Towcar.info

Towcar.info Home Towing limits User reviews Stability About us Menu

User Reviews

Select on:

All Mitsubishi Pajero User Reviews

Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. and Hobby

Matt reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. (125 Kw/170 bhp year: february 2007 - up to now) and a Hobby Premium 650 UFf of (laden) 1870 kg.

Hi
We have a Mitsubishi Shogun auto 3.2 Long, 2017 and a Hobby Premium 650 uff, 2015.
Towing is effortless with this rig, the car returns around 30mpg at speeds not exceeding 60mph. It is as easy to manoeuvre in camp sites as it is on the open road. The noise levels are low and the power delivery from the 3.2 is smooth and effortless. We opted for the SG4 which is well equipped and comfortable for the two of us and our dog. In summary simply outstanding.

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. and Coachman

jake reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. (125 Kw/170 bhp year: february 2007 - up to now) and a Coachman Amara 570/6 of (laden) 1585 kg.

i have a MK4 2014 shogun 3.2 Di-D (198bhp/441NM) but its not listed here....

i must be hyper sensitive because i can definitely tell i have a 1600kg 7.5m long box dragging behind me. OK its not as noticeable as my previous car (outlander) but i still know its there, irritates me when caravanners boast "tows like the caravan isnt there" because common sense tells you the additional weight and wind resistance is going to have an effect on the performance (of course this is common sense and that doesn't really come into caravanning does it ha ha).

back to the review

good points: tows absolutely rock solid which takes a lot of the stress out of the towing experience. the Gadget spec in my SG4 keeps my sons so happy they dont want to get out of the car when we arrive and dont complain "are we nearly there yet". for me its compertable and it can carry a lot of stuff or 6 passengers if required.

bad points: fuel consumption is dreadful 19mpg towing 32 on a long trip 30mpg round town (on a good day). costs £90 to fill with diesel and will burn that in 300 miles towing which makes for an expensive weekend away (compared with driving a small car to a hotel)

Auto box is shockingly bad, at 60mph on cruise switches between overdrive and 5th regularly when a small ammount of additional power required and it cant be manually overridden. the engine sits at 2500rpm when not in overdrive so makes it noisy. the old school torque converter seems to slip most of the time as well the car would be so much nicer with a 6 speed manual or a DSG type auto.

the shogun really is a Utility vehicle with some nice refinements in the cabin but it drives and feels like an agricultural vehicle.

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD and Swift

Stuart Winstanley reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 2004 - january 2008) and a Swift Challenger 570 of (laden) 1592 kg.

Had my Shogun Sport for 5 years now I couldnt ask for a more stable car when towing my 2010 Swift Challenger 570 even in windy conditions.i average around 25 mpg and although underpowered when i got it it never missed a beat either driving solo or towing down to cornwall and surrounding areas.Got it chipped by a company called Tunit and had the EGR valve blocked off and cat removed and what a difference it has made.Now producing around 150bhp instead of 115bhp,torque is up and although it struggles on some steep inclines it will now motor along effortlessly with no signs of problems or decline in fuel usage.
Will I swap for something newer......Maybe but not yet!

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. and Avondale

Jock reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. (118 Kw/160 bhp year: march 2003 - february 2007) and a Avondale Dart 510-5 of (laden) 1225 kg.

Superb all rounder *****

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD and Compass

brian jeffery reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 2004 - january 2008) and a Compass Omega 524 L of (laden) 1475 kg.

I have been all round uk with my shogun sport and my compass omega 524 have not had any problems at all in 5 years. best tow car I have had

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 3.0 V6 aut. and Elddis

Paul k reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 3.0 V6 aut. (125 Kw/170 bhp year: september 2004 - january 2008) and a Elddis Odyssey 550 of (laden) 1547 kg.

Trips to the continent were effortless, The vehicle is comfortable and quiet on long journeys. It pulls the van with ease and power to spare. Yes it drinks fuel 18 mpg, But the comfort arrrrr !!!

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D and Jurgens

D vo0n Benecke reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D (118 Kw/160 bhp year: march 2003 - february 2007) and a Jurgens Oryx of (laden) 978 kg.

