manage 33mpg on the way back who sez scenics are naf towers

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic III - 2.0 dCi aut. and Lunar

Durnin Hancock reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic III - 2.0 dCi aut. (110 Kw/150 bhp year: april 2009 - 2016) and a Lunar Stellar of (laden) 1175 kg.

Wow! It was so easy to do and the results are magnificent!

More details >>>


Renault Scenic - 1.9 dCi and Swift

Dunc reviewed on a Renault Scenic - 1.9 dCi (75 Kw/102 bhp year: april 2000 - september 2003) and a Swift Challenger 480 of (laden) 1366 kg.

Just bought our first van - Swift Challenger 480 and about to buy our friends scenic 1.9 dci to drag it with. Compatability from her dosent look too good, but you know how it is.. Somethings are subjective. Anyway, the renault is up for a really good price so we need to go for it. I'll happily report how we get on, and whether or not i use it as justificaion for buying what i really, really want... A Touareg 2.5Tdi.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic RX4 - 1.9 dCi and Caravan

j buthcher reviewed on a Renault Scenic RX4 - 1.9 dCi (75 Kw/102 bhp year: september 2000 - january 2003) and a Caravan 1000 kg of (laden) 1250 kg.

would agree with some of the above. i also got around 28mpg towing. and as my van was only 1100 kg the supension was great. hardly knew it was there.
but i had to drop down from top gear more then i expected. overall ok but as the previous poster said an extra bit of hp would not go a miss.
on the plus side there is 4 wheel drive loads of storage space and exellent driver position.

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic II - 1.9 dCi and Swift

Kevin reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic II - 1.9 dCi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: april 2004 - january 2006) and a Swift Charisma 540 of (laden) 1463 kg.

i have used the scenic for 3 years now to to a swift charisma 540. i have found no fault with it it moves along nicely. 3 summers touring france and beside the slight worry of the weight ratio i had no problems very comfortable with plenty of power.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic II - 1.9 dCi and Gypsey

Glen Griffin reviewed on a Renault Scenic II - 1.9 dCi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: september 2003 - january 2006) and a Gypsey Romany of (laden) 1125 kg.

Great tow car once moving. Need to "ride the clutch" when pulling off on hills. Great ground clearance and pulls well. Fuel consumption is under 10l per 100 km/h. Little light on the steering being front wheel drive. I tow mainly in 5 gear at 110km/h.

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic Fase II - 1.9 dCi [7-seats] and Bailey

jim alexander reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic Fase II - 1.9 dCi [7-seats] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: september 2006 - april 2009) and a Bailey Ranger 460/4 of (laden) 1172 kg.

This is an excellent match, the 1.9 diesel pulls very well and braking performance is very good , Very stable rig with an ALKO stabilizer fitted, The headrests restrict view of caravan , however with good towing mirrors no problems. good acceleration and easy cruising.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic II - 1.6 16v and Elddis

neil reviewed on a Renault Scenic II - 1.6 16v (83 Kw/113 bhp year: september 2003 - january 2006) and a Elddis Avante 475 of (laden) 1225 kg.

senic pulls well in 4th can sometimes make 5th on flat but any incline you know about it

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic II - 2.0 16v aut. and Caravan

dave reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic II - 2.0 16v aut. (99 Kw/135 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2006) and a Caravan of (laden) 1125 kg.

no problem towing first time towing a caravan but good
car to tow with

More details >>>


Renault Scenic II - 1.5 dCi and Abbey

Chris Hiett reviewed on a Renault Scenic II - 1.5 dCi (78 Kw/106 bhp year: june 2005 - september 2006) and a Abbey Vogue 460 of (laden) 1295 kg.

Used my Renault scenic 1.5dci for two years towning our Abbey Vogue around the UK.
Always found it has enough power.
Only downside has been some loss of traction on steep hills in the wet when starting off.
Be interested to hear what other people have thought.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic Fase II - 2.0 16v aut. and Bailey

steve reviewed on a Renault Scenic Fase II - 2.0 16v aut. (99 Kw/135 bhp year: september 2006 - june 2009) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Monarch of (laden) 1239 kg.

Perfect match the 4 speed gearbox is just great.

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic II - 1.9 dCi and Bailey

Paul reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic II - 1.9 dCi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: april 2004 - january 2006) and a Bailey Ranger 500/5 of (laden) 1244 kg.

