TowCar.info


Outfit Matcher Towing limits User reviews Stability

User Reviews

Select on:

All Volvo XC90 User Reviews

Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. and Elddis

FRED reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. (147 Kw/200 bhp year: october 2011 - october 2014) and a Elddis Crusader Mistral of (laden) 1550 kg.

The Volvo XC90 pulls the van with no problems at all and is very stable, in fact you don`t know you are towing and getting about 25 to 27 mpg is i think not bad at all.

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. and Sprite

Chris M reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: september 2005 - november 2010) and a Sprite Quattro EW of (laden) 1548 kg.

Had this combination for a year now and towed around 1600 miles on motorways and bumpy side roads. Very stable when being overtaken by lorries and buses. Do need to take care with the noseweight and get it between 85 and 90kg for the smoothest tow. Any lighter and although the van is a twin axle it will see-saw up and down a bit giving a slightly disconcerting up and down motion at the back of the car. I'm not a heavy footed driver so performance with the van on the back is similar to driving solo. Overall a pleasure to drive.

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. and Coachman

Andy Watters reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: september 2005 - november 2010) and a Coachman Laser 655/6 of (laden) 1900 kg.

Been using the XC90 for around a year now to tow my Coachman. We've been across to the Continent, down to Cornwall twice and visited the south coast. Not had any drama's and the Volvo has performed flawlessly. Even with a heavy twin axle caravan like the Coachman, it is a pleasure to drive and sits comfortably on the motorway at 65mph. Would recommend to anyone.

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. and Coachman

M. Allan reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: september 2005 - november 2010) and a Coachman Pastiche 560/4 of (laden) 1620 kg.

I bought the Volvo XC 90 after buying a Coachman 560/4 caravan. My previous vehicle was powerful enough but kerb weight was the problem. The Volvo always feels very stable whilst towing and there is none of the dogs tail wagging the dog! The automatic gearbox makes it all very easy. Sometimes I select manual when descending a hill to get a bit engine breaking and save the friction brakes. I find my outfit very easy to handle and the XC 90 is great for long journeys towing or not.

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - D5 and Bailey

Jim bradley reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 (136 Kw/185 bhp year: may 2005 - november 2010) and a Bailey Unicorn Barcelona of (laden) 1686 kg.

Brill 2005xc90 pulls van no problem returns mid20s and very stable when towing can not fault it and very comfortable would recommend as a tow car

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. and Bessacarr

Old Fred reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: september 2005 - november 2010) and a Bessacarr Cameo 495 of (laden) 1500 kg.

Bought the Volvo in February this year to replace 19 year old L/R Discovery, certainly not regretted it. 20 years ago would not have considered towing with an automatic, but this Volvo is brilliant. I have towed the Bessacar 3,459 miles in UK and Germany with an overall average diesel consumption of 24.7mpg towing and around 28 to 30mpg solo. As others have commented the suck/blow from overtaking lorries etc. is not noticeable, unlike with the Disco

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - D5 and Swift

mark richardson reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 (136 Kw/185 bhp year: may 2005 - november 2010) and a Swift Charisma 620 TA of (laden) 1615 kg.

2007 xc90 d5 se lux geartronic.
brilliant towcar, caravan never twitches.great on a roads and motorways too.
regularly returns high 30's solo mpg and mid 20;s towing.
can't fault it really.

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - D5 and Bailey

Ian Gi reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 (136 Kw/185 bhp year: may 2005 - november 2010) and a Bailey Senator Arizona of (laden) 1464 kg.

Towing the Arizona with a 2007 D5 Geartronic 185.
Have no problems with this outfit. Very comfortable, very little buffeting effects from overtaking vehicles or more frequently when doing the overtaking of HGV's and such.
Downsides are the monumental fuel consumption. In 3 years, the best ever achieved solo is 33mpg. Towing mpg not actually as bad as I predicted, at around 25. Don't forget to factor in the whopping car tax.
Overall - great when towing, but expect to pay for the privelage.

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - D5 and Bailey

Gareth reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 (136 Kw/185 bhp year: may 2005 - november 2010) and a Bailey Pageant Ardennes of (laden) 1691 kg.

