TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Rover 75 User Reviews

Rover 75 - 1.8 16v and Sprite

Gaz reviewed on a Rover 75 - 1.8 16v (88 Kw/120 bhp year: june 2001 - may 2005) and a Sprite Alpine 2 of (laden) 1200 kg.

Rover 75 1.8 (55plate) now towing a swift ace ambassador that
is just 1200 kgs all in , car not quite as effective you can feel the extra kgs mainly on hills on the flat its still ok , you just have to change your driving style to suit .
still happy with this combo & getting 30 plus mpg mainly use 3rd & 4th gear , 5th is still used on flat over 55 mph

More details >>>


Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT and Lunar

Barry Cox reviewed on a Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 1999 - may 2005) and a Lunar Clubman SB of (laden) 1475 kg.

Great tow car no problem good fuel 35mpg easy had it remaped well worth it tows a dream

More details >>>


Rover 75 - 1.8 16v and Compass

george reviewed on a Rover 75 - 1.8 16v (88 Kw/120 bhp year: june 2001 - may 2005) and a Compass Rallye 482 of (laden) 1400 kg.

The car isnt heavy enough for towing this weight caravan

More details >>>


Rover 75 - 1.8 16v and Compass

Garry from Derby reviewed on a Rover 75 - 1.8 16v (88 Kw/120 bhp year: june 2001 - may 2005) and a Compass Corona 362 of (laden) 1075 kg.

first outing with both Rover 75 1.8 (55plate) & compass corona 362 & me , its first time ive towed a caravan i would say combination was better than towcar rating given , excellent performance up & down dale in peak district pulled like a train 3rd , 4th gear but you need to be above 50 mph for 5th about 31 mpg very pleased with this combo .

More details >>>


Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT and Elddis

R Mortimer reviewed on a Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 1999 - may 2005) and a Elddis Odyssey 505 of (laden) 1475 kg.

Great tow car with my Elddis Odyssey 505, A66 & Kirby Stephen route no problem over the Pennines on auto cruise.

More details >>>


Rover 75 Tourer - 2.0 CDT and Bailey

Pete Brooks reviewed on a Rover 75 Tourer - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: april 2004 - may 2005) and a Bailey Senator California of (laden) 1459 kg.

My 2003 Rover 75 Tourer CDTi has been chipped to 160bhp and is nothing short of brilliant towing our Bailey Senator California (1495 kgs). Prior to owning the California we owned a Coachman Amara 520/4 (1400 kgs) which we towed all over France in 2008. There aren't many Motorway hills where changing down from 5th is needed. The car does have self levelling suspension which aids the stability which is superb, especially with auto trailer control fitted to the caravan.. A recent trip to the Vendee region in France was a breeze. Loss of traction on soft pitches has been the only problem. On the road the car and outfit behave impeccably. The cavernous interior with the rear seats folded allows for all our gear to be stoewd for transportation. If Rovers were still produced, I'd have another 75 Tourer!

More details >>>


Rover 75 Tourer - 2.0 CDT and Elddis

Cam Porteous reviewed on a Rover 75 Tourer - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: april 2004 - may 2005) and a Elddis Avante 534 of (laden) 1425 kg.

My Rover is the 130bhp version and like all other reviews I find it a superb towcar. Travelled from Newcastle to Devon last summer done 1000 miles of which 720 were towing my Elddis Avante 534 and I returned an average fuel consumption of 31 mpg.Had a Discovery before this and this 75 blows the socks off it for towing. Like others the clutch does seem to be a problem especially in reverse.One more gem if you lose power at low revs and the power only kicks in at 2000 revs the solution is the MAF sensor needs replacing (easy job and I know nowt about mechanics)

More details >>>


Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT and Lunar

david ellis reviewed on a Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 1999 - may 2005) and a Lunar Lexon 585 SI of (laden) 1380 kg.

the rover is more than adequate at towing the lunar. The model is a lunar solaris 3 which is not listed but has an identical spec to the lexon. I get good consumption especially when using overdrive. I have put the outfit through its paces several times on the A9 and it handles Schloct and Drumochter summits without much effort. I do not load up to 1450. we don't use awning, tv or additional furniture. The outfit was chosen purely on model preferences.

