TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Volvo S40 User Reviews

Volvo S40 III - 1.8 and Caravan

Steve reviewed on a Volvo S40 III - 1.8 (92 Kw/125 bhp year: july 2004 - october 2010) and a Caravan of (laden) 1050 kg.

I seriously wouldn’t bother it say it matches but very disappointing even on a very gradual incline on a motorway it lags. Should have gone on my gut instinct and gone for a 2.0 Version looking at the S60 now.

More details >>>


Volvo S40 III - 1.6 and Adria

mr livingston reviewed on a Volvo S40 III - 1.6 (74 Kw/101 bhp year: may 2005 - 2012) and a Adria Altea Tay of (laden) 1053 kg.

i have this outfit and the 1.6 volvo pulls the adria 432 px no problem and has plenty of torque just a little heavy on fuel though but a great towing reliable car

More details >>>


Volvo S40 III - 2.0D and Sprite

Robert Fulton reviewed on a Volvo S40 III - 2.0D (100 Kw/136 bhp year: january 2008 - october 2010) and a Sprite Alpine 4 of (laden) 1195 kg.

Having previous experience of a much less suited rig out of car and caravan, towing with the volvo 2.0d s40 has been delightful. The engine delivers more than adequate power at low revs to enable both the car and caravan to effortlessly reach cruising speed. The volvo feels a chunky and solid car especially when attached to the caravan due to an abscence of buffetting within the car when towing. I recognise that my current car / caravan match is better suited to that of my previous outfit and that this would contribute to a reduction in buffetting....though having clocked up several thousand miles towing with the volvo, I believe the car to be well suited for this purpose. However, with hindsight I can see how the v50 estate version of my s40 would be better suited to caravaning due to its larger boot. A word of caution however to any prospective purchasers who may be about to pay that 'little extra' to what is basically a Ford Focus with a volvo body attach. I have been experiencing ongoing issues with my car...the current one being the amount of smoke discharged when accelerating.....(which the dealer and Volvo customer care believe to be normal). Should they have told me this before buying or had a photo of this within their glossy brochure...I know I would not be writing this review about a Volvo simply because I wouldn't have bought such a pollutant.

Regards
Robert Fulton

More details >>>


Volvo S40 III - 2.0D and Bailey

Spence reviewed on a Volvo S40 III - 2.0D (100 Kw/136 bhp year: february 2004 - january 2008) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Vendee of (laden) 1415 kg.

I have had a volvo S40 2.0D SE since April 2007 and decided to purchase a new Bailey Pageant Vendee in July 2008. According to the Directgov website it is recommended that you do not tow more than 85% of the kerbweight of your vehicle, but it is not illegal to tow up to to the manufacturers towing weight limit. Even though the Vendee is 97% of the kerbweight of my S40, I find the S40 handles towing the Vendee relatively easy. As the S40 is a smallish car, when it come to hills, accelerating and braking you can feel the weight, unlike a 4x4, but there is nothing of any concern. All in all, not a bad match.

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us