Auto tows like a dream. Always enough power and torque for any hill. Diesel cunsumption not that good when towing at about 95 km/h = 18mpg

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. and Caravan

julian redgrave reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. (118 Kw/160 bhp year: march 2003 - february 2007) and a Caravan of (laden) 250 kg.

Mit. Shogun LWB 3.2 did. Super tow vehicle. Will tow anything. We have a twin axel Ace supreme twinstar. Drove 1500 miles all over France. 20 to the gallon !! Brilliant mpg for such a heavy outfit. I have a front tow ball. Well woth the effort making it. I would like movers though.Just for the added convenience.

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 2.5 TD and Swift

kev reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 2.5 TD (73 Kw/99 bhp year: may 2000 - march 2003) and a Swift Challenger 470 of (laden) 1292 kg.

Excellent - Dont know its on the back- Total confidence.

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. and Geist

RichM reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. (118 Kw/160 bhp year: march 2003 - february 2007) and a Geist Xklusive 630 of (laden) 1770 kg.

Excellent tow car (Shogun LWB auto 2012)pulls with ease in all conditions. Stable and comfortable tug. Will handle any caravan perfectly.

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. and Elddis

D Gray reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. (121 Kw/165 bhp year: may 2000 - march 2003) and a Elddis Odyssey 634 of (laden) 1725 kg.

Shogun and elddis odyssey 634 2010 go together brilliantly pulls and stops has though you are pulling a lighter van

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 2.5 TD and Hobby

stewart hills reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 2.5 TD (73 Kw/99 bhp year: may 2000 - march 2003) and a Hobby Premium 720 UML of (laden) 2120 kg.

93 pagero 2.5 swb auto towing a bessecar 550 (1345) lands end to john o groats over 3 years hardly knew it was on the back best towcar i have ever had

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. and Swift

Tim reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. (125 Kw/170 bhp year: february 2007 - up to now) and a Swift Conqueror 655 TA of (laden) 1680 kg.

I recently towed the van to Spain and back. Great performance - hardly knew the van was there! Full av 25mpg - not bad considering the wife "packed" her summer outfits.

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D and Abbey

DAVY-GRAVY reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D (121 Kw/165 bhp year: may 2000 - march 2003) and a Abbey GTS Vogue 517 of (laden) 1445 kg.

MY SHOGUN DRIVES AS THOUGH THERES NOTHING HITCHED UP BEHIND,AND RETURNS VERY GOOD FUEL CONSUMPTION EVEN ON THE HILLY BITS..NO MORE SMELLY CLUTCH!

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. and Elddis

Kev reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. (121 Kw/165 bhp year: may 2000 - march 2003) and a Elddis Crusader Cyclone of (laden) 1820 kg.

Brilliant car for towing, doesn't feel like anything is on the back of the car.

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. and Swift

Tim reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. (118 Kw/160 bhp year: march 2003 - february 2007) and a Swift Conqueror 655 TA of (laden) 1680 kg.

Awesome. Never falters tows with ease.

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. and Swift

Tim reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. (125 Kw/170 bhp year: february 2007 - up to now) and a Swift Conqueror 645 of (laden) 1732 kg.

GREAT!! I have yet to do a long journey but quite honestly you forget that the van is on the back. Highly recommend

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. and Coachman

John reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. (121 Kw/165 bhp year: may 2000 - march 2003) and a Coachman Laser 590/4 of (laden) 1755 kg.

Mitsubishi is a brilliant tow car. reliable to a fault. Pulls the coachman with no problems. Don't really notice the van's on the back at all. Consumption down to the teens when towing but good when solo.

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD and Sterling

Roy reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 2004 - january 2008) and a Sterling Europa 550 of (laden) 1470 kg.

Just picked up new caravan and towed it approx 60 miles with the Mitsi which we bought after reading the reviews on sites like this. First impression is we chose correctly as it tows like a dream. It could as others have said use a 6th gear but you cannot have everything. On first impressions power and stability are excellent.

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD and Adria

A.Pemberton reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 2004 - january 2008) and a Adria Adora Plus 642 UP of (laden) 1670 kg.

Most stable 4x4 i've used for towing - suspension harder so less body roll - only one wife happy to sleep in while I tow. Averaging 22-24mpg towing a large van. Could do with a bit more bhp for the hills but if judged correctly (gear selection) and doing 60mph at start of hill climbs well.

