TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Ssangyong Rexton User Reviews

Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi aut. and Swift

Montysa reviewed on a Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi aut. (121 Kw/165 bhp year: june 2004 - june 2006) and a Swift Conqueror 640 of (laden) 1669 kg.

Hi
Have towed with my Rexton and found it a great tow car just put it into drive set of up and down hills with ease. Quite pleased with fuel consumption.
Recommend car lot of car for your money if buying secound hand. If buying new make sure it is for keeps as you will lose a lot of money if you try to sell it after just a couple of years.
Again good second hand buy.
Montysa

More details >>>


Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi aut. [2006] and Elddis

Ewan Cameron reviewed on a Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi aut. [2006] (121 Kw/165 bhp year: june 2006 - april 2009) and a Elddis Sirocco/Cyclone of (laden) 1760 kg.

We have had our Rexy for 2 years now and have towed a swift lifestyle (charisma) 590 1628kg with no issues. Recently we purchased the heavier Elddis crusader super cyclone 1875kg with concerns on how Rexy would perform with the heavier van. Towing from N/E Scotland to Northumberland (4 hours) was effortless for the Rexton.

Having towed various caravans both single and twin axels over the past 5 years using Toyota RAV4, Freelander & Rexton I can say the Rexton is by best car I\'ve ever towed with. It does tow best in 4WD HI with fuel consumption around the 35mpg when towing. No issues on hills And it sits quite happy on motorways with cruise control at 60 -70 mph with more power available. On the steeper inclines it drops to 55 ish. The Merc tiptronic auto gearbox also delivers a very smooth run when towing.

In summary I would highly recommend the Rexton as a towing vehicle.


More details >>>


Ssangyong Rexton W - 2.0 Xdi aut. [4WD] and Adria

Brian Walkden reviewed on a Ssangyong Rexton W - 2.0 Xdi aut. [4WD] (114 Kw/155 bhp year: march 2013 - up to now) and a Adria Astella Rio Grande of (laden) 1846 kg.

By mistake, we travelled from Austria to Italy via the Stelvio Pass.......
The rear overhang is the area requiring most caution, as it would be easy to clip the rear end when turning tight corners.
Once, when travelling downhill at 100 km/h, overtaking an articulated lorry, we experienced a 10 second weave but the ALKO stabilised the unit even though the ABS as working overtime.
Italian roads, being the bumpiest we've experienced make for a see-sawing effect at tow-bar.
Tyre pressures 40psi rear/34psi front increase stability.
On the flat, cruise control at 100kph fine.
MPG 50mpg at 50mph not towing.
MPG 30MPG towing.
Having read Jeff Smith's review, might consider using 4WD and increasing the tow hitch weight.

More details >>>


Ssangyong Rexton W - 2.0 Xdi aut. [4WD] and Sprite

Jeff Smith reviewed on a Ssangyong Rexton W - 2.0 Xdi aut. [4WD] (114 Kw/155 bhp year: march 2013 - up to now) and a Sprite Quattro FB of (laden) 1548 kg.

Now towed twice with the Rexton W - found that tow hitch weight is critical for the foward/backwards stability (heavier the better).
Auto box sluggish when towing so put into manual - anticipate as you would any other manual.
Towed in both two wheel and 4x4 high mode - recommend 4x4 high - changes the aspect of the car (although turning circle compromised) and makes it a lot more stable and easier to drive.
No problems with hills in Wiltshire/Somerset/Dorset nor when towing with side winds along dual carriageways.
Fuel consumption towing in manual, 4x4 high was good to great (best ever from all tow vehicles we have owned).
Cannot recommend enough although that will probably mean the price will go up in future as more people cotton on!!

More details >>>


Ssangyong Rexton W - 2.0 Xdi aut. [4WD] and Sterling

keith sheppard reviewed on a Ssangyong Rexton W - 2.0 Xdi aut. [4WD] (114 Kw/155 bhp year: march 2013 - up to now) and a Sterling Elite Explorer of (laden) 1804 kg.

Collecting car next week can,t wait to try it out !!

More details >>>


Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi aut. and Bailey

John reviewed on a Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi aut. (121 Kw/165 bhp year: june 2004 - june 2006) and a Bailey Pegasus Milan of (laden) 1499 kg.

Goes well pulls well good down hill with the auto box not to good on miles to gallon (18-19) only down side as yet .

