TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Volkswagen Transporter User Reviews

Volkswagen T5 Multivan - 2.5 TDI pd and Bailey

Ian Dowkes reviewed on a Volkswagen T5 Multivan - 2.5 TDI pd (128 Kw/174 bhp year: january 2004 - july 2007) and a Bailey Unicorn III Cadiz of (laden) 1491 kg.

Due to (almost) always taking a full suspension electric mountain bike with spare wheels and toolkit, total weight 56lbs, on trips we required more storage space than most caravaners.

To get more storage we replaced the BMW X5 30D with a SWB T5, for sure we lost some power (340bhp down to 173bhp) but the T5 has been a pleasure, only the severest motorway climbs require changing down to 5th from 6th gear.

Cruising at 60mph on motorways/dual carriageways is easy and an amazing 32mpg, which can be improves to 36 if max speed of 55mph maintained on motorways.

Storage as you might expect is amazing and stability is exemplary, at least as good as the X5. Only modification from the standard T5 was removal of the 16" steel wheels for 18" winter graded alloys

More details >>>


Volkswagen T5 - 2.5 TDI [2007] and Adria

Adrian Jennings reviewed on a Volkswagen T5 - 2.5 TDI [2007] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: july 2007 - november 2009) and a Adria Adora 542 DL of (laden) 1400 kg.

Having made a few trips in this outfit now, it works brilliantly. The T5 swallows luggage with ease and carries passengers in comfort. Mine is a Kombi with the 130 PS engine and six speed box, it cruises effortlessly at the legal speed limit, fifth gear providing reserve power for motorway inclines. Fuel economy is around 28 MPG towing, 36 without the caravan.

More details >>>


Volkswagen T5 - 1.9 TDI [2007] [c.r.] and Adria

Martin reviewed on a Volkswagen T5 - 1.9 TDI [2007] [c.r.] (62 Kw/84 bhp year: july 2007 - november 2009) and a Adria Altea 502 DK of (laden) 1200 kg.

What a lovely drive hardly know that there is a caravan on the back.drove from Somerset to the south of France ,bags of torque
Average mpg 35 / 37 @ 60mph on motorway ,pulls like a train on the hills loads of room and very comfy in side would highly recommend this as a tow vehicle .

More details >>>


Volkswagen T5 - 1.9 TDI and Elddis

MR S.EVANS reviewed on a Volkswagen T5 - 1.9 TDI (77 Kw/105 bhp year: january 2004 - july 2007) and a Elddis Avante 534 of (laden) 1425 kg.

Hi ,this is first caravan we have been towing with T5 minibus ,its a long wheel base so loads of room for family plus all caravan equipment,this keeps caravan very light,on the motorway its very sturdy.Its a good set up.......

More details >>>


Volkswagen T5 - 2.5 TDI pd and Swift

n ayris reviewed on a Volkswagen T5 - 2.5 TDI pd (96 Kw/131 bhp year: january 2004 - july 2007) and a Swift Conqueror 530 of (laden) 1590 kg.

excellent towing vehicle great in all departments.

More details >>>


Volkswagen T5 - 2.5 TDI [2007] and Bailey

julian erridge reviewed on a Volkswagen T5 - 2.5 TDI [2007] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: july 2007 - november 2009) and a Bailey Senator Carolina of (laden) 1696 kg.

i have a vw t5 130bhp {will be remapped to 170} want a bailey twin carolina ,any body tow with a vw t5 heavy van just over the kerb weight any advice would be good

More details >>>


Volkswagen T5 (Seikel) Multivan - 2.5 TDI pd and Abbey

john slade reviewed on a Volkswagen T5 (Seikel) Multivan - 2.5 TDI pd (96 Kw/131 bhp year: january 2005 - november 2009) and a Abbey Spectrum 419 of (laden) 1558 kg.

towed with this vehicle for 3 years never any trouble with hills or stability only down fall is lack of traction on wet surface.