2010 xc90 D5 manual, towing a bailey pageant ardennes with max load upgrade to 1700kg TA. Only towed with volvo once for about 200 miles each way, very easy due to excellent stability and able to reach 60mph from standing start with little effort. No swaying and very little rocking like you normally get with TA, previous car ford s-max was decent but lacked the pure grunt that the volvo has. Would recommend to anybody as it makes the towing a much less stressful job -probably even relaxing! ! !

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - D5 and Sterling

JEB reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 (136 Kw/185 bhp year: may 2005 - november 2010) and a Sterling Elite Emerald of (laden) 1650 kg.

XC90 T5 Active geartronic. No problem towing, very stable and plenty of torque. Good grip on grass too. No deviation at 60 mph when being passed by busses & trucks - yes, being passed at 60 mph! MPG towing about 26-28 compared to 34 solo.

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - 2.4D [6MT] and Abbey

David reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - 2.4D [6MT] (120 Kw/163 bhp year: september 2003 - august 2005) and a Abbey Aventura 340 of (laden) 1568 kg.

Great towcar, but watch which towbar you fit as many provide a very low towball height and the hassles that brings. Noseweight is also low on this car - typically 90kg and many vans are higher...

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - D5 and Coachman

Chris Martin reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 (136 Kw/185 bhp year: may 2005 - november 2010) and a Coachman Pastiche 560/4 of (laden) 1630 kg.

2010 XC90 2.4D Manual. The Volvo tows the Pastiche very well, on Motorways get to a safe speed and set the cruise and let the car do the work. found very stable even in cross winds!

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - D5 and Bailey

Johnny Currie reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 (136 Kw/185 bhp year: may 2005 - november 2010) and a Bailey Pegasus 646 of (laden) 1708 kg.

2010 XC90 Active 2.4D Geartronic (185 bhp). Very stable, loads of torque - feels safe 10/10

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - 2.4D aut. and Compass

Dave reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - 2.4D aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: september 2002 - august 2005) and a Compass Rallye 636 of (laden) 1819 kg.

Great car pulls my twin axle compass with out any problems. Does not slow down on hills and auto box is a dream. Very stable outfit does not get effected by passing lorries or coach like my Discovery 2 used to. Will def be keeping this car for some time.

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - 2.4D [6MT] and Bailey

steve reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - 2.4D [6MT] (120 Kw/163 bhp year: september 2003 - august 2005) and a Bailey Senator California of (laden) 1459 kg.

Great car as other reviews say you dont know the vans on the back. More than enough power on standard 163bhp. Hand brake(foot brake) can be awkward to use but other than that no problems. Im sure this car could easy cope with a larger van as this combo is very stable in all conditions.;-)

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. and Elddis

Big Stew reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: september 2005 - november 2010) and a Elddis Avante 626 of (laden) 1660 kg.

I have towed with lots of different tow cars over the years and this one is just perfect ! ! ! It pulls far better than the 4.7 ltr Jeep it replaced. Utterly predicable when towing, with no suck and blow when overtaking or being overtaken the latter happens very rarely. Towing MPG is approx 20, Solo just over 30.

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. and Bailey

Darren reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: september 2005 - november 2010) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Bretagne of (laden) 1395 kg.

Just swapped from a 2006 Zafira 1.9cdti to a 2005 XC90 D5 185 Auto. I thought the Zafira was good, but this XC90 is just in another league.
It sits at my normal cruising speed (62-63mph to keep me out of all the other traffic) all day long. I average around 22.5mpg with this mostly motorway driving.

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. and Hobby

Ian Charlton reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: september 2005 - november 2010) and a Hobby Exclusive 540 UL of (laden) 1439 kg.

Genuine detachable towbar, under 30k miles - best towcar ever driven, genuinely effortless - sometimes use the Geartronic to lock it in top, mid 20's to the gallon. Out performs our previous Amazon 4.7 V8 - tows with less drama in cruise. 50kg Thule roofbox on Volvo roof bars doesn't seem to effect the mpg either. Caravan at the Volvo 90kg towbar load suits stability up to and just over the legal limit.

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - 2.4D aut. and Bailey

GP reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - 2.4D aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: september 2002 - august 2005) and a Bailey Pageant Bretagne of (laden) 1458 kg.

Towing Bailey Pagent Bretagne 2008.