The Renault gets a bad press as a tow car, but I've found out Grand Scenic excellent with a 2007 Bailey Ranger 500/5. Stability is better than expected and the ride performs with little effort. Slight gradients require a drop to 5th and generally I've found the Scenic comfortable no lower than 4th on a good incline (rarely had to drop to 3rd).
As with any towcar combination, pay specific attention to weight distribution in the van as this is the only area that hinders the Scenic. If you can, swap some kit to the Scenic (awning etc) to loose some van payload weight.
All in all, a good towcar for the family.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic - 1.9 dCi and Swift

Rhydian Davies reviewed on a Renault Scenic - 1.9 dCi (75 Kw/102 bhp year: april 2000 - september 2003) and a Swift Challenger 490 of (laden) 1550 kg.

We've just signed up to buy one of these Renault Scenics and it's not looking good towwing wize looking at these reviews. Especially as ours is the TOTR version with a lot more weight!

More details >>>


Renault Scenic - 1.9 dCi and Lunar

jrcg reviewed on a Renault Scenic - 1.9 dCi (75 Kw/102 bhp year: april 2000 - september 2003) and a Lunar Chateau 450 of (laden) 1220 kg.

The smell of Renault clutch smoke when trying to pitch is rather discusting! Otherwise pulls and handles reasonably well, with care.
Now looking for xtrail,CRV or similar 4x4 tow car.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic II - 1.9 dCi and Abbey

michael Sanders reviewed on a Renault Scenic II - 1.9 dCi (88 Kw/120 bhp year: september 2003 - january 2006) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 215 of (laden) 1319 kg.

good motor tows well, plenty of power, bit soft could do with harder suspension at the back, mpg 35 aprox may do better on a motorway wee shall see

More details >>>


Renault Scenic Fase II - 1.5 dCi and Eriba

Fernando Pérez reviewed on a Renault Scenic Fase II - 1.5 dCi (78 Kw/106 bhp year: september 2006 - june 2009) and a Eriba Touring Troll 530 GT of (laden) 1080 kg.

Remolco una eriba touring, con renault scenic dci 105cv. y sin ningun problema, tira perfectamente, con regulador en 5ª velocidad y aveces en 6ª si la carreter es adecuada y el viento tambie, no se notan movimientos cuando me adelantan, velocidad habitual, 98km/H, estabilizador alko 3004. no entiendo por qué da valores diferentes esta pagina, cuando pongo mi vehiculo solo, y cuando pido valoración de 2 vehiculos.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic - 1.6 16v and Caravan

michael.graham reviewed on a Renault Scenic - 1.6 16v (79 Kw/107 bhp year: september 1999 - september 2003) and a Caravan of (laden) 1075 kg.

we have an avondale wren 1992 which we tow with our renault scenic 1600 (2000 reg).It was returning me on a run going by the onboard computer approx 36-42 mpg which i didnt think was bad considering its done over 96000 miles.the caravan weighs in at 1060kg.As there is only me my wife and two dogs i think i shall stick with it until we need to change it,it does what we want and more.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic - 1.9 dCi and Bailey

Claire reviewed on a Renault Scenic - 1.9 dCi (75 Kw/102 bhp year: april 2000 - september 2003) and a Bailey Ranger 540/6 of (laden) 1260 kg.

Surprisingly, there are very few caravans that can be towed by the Renault Scenic, they have notoriously low kerbweights. We managed 'ok' with this car providing we were on mostly flat roads - but it doesn't cope well with hills at all and should you stop half way up, you will find it difficult to get going again (without a lot of smoke and clutch burning!). Really disappointed with it as a tow car - but we didn't buy it with the intention of towing a caravan - that came later. We have now purchased a VW Touran 2.0 Sport and THAT is a fabulous family tow car!

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic II - 2.0 16v aut. and Caravan

fred reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic II - 2.0 16v aut. (99 Kw/135 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2006) and a Caravan of (laden) 1550 kg.

use a caravan thats over slightly, but 2004 auto 2,lt pulls well and had no problems recently on very hilly roads one in 5! son would recomend without any hassle, consumtion 26mpg ave tow and 38 no tow.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic Fase II - 1.9 dCi and Standaard Caravan

P french reviewed on a Renault Scenic Fase II - 1.9 dCi (96 Kw/131 bhp year: september 2006 - june 2009) and a Standaard Caravan of (laden) 1250 kg.

i tow a 1999 bailey 470/4 and i find my grand scenic 1.9 dci is more than capable of towing this unit and prehaps also close to its max tow limit it i effortless on the motorway and down changes are minimal lowest gear i have had to use is fourth on inclines and third on the steepest

More details >>>


Renault Scenic RX4 - 1.9 dCi and Lunar

Ian reviewed on a Renault Scenic RX4 - 1.9 dCi (75 Kw/102 bhp year: september 2000 - january 2003) and a Lunar Zenith 6 of (laden) 1260 kg.