More details >>>


Rover 75 Tourer - 2.0 CDT and Avondale

Mike Hughes reviewed on a Rover 75 Tourer - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: april 2004 - may 2005) and a Avondale Argente 650-6 of (laden) 1600 kg.

My car never fails to amaze me, our van is a heavy 26ft twin axle and really to heavy for the car at 98% but, it tows so well, I had my car remapped producing around 145bhp and it's fantastic, it'll tow in 5th on a level with ease and a slight incline, on the hill if you drop it down to 4th you have to eatch your speed because it does pull, my only concern is the clutch does get very hot, 1st and reverse you do need to slip the clutch as they are quite tall gears, but once moving it's a superb tug

More details >>>


Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT and Bailey

phil reviewed on a Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 1999 - may 2005) and a Bailey Pageant Sancerre of (laden) 1415 kg.

great caravan great car have had no problems towing my caravan
have to change to 4th on uphill climbs and a steady 60mph on motorways its been great fun

More details >>>


Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT and Avondale

Mike reviewed on a Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 1999 - may 2005) and a Avondale Osprey of (laden) 1470 kg.

Rover 2.0CDTi Manual with Rover Ron Tuning Box, towing an Avondale Osprey.Superb towcar,rock solid.The best tow car I've had by far. One of the few non 4x4 with 100 Kg Towbar loading.

More details >>>


Rover 75 Tourer - 2.0 CDT and Lunar

John Lett reviewed on a Rover 75 Tourer - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: april 2004 - may 2005) and a Lunar Lexon EB of (laden) 1370 kg.

Rover 75 tourer diesel CDTI fitted with Rontune 31k first time towing Lunar EB slightly loaded. Half tank of fuel to reduce weight in vehicle. Roscoff to Bannalec (100miles) the vehicle towed effortless in 4th and 5th gear average 55mph and 60mph on motorway average fuel consumption 35+

More details >>>


Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT and Caravan

Phil reviewed on a Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 1999 - may 2005) and a Caravan of (laden) 1250 kg.

Amazing car, cdt conn SE Tourer. Tows like a tractor and pulls like a train. 35mpg easy. Towing a Van Royce 4.65. As good as the volvo 2.3 740I had years ago but half as thirsty! Buy one!

More details >>>


Rover 75 Tourer - 2.0 CDT and Caravan

Peter Fowler reviewed on a Rover 75 Tourer - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: april 2004 - may 2005) and a Caravan 1250 kg of (laden) 1350 kg.

I've got an automatic which has been chipped to 152 bhp and 243 ft/lb. This makes it nigh on perfect for towing my Xplore 495, motorway cruising is effortless and overtaking lorries etc. a breeze. Although it uses more disel than a manual, the 5-speed automatic makes towing easier and I don't have the clutch problems other users have mentioned. Only downside is that my car doesn't have self-levelling suspension, but I'm going to fit some spring assisters so that it doesn't squat at the back so much.

More details >>>


Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT and Swift

BRIAN JONES reviewed on a Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 1999 - may 2005) and a Swift Charisma 230 of (laden) 1164 kg.

Rover 2.0l cdt. done a few tows with this car having had a 4 x 4 for many years and overall i like it , it tows well and give power when needed for overtaking.and iam getting 35-40mpg towing which makes me happy it was 17mpg with the 4x4

More details >>>


Rover 75 Tourer - 2.0 CDT and Coachman

derek barnes reviewed on a Rover 75 Tourer - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: april 2004 - may 2005) and a Coachman Pastiche 420/2 of (laden) 1325 kg.

my rover 2.0 tdi 115hp has a "p" box fitted and now produces 140hp---this makes the car a totally diferent car especially when towing the van---fifth gear is now used(not often prviously)but is a good all round car---have just replaced the clutch at 60000mls--the car is now almost 6years old and i will probably buy another next year to update to a 2005 model

More details >>>


Rover 75 Tourer - 4.6 V8 aut. and Lunar

B. Wright reviewed on a Rover 75 Tourer - 4.6 V8 aut. (191 Kw/260 bhp year: january 2005 - may 2005) and a Lunar Quasar 462 of (laden) 1250 kg.

The Rover 75 V8 has proved to be a fantastic towcar. The high torque is a match for most likely trailed loads and with a noseweight of 100Kgs safe and stable caravan loading is easily possible. The rear wheel drive arrangement of the V8 is a big bonus in terms of traction on hills etc. This is further enhanced by the traction control feature which gives a degree of slip control. All in all a hard to beat combination

More details >>>


Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT and Elddis

mr finch reviewed on a Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 1999 - may 2005) and a Elddis Avante 534 of (laden) 1425 kg.

Best tow car I have ever had to tow my Elddis very good economy. Approx 35mpg when towing, solo approx 550mls per tank of fuel

More details >>>


Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT and Avondale

Bruce Innis reviewed on a Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 1999 - may 2005) and a Avondale Eagle of (laden) 1470 kg.

Very Stable in all conditions. Twisty winding narrow lanes on exposed slopes were taken with surefooted aplomb.

More details >>>


Rover 75 Tourer - 2.0 CDT and Ace

Lynne Packer reviewed on a Rover 75 Tourer - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: april 2004 - may 2005) and a Ace Award Tristar of (laden) 1420 kg.

I also think that the Rover 75 Tourer 2.0 CDT is a very good car. Clutch is a weakness I have 55000 on the clock never ride the clutch however it has just had to have a replacement. Slightly slow pulling away with the caravan on, however once in transit has no problems with hills and general road conditions. I would purchase a newer model if they were manufactured.

More details >>>


Rover 75 Tourer - 2.0 CDT and Avondale

James Cross reviewed on a Rover 75 Tourer - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: april 2004 - may 2005) and a Avondale Argente 555-4S of (laden) 1373 kg.

I tow around 1400kg with my Rover, which I have had chipped to give around 145bhp and 300Nm of torque. In many respects it is very, very good: with 100kg on the towball, the ride is smooth, on the motorways it is normally very stable, and is just not affected by any passing vehicles, though crosswinds provide a gentle nudge. Traction is also sufficient in most circumstances, though limited low-down torque and a high 1st gear make hill-starts tricky - though thus far do-able. Power is also good, espcially in the higher gears - it will accelerate on modest hills in 5th gear, and will tackle, and accelerate up, any motorway hill concieved in 4th. Cruising is possible, with faultless stability, at 70mph in England, and at 80mph on the continent.
If I had to criticise it, I would say that the clutch/gearbox is a weakness where reliability is concerned - it has cost me 1000s in this respect; and when heavily loaded, the ride is significantly less controlled, sometimes disconcertingly so; though this is only on main summer holidays. This may be due to excessive loading, however. Some advice: ignor Rover's 32PSI tyre pressure recommendation - use 40 in the rears, it improves stability and ride; chip it, (Rover Ron tuning) it makes a huge difference and hasn't affected engine reliablility thus far (100,000 miles), and put Grayston progressive auxillary springs in the rear suspension, to prevent sag. All in all, an excellent towcar.

More details >>>


Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT and Lunar

Mal Kirby reviewed on a Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 1999 - may 2005) and a Lunar Clubman 470-2 of (laden) 1350 kg.

Towed to France last summer, great torque, super stable(even in cross winds on some spetacular high viaducts) and excelent fuel economy.

More details >>>


Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT and Bailey

Alan Dowdeswell reviewed on a Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 1999 - may 2005) and a Bailey Discovery 100 of (laden) 1043 kg.

Great towcar, with ample power and stability under all conditions. Still manages to return 35mpg or better.

More details >>>


Rover 75 Tourer - 2.0 CDT and Abbey

Nigel Hutson reviewed on a Rover 75 Tourer - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: april 2004 - may 2005) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 416 of (laden) 1363 kg.

My car is the 135 bhp version, and generally I find it to be a superb towcar, maintaining 60 mph in fifth gear with ease, and rarely having to drop below 4th on motorways. Very comfortable and stable in all conditions. We use the caravan throughout the year and have ventured to the south of France twice with it. The self levelling suspension is also a great bonus. If there is a poor point, it is hill starts. Grip is not normally a problem (other than on wet grass/mud as with all other FWD cars), but fine clutch/accelerator balance is needed on hills. My second 75 CDT (the first was a 114bhp saloon), and I would have another if they were still made.

More details >>>


Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT and Elddis

murray harvey reviewed on a Rover 75 - 2.0 CDT (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 1999 - may 2005) and a Elddis Avante 534 of (laden) 1338 kg.

Great towcar especially in europe when time is limited can cruise easily at 80mph on french motorways also fantastic on steep hills would definitely recommend

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us