More details >>>


Volkswagen T5 - 2.5 TDI pd and Bailey

N M Kitchen reviewed on a Volkswagen T5 - 2.5 TDI pd (128 Kw/174 bhp year: january 2004 - july 2007) and a Bailey Senator Carolina of (laden) 1696 kg.

I've had 3 Caravelle's, the last purchased in 2006 on an 05 plate. If you want a vehicle with power, torque and oceans of room - then this is it! OK, so it lacks 4-wheel drive but the other side of the coin is it doesn't cost a fortune in road tax and fuel. I've looked into buying a newer vehicle for towing my Carolina but after much research, I would struggle to get a better tow / holiday vehicle!

More details >>>


Volkswagen T5 - 2.5 TDI [2007] and Abbey

Ashley Bond reviewed on a Volkswagen T5 - 2.5 TDI [2007] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: july 2007 - november 2009) and a Abbey Spectrum 540 of (laden) 1732 kg.

Towed all though france and uk no problems great credit to VW also we have two karts in the van and still pulls like a train

More details >>>


Volkswagen T5 - 2.5 TDI pd and Elddis

c a peacock reviewed on a Volkswagen T5 - 2.5 TDI pd (96 Kw/131 bhp year: january 2004 - july 2007) and a Elddis Avante 505 of (laden) 1500 kg.

EXCELLENT TOWER MOST ROADS IN 6TH OVER 30 TOWING ON FLAT ROADS CAN RECOMEND ONE

More details >>>


Volkswagen T5 - 2.5 TDI [2007] and Elddis

c apeacock reviewed on a Volkswagen T5 - 2.5 TDI [2007] (96 Kw/131 bhp year: july 2007 - november 2009) and a Elddis Avante 505 of (laden) 1358 kg.

effortless towing tow mostley in 6th 60 mph 1700 rpm highly recommeded credit to VW

More details >>>


Volkswagen T5 Multivan - 2.5 TDI pd and Hobby

OyvindSP reviewed on a Volkswagen T5 Multivan - 2.5 TDI pd (128 Kw/174 bhp year: january 2004 - july 2007) and a Hobby Prestige 720 UKFe of (laden) 2000 kg.

We have had this combo for two full summer-holidays, and we are extremely happy with it. Motorway-driving is fluent and smooth, it's easy to follow the traffic, and ther's lots of excess power to overtake if necessary. Compared to my earlier experienses, the train is very stable even in strong side-wind.

At camp-site, we haver never missed traction, as the engine deliveres from 800 revs, making it possible to adjust speed just by operating clutch and brake if necessary.

For us, this has really been a lift to our camp-life!

More details >>>


Volkswagen T4 - 2.4 D and Hobby

mike walkley reviewed on a Volkswagen T4 - 2.4 D (57 Kw/78 bhp year: 0 - december 2003) and a Hobby Excelsior 610 UF of (laden) 1789 kg.

plod,plod & more plod.
it always got there but oh it was hard work.
i also have a 1993 chateau cantara 2000/983 & AGAIN IT WAS HARD WORK.
the camper was a t4 WESTFALIA CALIFORNIA CLUB with a fixed high roof.

More details >>>


Volkswagen T4 - 2.5 TDI and Lunar

Mick Hirst reviewed on a Volkswagen T4 - 2.5 TDI (65 Kw/88 bhp year: 0 - december 2003) and a Lunar Quasar 525 of (laden) 1300 kg.

Our T5 is an Autosleeper Trident SWB conversion. It has plenty of bulk to keep the unit stable, but I would like a bit more power. We are slowed down by some long motorway hills (West Country going up towards Bristol) and have to use 4th gear quite a bit. Fuel consumption does not seem to be all that affected and may be around 32mpg instead of 36 not towing. You do have to use all the power to keep the unit moving and on some long A road hills, its down to 3rd gear.