We have a transmission problem with the XC90 only when towing or fully loaded with family and bikes...... We had the gearbox oil changed by Volvo Garage as told and still the same.... Apparently the Asin Warner gearbox can have a rare problem with a solenoid valve sticking. Could it be to do with overheating?.... Complained to Volvo who have been very lacklust up to now in helping us with the problem. They say they could replace the solenoid housing for £1500 no guarentee to fix problem or new gearbox £2995. 130K miles on an auto box.

Disapointed with performance, car is really nice tho' when not towing......

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. and Bailey

John Bedlington reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: september 2005 - november 2010) and a Bailey Senator Arizona of (laden) 1406 kg.

An excellent outfit with no downsides. Mileage on the D5 auto is only slightly down (to 28 mpg) when towing and it's easy to forget that you have a van on the back. Last car was a 2006 E class merc 2.2 CDI manual estate and the XC90 is a world better as a towcar. In particular, you can't feel the effect of being overtaken by HGV's etc.

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - 2.4D aut. and SunRoller

Josť Antonio reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - 2.4D aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: september 2002 - august 2005) and a SunRoller Tango 495 luxe of (laden) 1498 kg.

At this moment a have a transmission problem. the alarm only appears when the car tows the caravan. I have to go to Volvo dealer (car is 220kkm by highways)
the gearbox is an AW55-51. I heard problems with XC90 T6 but my car has another kind of transmission.
I bougth the caravan 4 months ago and I have seen the alarm just from the begenning.
??????

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - 2.4D [6MT] and Abbey

Tony Parker reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - 2.4D [6MT] (120 Kw/163 bhp year: september 2003 - august 2005) and a Abbey Aventura 316 of (laden) 1389 kg.

Had a 14 year old van to start with and noticed a lot of clunking but this was down to the shock absorber on the front of the van not anything else, just changed our van to an Abbey Cardinal(Aven 316) and didn't even know I had it on the car.

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - 2.4D aut. and Avondale

Boss reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - 2.4D aut. (120 Kw/163 bhp year: september 2002 - august 2005) and a Avondale Eagle of (laden) 1460 kg.

The match between the excellent towing capability of the XC90 and the stability of the Avondale Eagle make it a dream combination cruise at 60 MPH all day and return approx 24 MPG

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. and Avondale

Ronald Sandeman reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: september 2005 - november 2010) and a Avondale Argente 640-6 of (laden) 1651 kg.

We have the latest XC90 / D5 Auto, and have done 7500 miles with the van on the back this year. Fantastic towing car, you can adjust the ride to suit We use the Sport mode as it hardens up the back and stops the bounce from the double axel. Only draw back the fuel consumption is dreadfull with or without the van attached best I have ever had is 32 [car alone] and 20 towing

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - 2.4D [6MT] and Bailey

neil watson reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - 2.4D [6MT] (120 Kw/163 bhp year: september 2003 - august 2005) and a Bailey Pageant S6 Bretagne of (laden) 1395 kg.

This is my 4th volvo(2xs80,+a v70)i have towed with my v70 and current xc90 and all i can say is that it is as usual superb.Remapped to 195 bhp the caravan is hardly noticable.Everything is v stable even in bad weather,i would find it hard to change except to another volvo.

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. and Coachman

JOHN LAVERTY reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: september 2005 - november 2010) and a Coachman VIP 520/4 of (laden) 1590 kg.

I have found that towing with the XC90 is very comfortable and very smooth there is no wind suction from buses and lorries passing you and find it very easily does any manouver required of it, the fuel consumption is very resonable considering the size of the outfit we are towing even on not so long journeys, all in all a treat to own and drive.

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. and Coachman

Mike reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: september 2005 - november 2010) and a Coachman VIP 530/4 of (laden) 1395 kg.

Towing a 530/4 Coachman Pastiche is so easy and economical 26 mph. You hardly now the 'van is there. Perfect balance, not a hint of 'weave'. Gear ratios are excellent but benefits from using the manual element of the Geartronic system

More details >>>


Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. and Avondale

robert reviewed on a Volvo XC90 - D5 aut. (136 Kw/185 bhp year: september 2005 - november 2010) and a Avondale Land-Ranger 6400 of (laden) 1675 kg.

this is a nice set up we achieve between 20mpg on hard road and upto 27 on the motorway. the gear box seems to be able to adapt to the job very well whilst the suspension the the rear seems some what bouncy at times but is smoth on normal roads a normal tow bar non detachable has been fitted and does not interfear with the revesing sensors.

More details >>>


© 2004-2017 Mobile website About us