TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Volvo V50 User Reviews

Volvo V50 - 2.0D and Lunar

Gaz reviewed on a Volvo V50 - 2.0D (100 Kw/136 bhp year: april 2004 - january 2008) and a Lunar Quasar 544 of (laden) 1350 kg.

Volvo is powerful enough to handle this van, however, be careful not to carry too much in the front locker as this will result in too much weight exerted on the tow bar. I have checked the nose weight and it is around 50 KGS and well within the 75 KGS limit. Also best to carry heavy items such as a full awning in the van slightly to the rear of the axle. I have towed many miles with this set up without any problems with stability. 😀 Enjoy.

More details >>>


Volvo V50 - 2.0D and Avondale

phil hughes reviewed on a Volvo V50 - 2.0D (100 Kw/136 bhp year: april 2004 - january 2008) and a Avondale Dart 470-2 of (laden) 1120 kg.

V50 great tow car towing my Avondale Dart 470-2 pulls and handles easily round Scotland &Wales

More details >>>


Volvo V50 - 2.0D [MMT6-W3] and Abbey

Liam reviewed on a Volvo V50 - 2.0D [MMT6-W3] (100 Kw/136 bhp year: january 2008 - june 2010) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 418 of (laden) 1427 kg.

Have had this outfit for a few years now, have travelled around Europe as well as the UK. Found that it is always stable and comfortable, inclines never been a problem not even the Alps. As Colin has said before 6th gear can be used on flat motorways.

More details >>>


Volvo V50 - 2.0 [2011] and Bailey

richard boddy reviewed on a Volvo V50 - 2.0 [2011] (107 Kw/146 bhp year: october 2010 - july 2012) and a Bailey Senator Arizona of (laden) 1364 kg.

i towed last season with this outfit,only 2 of us with gear plus lightweight awning.Data says van is to heavy?any comments from other users of same outfit would be appreciated?THANX,Rich

More details >>>


Volvo V50 - T5 [AWD] and Avondale

Robin Stimpson reviewed on a Volvo V50 - T5 [AWD] (162 Kw/220 bhp year: january 2005 - july 2007) and a Avondale Avocet of (laden) 1344 kg.

after 25 years of caravaning I have'nt had a better outfit than this mpg and towing are amazing

More details >>>


Volvo V50 - 2.0D [MMT6-W3] and Bailey

COLIN HIRD reviewed on a Volvo V50 - 2.0D [MMT6-W3] (100 Kw/136 bhp year: january 2008 - june 2010) and a Bailey Ranger 470 of (laden) 1172 kg.

I tow a 2006 Bailey Ranger 460/4 with my Volvo and can only say that the outfit has proved very stable on all roads. it is fitted with an Alko stabiliser. Motorway speeds are an absolute doddle and you can easily and very quickly accelerate when needed even from 60 mph to pass HGV etc on motorway.Fuel economy is good and i can even use 6th gear on level motorways without loading the engine.

More details >>>


Volvo V50 - 2.4i and Bailey

michael hill reviewed on a Volvo V50 - 2.4i (125 Kw/170 bhp year: april 2004 - june 2010) and a Bailey Senator Oklahoma of (laden) 1422 kg.

towed from west coast to east coast,took 5 hours,starts to snake at around 55mph so keep to 50mph or below...

More details >>>


Volvo V50 - 2.0D and Sterling

DW reviewed on a Volvo V50 - 2.0D (100 Kw/136 bhp year: april 2004 - january 2008) and a Sterling Europa 540 of (laden) 1352 kg.

p.s. - I showed the caravan weight as 1352 as it was probably about that on that day, but it's MTPLM is 1500,which is a bit more than I'd read in the literature -I only found out when I read the badge by the caravan door ! (look out for that one if you're new to buying a caravan like I was!)

More details >>>


Volvo V50 - 2.0D and Sterling

DW reviewed on a Volvo V50 - 2.0D (100 Kw/136 bhp year: april 2004 - january 2008) and a Sterling Europa 540 of (laden) 1352 kg.

On the snowy day we bought the van, it had a heavy awning in the back of the van, so the noseweight was light, and I felt it in the steering and the rear end bouncing a bit, but the short journey to storage(10/15miles) was fine.
since then, I took the van out for some practice manouvering and to take the van home for a 'practice weekend' on the drive at home. We have to get up a 12% hill. When I got stuck behind a bus going up the steepest part, we suffered considerable wheel spin - the road was a bit wet - but we got there; the wheels eventually got traction and we got up the hill far better than I'd expected. The car was empty of goods, and the caravan was virtually empty, except a few light items, and the attached motormover (35kg?). In future, I'll take the stuff we need for a weekend to the van and then tow it to site, rather than take the van home.
When reversing the van on rough ground/loose chippings into its storage space (slightly uphill), I have had a bit of wheel spin, but the engine still stinks of the burning smell which I presume must be from burning the clutch! the car still runs fine though.
Overall, avoiding STEEP hills, this outfit seems fine, but I will load up the car first, and keep the van light, and try other options to avoid burning the clutch (and possibly get a beefier car when I can afford it!

More details >>>


Volvo V50 - 2.0 and Bailey

n fell reviewed on a Volvo V50 - 2.0 (107 Kw/146 bhp year: may 2006 - september 2010) and a Bailey Ranger 460/4 of (laden) 1194 kg.

my v50 tows the caravan with no trouble i cannot fault it always plenty of power but i always make sure that the nose-weight is as near as possible to 75 kgs, and i always make sure that i increase the tyre pressure to the recommended psi for towing ( it does make a difference believe me )

More details >>>


Volvo V50 - 2.0D and Sprite

BA reviewed on a Volvo V50 - 2.0D (100 Kw/136 bhp year: april 2004 - january 2008) and a Sprite Musketeer of (laden) 1204 kg.

i picked up the volvo v50 20 minuites before we set off for Skegness from stoke on trent, (mrs hated other car) impressed i was, and power from the 2.0 ltr diesel engine is more than enough, very stable not a whisper of a wobble "and i dont use an anti snake bar" and over 37 to the gallon on the whole trip fantastic car.

More details >>>


Volvo V50 - 2.0D [MMT6-W3] and Compass

brian lynn reviewed on a Volvo V50 - 2.0D [MMT6-W3] (100 Kw/136 bhp year: january 2008 - june 2010) and a Compass Rallye 482 of (laden) 1400 kg.

I have owned this particular outfit now for a year and probably towed about 2000 miles, as an outfit. Because of the relativaly low payload i only load the items that are needed, awning goes in the boot. My car is a 2008 model and though it is a 95% match and i've been towing for 35 yrs and the caravan is fitted with a stabalising hitch , there is no problem driving at the legal limit on moterways at all , only time traffic may get held up is when i travel at 50 on A roads, i get a return of about 28 mpg on a journey of urban and rural.

More details >>>


Volvo V50 - 2.0D and Coachman

jonathan reviewed on a Volvo V50 - 2.0D (100 Kw/136 bhp year: april 2004 - january 2008) and a Coachman Amara 530/4 of (laden) 1300 kg.

The V50 is very impressive towing car, making easy work of any hill we have come across in over 2000 miles. She is a very stable ride with or without the caravan behind. I cannot fault this car with any aspect of driving. Rock solid, excellent breaks and the engine is a dream - a truly drivers car.

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us