More details >>>


Volkswagen T5 - 2.5 TDI [2007] and Fleetwood

David reviewed on a Volkswagen T5 - 2.5 TDI [2007] (128 Kw/174 bhp year: july 2007 - november 2009) and a Fleetwood Heritage 640-EST TA of (laden) 1625 kg.

T5 with 172 hp is a fantastic tow vehicle. We cruise at above legal motorway speed limit in 6th no problems :)
Fuel is about 400miles to tank full. Stability is great except for very high speed vans overtaking too close, as normal. Could do with a longer 1st gear though, in my opinion.

More details >>>


Volkswagen T5 (Seikel) Multivan - 2.5 TDI pd and Bailey

John Marshall reviewed on a Volkswagen T5 (Seikel) Multivan - 2.5 TDI pd (96 Kw/131 bhp year: january 2005 - november 2009) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Bordeaux of (laden) 1300 kg.

Brilliant outfit - room for 7 in the car + camping gear for those not in the caravan - very stable and capable towcar, and with excellent lock for reversing into those awkward corners!

More details >>>


Volkswagen T5 Multivan - 2.5 TDI pd and LMC

Peter Lorentzen reviewed on a Volkswagen T5 Multivan - 2.5 TDI pd (128 Kw/174 bhp year: january 2004 - july 2007) and a LMC Favorit 720 RBK of (laden) 1869 kg.

First time with this set up. Drove from Denmark to Italy across Brenner pass. Absolutely brilliant performance from the T5 Multivan, lot's of power, smooth stability of both the car and caravan. After our trip I was even more happy with our car and caravan, due to this experience! I feel very lucky :-)

More details >>>


Volkswagen T5 - 2.5 TDI pd and Elddis

D W Lewis reviewed on a Volkswagen T5 - 2.5 TDI pd (128 Kw/174 bhp year: january 2004 - july 2007) and a Elddis Crusader Super Storm of (laden) 1810 kg.

This is a great towcar loads of room i have towed at high speed through france with no problems and over the mountains through Spain you get to overtake all the juganaughts best tow i've had and i have been towing for over 30 years.

More details >>>


Volkswagen T5 Multivan - 2.5 TDI pd and Knaus

Vcelka Maja reviewed on a Volkswagen T5 Multivan - 2.5 TDI pd (96 Kw/131 bhp year: january 2004 - july 2007) and a Knaus Sport 420 LD of (laden) 1240 kg.

Mno a tady je ten Multivan. Vaha pres 3,5 (jen o 14 kg) jizdni vykony v podstate stejne.

More details >>>


Volkswagen T5 (Seikel) Multivan - 2.5 TDI pd and Knaus

Claus Poulsen reviewed on a Volkswagen T5 (Seikel) Multivan - 2.5 TDI pd (128 Kw/174 bhp year: january 2005 - november 2009) and a Knaus Sudwind 550 FSK of (laden) 1415 kg.

My experience with my Multivan 2.5 tdi and my Knaus 550 FSK is that there is enough power in all situations. I even run the 6th gear most time, and only when speed in below 80 km/h I must go lower. This only happens on very steep roads such as in the Kassels in mid Germany and in the Alps. The max speed is > 130 km/h (only tried this once), and there is still power reserve to go faster if you have the curage. I never sell this car 

More details >>>


Volkswagen T5 (Seikel) - 2.5 TDI pd and Bailey

Dave smallwood reviewed on a Volkswagen T5 (Seikel) - 2.5 TDI pd (96 Kw/131 bhp year: january 2005 - november 2009) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Champagne of (laden) 1299 kg.

I HAVE HAD THE BAILEY FOR 2YEARS NOW .THE T5 TOWS LIKE DREAM. MIRRORS GOOD VIEWS DOWN SIDES OF CARAVAN TAIL GATE JUST CLEARS A FRAME & BODY MIND THE JOCKEY WHEEL.GOOD ON FUEL. WHEN IN 6TH GEAR 60MPH @1700RPM IT SEEMS EFFORTLESS.A JOY TO DRIVE

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us