I find the RX4 1.9 Dci a capable tow car but I have had mine chip tuned so instead if the standard 102 bhp mine has another 25 bhp, as long as you dont try and exceed the max towing weight of 1300 all is well, nose weight is poor though only 65kg so you have to load the caravan well / carefully but on a run towing avarage MPG is around 30 same as around town solo on a run its in the mid 40's.

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic II - 2.0 16v aut. and Bailey

Pete Lewis reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic II - 2.0 16v aut. (99 Kw/135 bhp year: april 2004 - september 2006) and a Bailey Pageant Moselle of (laden) 1287 kg.

The renault is great on space and comfort but wouldn't pull the skin off a rice pudding. I got the car because I had a big tent, then decided to buy a caravan. At the time there was no diesel auto option which I think would have been Ok. On any gradient of note it drops to 2nd gear and screams at 4/5000 rpm. DONT get the petrol auto to tow with.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic - 1.4 16v and Caravan

S. Anderson reviewed on a Renault Scenic - 1.4 16v (72 Kw/98 bhp year: september 1999 - september 2003) and a Caravan of (laden) 975 kg.

I am pulling a Compass Shadow with a weight of 630kgs. My car is a Renault Scenic Megan 1.4cc. I dont have any problems with stability at all but use a stabaliser. The unit stays quite firm and level when hooked up and loaded. On a straight flat road I can do 60mph ok and acheive aprox 36mpg. When I am going up and down hills that can drop to 30mpg. EXample....Durham to York down A19 I get 36...38mpg. From Durham to Blackpool over moors then M6 I was down to 31mpg. The A19 being quite flat makes all the difference. The car runs at a constant temp but is not really responsive to the throttle for overtaking. I do have a flat spot at about 45 mph so will get that sorted. Overall I would say that even at the weight of the Shadow you still need at least a 1600 engine to give yourself a bit of leaway. Make it a deisel also.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic - 1.4 16v and Caravan

paul reviewed on a Renault Scenic - 1.4 16v (72 Kw/98 bhp year: september 1999 - september 2003) and a Caravan of (laden) 1025 kg.

my renault scenic 1.4 may be small on engine size but i have no problems towing a swift caravan weighing 950 kg.it lacks power on some steep hills but if you keep it moving no problems.on straight roads it will do the 60 mph no problem.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic RX4 - 1.9 dCi and Abbey

j r hope reviewed on a Renault Scenic RX4 - 1.9 dCi (75 Kw/102 bhp year: september 2000 - january 2003) and a Abbey Vogue 470 of (laden) 1290 kg.

I did not find the RX4 a good towing car. It struggled quite a bit, and the fuel economy was devastated

More details >>>


Renault Scenic Fase II - 1.9 dCi and Solifer

Hj.Henelius reviewed on a Renault Scenic Fase II - 1.9 dCi (96 Kw/131 bhp year: september 2006 - june 2009) and a Solifer Artic 480 of (laden) 1200 kg.

very good !!

More details >>>


Renault Scenic - 1.6 16v and Caravan

Leslie Dawson reviewed on a Renault Scenic - 1.6 16v (79 Kw/107 bhp year: september 1999 - september 2003) and a Caravan of (laden) 900 kg.

I have a lunar sunbeam 1990, 750kg unladen and 900kg fully laden.and an X reg 2000 1.6 scenic. The car tows well with me the wife two kids and dog carrying the usual stuff needed eg awing and water bottles. you have to be carefull with scenics as the towing weight in the handbook can differ if you have any thing other than the driver in the car. To be within the legal limit this car is only supposed to tow upto 950kg. The older caravans are lighter than the new ones. the car can struggle as said on hill starts but so far has coped well with the hills in our area ( Northumberland). We went to kielder water with it and it was fine. I wouldn't do any big hills after all its just a 1.6 petrol engine. It does us fine for now until we need to buy a newer caravan then a bigger engine would be needed

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic II - 1.9 dCi and Bailey

Glen reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic II - 1.9 dCi (92 Kw/125 bhp year: january 2006 - september 2006) and a Bailey Ranger 500/5 of (laden) 1244 kg.