More details >>>


Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi and Coachman

Lorraine Stewart reviewed on a Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi (121 Kw/165 bhp year: june 2004 - june 2006) and a Coachman Pastiche 520/4 of (laden) 1575 kg.

This car is outstanding at towing the caravan and does so with complete ease. Would absolutely recommend it to anyone considering buying a heavier caravan

More details >>>


Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi aut. and Adria

Peter Routley reviewed on a Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi aut. (121 Kw/165 bhp year: june 2004 - june 2006) and a Adria Altea Tay of (laden) 1153 kg.

I have been towing an Adria432px with an added 120kg ,when full ,water tank (Australia) with a 2006 Rexton 2.7 turbo Diesel Automatic.
The match is perfect! Good fuel figures & so stable,even with the dreaded road trains.A great combination!!

More details >>>


Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi and Swift

Trish reviewed on a Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi (121 Kw/165 bhp year: june 2004 - june 2006) and a Swift Challenger 520 of (laden) 1391 kg.

cant fault my rexy shes wicked and brilliant for all aspects of road use, towing and general driving ! Feel very happy when towing no issues at all would highly recommend one ,really good fuel consumption as well !

More details >>>


Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi and Swift

trish reviewed on a Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi (121 Kw/165 bhp year: june 2004 - june 2006) and a Swift Challenger 520 of (laden) 1391 kg.

I love this car to bits! it does just what i want it to do and thats to tow my caravan with no hassle. I feel secure towing with it and reversing becomes easier as well. One word sums it all ! Great!!! Also nice to drive minus my van and i have a 50 mile round trip to got to work and no quibbles on that either! Fuel consumption is very good 36 plus as an average (even towing)!!! Very little bad to say about it other than its not a quick starter if you someone trying to race you but on the whole very very happy with my rexton and its different!

More details >>>


Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi aut. [2006] and Swift

JACK BIRCHALL reviewed on a Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi aut. [2006] (121 Kw/165 bhp year: june 2006 - april 2009) and a Swift Charisma 620 TA of (laden) 1615 kg.

PURCHASED NEW 59reg REXTON AUTO, 2/9/09. LOVELY SOLO & TOWING DRIVE, PLENTY OF POWER, SO SMOOTH, VERY COMFORTABLE, GREAT CAR & SPOT-ON CARAVAN.

More details >>>


Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi [2006] and Sterling

tracy allen reviewed on a Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi [2006] (121 Kw/165 bhp year: june 2006 - april 2009) and a Sterling Eccles Elite Trekker of (laden) 1646 kg.

The rexton pulls our van like a dream plenty of storage inside plently of break horse power and weight

More details >>>


Ssangyong Rexton - 290 TD and Swift

alan r reviewed on a Ssangyong Rexton - 290 TD (88 Kw/120 bhp year: october 2002 - june 2006) and a Swift Conqueror 630 of (laden) 1715 kg.

I drive a rexton 2.9 td i manual &tow a swift conqueror 630 fixed bed the rexton towes exceptionally well indeed whilst visiting France & on their supburb motorways i had no trouble exceeding 70 mph & could cruise at this speed all day I cruise in 5th gear the rexton is a verry good towing vehicle my van is always packed correctly thus eliminating stress & strain on the vehicle in three years of ownership i have not had any mechanical problems with my vehicle & would reccomend a rexton 2.9 tdi to any caravaner

More details >>>


Ssangyong Rexton - 290 TD and Swift

alan r reviewed on a Ssangyong Rexton - 290 TD (88 Kw/120 bhp year: october 2002 - june 2006) and a Swift Conqueror 630 of (laden) 1715 kg.

I drive a rexton 2.9 td i manual &tow a swift conqueror 630 fixed bed the rexton towes exceptionally well indeed whilst visiting France & on their supburb motorways i had no trouble exceeding 70 mph & could cruise at this speed all day I cruise in 5th gear the rexton is a verry good towing vehicle my van is always packed correctly thus eliminating stress & strain on the vehicle in three years of ownership i have not had any mechanical problems with my vehicle & would reccomend a rexton 2.9 tdi to any caravaner

More details >>>


Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi aut. and Ace

Chris Retter-Wilkins reviewed on a Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi aut. (121 Kw/165 bhp year: june 2004 - june 2006) and a Ace Jubilee Viscount of (laden) 1591 kg.