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD and Adria

Andy reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 2004 - january 2008) and a Adria Altea 461 of (laden) 1100 kg.

Fantastic heavy car with a light caravan actually means you can almost forget the van is there. Extremely stable even when the big trucks come by. Pulls brilliantly and mpg is no worse than my old Volvo 850/v70 at about 25 to the gallon. Could do with an overdrive or extra gear sometimes, and I would probably say it is a better car with the caravan on. Has all the toys I need and would be capable of towing a much larger van with ease and peace of mind.

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD and Bailey

Paul reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 2004 - january 2008) and a Bailey Pageant Bordeaux of (laden) 1321 kg.

The Shogun towing a Bailey Pageant is sound. Comfortable easy ride. There are times when you would think there was nothing on the back. The manufacturer states that the caravan can be towed at a maximum speed of 81 MPH (illegal I know), I did stray up to 70mph on a trip back from Somerset and it pulled a dream. The fuel consumption is good too. I think that this car would pull any fully laden caravan anywhere easily. Perfect Match.

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. and Hobby

Rich reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. (118 Kw/160 bhp year: march 2003 - february 2007) and a Hobby De Luxe 560 KMFe of (laden) 1600 kg.

Ive not towed far yet but have drove on all roads and the outfit is very stable

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 2.5 TD and Compass

Bert reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 2.5 TD (73 Kw/99 bhp year: may 2000 - march 2003) and a Compass Omega 432 of (laden) 1260 kg.

We have taken our caravan all around the hills of Ireland and it has been pleasant,with the Pajero more than capable

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD and Swift

steve pearce reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 2004 - january 2008) and a Swift Challenger 490 of (laden) 1550 kg.

towed all over yorks east coast felt realy comfortable fuel was around 25/27 miles to the gal depended which way we took, m1/a64 or a1 m62, but a great car with plenty of guts

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Pinin 2.0 Gdi and Abbey

rodger reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Pinin 2.0 Gdi (95 Kw/129 bhp year: february 2001 - september 2004) and a Abbey GTS 215 of (laden) 1226 kg.

Although this review is for a Abbey GT 214 1989 model the weight and dimensions are the about same as the GT 215.
We took the caravan to Welshpool for a weekend from Sheffield. I had no trouble at all with towing and was able to use 5th gear for 85/95% of the time. We were carrying two small gas bottles(both full) and a full awning with steel poles. On the A38/M6/M54 we travelled at 60mph most of the time.

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. and Compass

Colin Jessop reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. (125 Kw/170 bhp year: february 2007 - up to now) and a Compass Rallye 634 of (laden) 1889 kg.

the mitsubishi is a perfect tow car and ideal for this compass caravan infact it could be considered too good as at times you forget that it has a caravan attached to the back, we have been all over england with our car and caravan and never encounted a single problem a abosolute joy, we only get upset at the end of our trips and spend the days counting down to our next trp away

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 3.0 V6 aut. and Sterling

Gooner reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 3.0 V6 aut. (125 Kw/170 bhp year: september 2004 - january 2008) and a Sterling Elite Searcher of (laden) 1732 kg.

Perfect tow vehicle. Complete outfit is extremely stable in all conditions with plenty of spare power when overtaking or on steep inclines. I cannot ever envisage there will be any situation that this outfit will not cope with well. The only minor problem is fuel consumption, aprox. 18-22mpg when towing, but there - it's only money!!!!

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. and Swift

doug reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D aut. (121 Kw/165 bhp year: may 2000 - march 2003) and a Swift Charisma 550 of (laden) 1383 kg.

brilliant tow ,dont even feel the caravan is there,fuel consumption is not much less than solo

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD and Swift

peter reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 2004 - january 2008) and a Swift Conqueror 630 of (laden) 1715 kg.

used my shogun sports to pull my swift 630 and sounds daft but car drives better with caravan on theback.pulls realy well but need to select right gears on motorways.

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD and Lunar

Dean reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 2004 - january 2008) and a Lunar Clubman 530-4 of (laden) 1350 kg.