This car tows the caravan with ease the turbo is in action from around 2000rpm which means high power with little rev and fuel. I avr 40-mpg towing. not bad at all

More details >>>


Renault Scenic II - 1.6 16v and Sprite

thomas reviewed on a Renault Scenic II - 1.6 16v (82 Kw/112 bhp year: january 2006 - september 2006) and a Sprite Europa 460 of (laden) 1300 kg.

this car towing is absolutly shocking it takes about 10 mins to get to 60 and struggles to get up 1% inclines this car should not be used to tow a tiny trailer nevermind a caravan

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic II - 1.9 dCi and Compass

David reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic II - 1.9 dCi (92 Kw/125 bhp year: january 2006 - september 2006) and a Compass Corona 482 of (laden) 1275 kg.

Hi we tow a 2001 Compass Corona 524 with a 2006 Renault Grand Scenic 130d and have no problems at al with power or stability. The trouble is, Renault set a stupidly low gross train weight for the car 3050kg, which makes it very easy to find the combination is overloaded. The car happily tows n excess of the plated maxium, and wil tow 1300kg according to Renault so why such a low limit??? Don't get caught out with the plated weight versus the towing limit.

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic Fase II - 1.9 dCi [5-seats] and Sterling

Paul Deacon reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic Fase II - 1.9 dCi [5-seats] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: september 2006 - april 2009) and a Sterling Europa 500 of (laden) 1375 kg.

I cannot fault this combination, we travel GB and EIRA with no effort

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic Fase II - 2.0 16v aut. [5-seats] and Bailey

Malcolm Chant reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic Fase II - 2.0 16v aut. [5-seats] (99 Kw/135 bhp year: september 2006 - april 2009) and a Bailey Ranger 460/2 of (laden) 1131 kg.

By having a superchip fitted, this is the perfect combenation, with 6th gear pulling in most conditions, steep hills going down to 4th gear is ideal, with no lower gear needed.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic Fase II - 1.9 dCi and Solifer

Hj.Henelius reviewed on a Renault Scenic Fase II - 1.9 dCi (81 Kw/110 bhp year: september 2006 - june 2009) and a Solifer Artic 480 of (laden) 1285 kg.

very good

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic Fase II - 1.9 dCi [7-seats] and Caravan

michelle lewis reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic Fase II - 1.9 dCi [7-seats] (81 Kw/110 bhp year: september 2006 - april 2009) and a Caravan of (laden) 250 kg.

We found the Grand Scenic towing our Ranger 550/6 great, Better than our Nissan Nervara 2.5 turbo diesel 4x4.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic - 2.0 16v and Bailey

Andrew Gray reviewed on a Renault Scenic - 2.0 16v (102 Kw/139 bhp year: september 1999 - september 2003) and a Bailey Ranger 460/2 of (laden) 1131 kg.

Review is pretty well spot on. Towing performance generally OK but as indicated hill starts could be a problem as 1st gear is a bit too high.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic - 2.0 aut. and Bailey

Irishman reviewed on a Renault Scenic - 2.0 aut. (102 Kw/139 bhp year: september 1999 - september 2003) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Bordeaux of (laden) 1300 kg.

IWe find our Scenic rx4 a very good car to tow our van.Petrol wise we find it good.It uses the same amount of petrol solo as towing which we find very good.We cannot fault our towcar.

More details >>>


Renault Grand Scenic Fase II - 1.9 dCi [5-seats] and Bailey

Malcolm Chant reviewed on a Renault Grand Scenic Fase II - 1.9 dCi [5-seats] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: september 2006 - april 2009) and a Bailey Ranger 470 of (laden) 1172 kg.


After having a Super Chip fitted, I cannot fault this combination, I travel in the provence & Andorra regions, without any effort.
I have never had any other car then a Renault, & see no need to change now.

More details >>>


Renault Scenic II - 1.6 16v and Caravan

stuart veitch reviewed on a Renault Scenic II - 1.6 16v (82 Kw/112 bhp year: january 2006 - september 2006) and a Caravan of (laden) 1150 kg.

My Renault Scenic is an 06 reg 1.6 Privilige manual 5speed I tow a 1995 Elddis 214se vogue mtplm 1.000 i carry all the usual items eg. awning water & wast buts spare wheel jack 2 gas bottles plus all sundry items i find it performs extremly well on types of road and is a very good hill climber most really steep hills need only 3rd gear in oct 06 we went over the carter bar on the a68 from north to south as most caravaners will know this a pretty steep and long pull and i only had to use 2nd for the sharp corners as i had to slow down for them hope this helps any one who is interested

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us