I am happy with the Rexton I feel it tows the Ace Jubilee Viscount with out any problems we have been to Wiltshire Somerset Dorset and Hampshire I am personally happy with the outfit and I have a trip planned in July to Euro Disney and then on to Soulac in France.

More details >>>


Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi aut. and Hobby

Hans Pauli reviewed on a Ssangyong Rexton - 270 Xdi aut. (121 Kw/165 bhp year: june 2004 - june 2006) and a Hobby Prestige 650 KMFe of (laden) 1797 kg.

Hi all
I have, for two years now, had my hobby 650 kmfe. Our car is a Ssangyong Rexton-270 Xdi aut. 2004. The roads and contry side here in the Faroe Island is very varying with good roads where you can drive fast, but also a lot of steep roads. I must admit, that, when I bought this big hobby, I was a bit concerned, how it would be to tow and how heavy it would feel. Two years later, I have no concern. On normal driving at 70 km/h, the car is at ease, even at slopes, it does not feel heavy, though it has to work to maintain the speed.
Have also been "off road" with our hobby 650 behind the rexton, and towing was not the issue, but rather the length of the hobby. Alltogether the Rexton and hobby 650 feels like a good and easy combination.

More details >>>


Ssangyong Rexton - 290 TD and Bessacarr

Jackie Owen reviewed on a Ssangyong Rexton - 290 TD (88 Kw/120 bhp year: october 2002 - june 2006) and a Bessacarr Cameo 550 of (laden) 1631 kg.

We have had this car from new for 3 years. We had a Nissan Terrano 2.7 and a Sazuki Vitara before, towing smaller caravans. I chose this from the Kia Sorento, only because at the time there was a 5 month wait for the Kia. It is nicer to look at than the Kia and certainly runs very much quieter than the Kia. The engine, though deisel, is very quiet.

The car has had a variety of defects although to be fair, SsangYong HQ and the suppliers, Norfolk Motor Group, have done their best to "fix" everything. Problems arose with the following: Rear suspension bushes-replaced, corrosion on wheels-all 4 replaced, 2 incidents of paint bubble, retaining spring in cargo cover failed-new cover supplied, engine and gearbox mountings replaced, battery drain (3 batteries in 3 years!) caused by faulty bonnet catch assembly. The latter took 60 diagnostic hours to trace! New brake pads were fitted as I consider the brakes not sharp enough, particularly in towing mode.

The car is very nice to drive. As a mere female that does all the towing, I am not as strong as others might be. I have fitted a knob to the steering wheel to make it easier to reverse, especially with the caravan on the back. Fuel consumption when towing is around the high 20's. We don't often use it other than for towing, so I can't help with this consumption figure. As a rough guide, we live in Norwich and a tank of petrol will take me to London and back. Speeds of around 60 most of the time, as this is not a car that demands to be driven fast. Figures from a report I read are as follows: Top speed 98mph, CO2 emissions 144g/km, combined mpg 30.4mpg, engine performance 88.25kW (120PS) 250Nm (184lb ft) torque at 2,400rpm. Length 4.720mm (15ft 6ins) width 1.830 (6ft) Height 1.760mm (5ft 9ins) Kerb weight 1,879kg. max braked towing weight 3,500kg.
I've used the 4 wheel drive facility, just to get off a muddy caravan park, as this is not a serious off-roader. 4 wheel drive is neatly accessed by push button controls, none of the conventional difficult to operate extra gear-knob.

As with all deisels, the service period is a nuisance, as we end up with having "services" we haven't done the mileage for, merely to satisfy the conditions of the warranty. Last service was 400, and that didn't include the air conditioning system at 80+VAT. Annoyingly there is a charge (25 + VAT) for the body inspection (every 2 years) also to keep within the requirements of the body corrosion warranty (6 years).

The car and caravan (Bessacarr 550GL) makes a very attractive unit, and often raises a stare from other motorists. Dispite all the problems we had with this car I probably would buy another one as it represents good value for money, and I'm sure we'd continue to get personal attention from HQ! The Second Generation 2.7 engine gives a much better performance. (Had one as a courtesy car from HQ, but didn't tow with it.)

There are bags of room for all our camping gear, but there are us two - no children etc.

Happy motoring!!

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us