New to vanning, but found the Mitsy plenty enough for my van. Have been all over England and only had the vanfor 18 months. Averaged 25mpg. Very happy even on muddy pitches. Could do with a bit more creature comforts from the Mitsy though. Bit basic inside.

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD and Coachman

Paul N reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 2004 - january 2008) and a Coachman Amara 580 of (laden) 1550 kg.

I had this car for 18 months heavy on fuel down to 17 MPG on motorway, road tax now 400 notes, now changed to Kia Sorento halfed my running costs had the Kia for 3 months very pleased with it recommend you change to a Kia

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD and Ace

peter reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 2004 - january 2008) and a Ace Supreme Globestar of (laden) 1678 kg.

I am more than happy with my rig. I get roughly 25 mpg. and have no problems when on the road in any weather conditions, includeing the stormy run earlier thias year...Thanks for the info...a great help.

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD and Fleetwood

steve twinam reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 2004 - january 2008) and a Fleetwood Heritage 640-I TA of (laden) 1580 kg.

towed a fully loaded eldiss super scirroco (1900 kg) all over europe. Performance and fuel consumption constant at 25 mpg. could not ask for a more solid and reliable tow motor



More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD and Hobby

paul haworth reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 2004 - january 2008) and a Hobby Prestige 650 UMFe of (laden) 1934 kg.

the mitsubushi 2.8 lwb shogun, towing a hobby 650 umf 5 berth at 96 percent did well but watch ur temperature guage! on the steep motoway climbs!!!!!

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Pinin 2.0 Gdi and Avondale

Al reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Pinin 2.0 Gdi (95 Kw/129 bhp year: february 2001 - september 2004) and a Avondale Dart 556-6 of (laden) 1245 kg.

This is the first van we have towed, about 1300kg with some equipment on board, so as about close to the car/van ratio i would like to get.
The Pinin pulls up any hills however steep, and likewise feels under control going down hill again, don't feel any snaking or drifting at all, and has been superb on wet grass fields whilst camping this Easter, using 4wd it gives the confidence to pull on / off any pitch without even a wheel spin.
However the only but worrying issue so far is that whenever i reverse the caravan the Pinin clutch gets very hots and smells like its been ruined, hence all ok again when it cools.
Have booked the caravan for a chasis service soon, just in case the reversing is causing any automatic braking issues ?

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD and Compass

Roger reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 2004 - january 2008) and a Compass Rallye 482 of (laden) 1400 kg.

Tows the outfit fully laden without any problem and very stable in all weathers and roads, a very flexible vehicle, consumption a constant 26 mpg.

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD and Sterling

George reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 2004 - january 2008) and a Sterling Eccles Jewel of (laden) 1484 kg.

Towed both van and car fully loaded around europe including alpes with no problem..didn't know I had it on the back..excellent!!

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 3.0 V6 and Elddis

mark harding reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 3.0 V6 (125 Kw/170 bhp year: september 2004 - january 2008) and a Elddis Avante 556 of (laden) 1414 kg.

effortless vehicle does lose some power on long up hill runs but appart from that this car is a good all rounder. fuel can be expensive though but safety feel factor is a bigger selling point with this car. excellent

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 2.5 TD and Caravan

jack reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 2.5 TD (73 Kw/99 bhp year: may 2000 - march 2003) and a Caravan of (laden) 250 kg.

it is just great up hill and down dale it does not know it pulling 2500kg of caravan

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD and Swift

Martin reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 TD (85 Kw/116 bhp year: september 2004 - january 2008) and a Swift Conqueror 630 of (laden) 1715 kg.

I towed my swift conqueror from Lincoln to the lake district With both car and van fully loaded without any problem. I got on average 26 mpg.

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D and Elddis

T Boucher reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D (121 Kw/165 bhp year: may 2000 - march 2003) and a Elddis Avante 534 of (laden) 1425 kg.

Superb tow car. rarely out of 5th gear.on long run. Up hills superb

More details >>>


Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D and Hobby

kenny reviewed on a Mitsubishi Pajero 3.2 Di-D (121 Kw/165 bhp year: may 2000 - march 2003) and a Hobby Prestige 650 KFU of (laden) 1742 kg.

excellent lots of power both up hill and motorway can stay on 2w drive

More details >>>


Select

Select a car to read the user reviews

Write your review: