Towcar.info

User Reviews

Jaguar X-Type

Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 D and Elddis

Neil. Williams reviewed on 25 July 2016 a Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 D (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2003 - 2008) with a Elddis Xplore 304 of 1069 kg.

First used this when I had an esterel Folding caravan and it drove as if there really wasnt anything attached. Moved up to the Elddis Xplore last year and pulls really well, sits most of the time in 5th on the motorway, has plenty of low down grunt if needed and always feels very stable. Averaging around 31mpg with caravan attached and 48mpg without it. Excellent tow car

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Estate 3.0 V6 aut. and Lunar

Terry Green reviewed on 23 July 2015 a Jaguar X-Type Estate 3.0 V6 aut. (169 Kw/230 PS, Year: 2004 - 2010) with a Lunar Lexon 540 of 1465 kg.

The car tows fantastically bags of power and auto is no problem going up hills a breeze

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 D and Lunar

David Pitt reviewed on 14 June 2015 a Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 D (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2003 - 2008) with a Lunar Clubman CK of 1265 kg.

I have had my Jaguar for 7 years and I think its probably the most under-rated car I have owned. Before the Lunar I had a Swift Conqueror 540. I always got 30mpg. The smaller Lunar Clubman makes me forget its there. MPG isn't really any better but the car just keeps on giving. It will hold legal speeds even up Telegraph Hill. Average 40MPG and 145 a year road tax, with all the comfort.....what more could you ask for.

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Estate 2.0 D and Compass

Kevin Joynson reviewed on 18 June 2014 a Jaguar X-Type Estate 2.0 D (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2004 - 2008) with a Compass Corona 626 of 1450 kg.

Scary over 45 been towing vans for 40 years worst one ever! Nice van , nice car poor match!

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Estate 2.0 D and Bailey

Paul Thresher reviewed on 26 March 2013 a Jaguar X-Type Estate 2.0 D (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2004 - 2008) with a Bailey Pageant Sancerre of 1415 kg.

X type 2.0d estate towing a Bailey pageant sancerre.The jag uar is a highly under rated tow car.The torque from the 2.0 engine is amazing,hills and dales no problem!

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Estate 2.2 D and Lunar

Steve reviewed on 13 August 2011 a Jaguar X-Type Estate 2.2 D (107 Kw/146 PS, Year: 2005 - 2010) with a Lunar Clubman SI of 1460 kg.

Since my last review I've changed my van to a 2011 Lunar Clubman SI and I have to say again the X-type estate proves to be a good tow car, the better quality suspension and chassis of the Clubman van (compared to the Solaris) is evident in the smoother ride (less pitching), plus the ATC stability control on the Clubman makes for a less worrying journey on windy days.

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Estate 2.2 D and Caravan

Ronnie watts reviewed on 30 May 2011 a Jaguar X-Type Estate 2.2 D (107 Kw/146 PS, Year: 2005 - 2010) with a Caravan of n.a. kg.

The Jaguar 2.2D estate is a great tow car,stability and torque add up to easy driving .The main problem on motorways is keeping within the 60 mph speed limit.
We tow a Bailey Ranger 500/5.
I will need to replace this car in the next year or so and doubt I will find another estate to match this Jaguar.

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 D and Bailey

Terry Jones reviewed on 28 February 2011 a Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 D (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2003 - 2008) with a Bailey Senator Indiana of 1464 kg.

I have had jaguar X Type from new in 2004 and have towed a Bailey Indiana for many thousands of miles on the continent. Towing knocks my usual mid forties per gallon down to 24 mpg. The CO2 for this car is under 150 and I am paying the same road tax as my wife's KA !! This model Jaguar should receive more praise, a fabulous car.

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Estate 2.2 D and Lunar

Steve reviewed on 16 January 2010 a Jaguar X-Type Estate 2.2 D (107 Kw/146 PS, Year: 2005 - 2010) with a Lunar Solaris of 1410 kg.

The Jaguar 2.2 diesel engine coupled with the six speed auto box makes a great tow car and pulls our Solaris van effortlessly. Stability is excellent and this year I have towed on several days when the wind has been strong (we live by the sea) and not once have I had a problem.

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Estate 2.5 V6 aut. and Elddis

Russell reviewed on 07 October 2009 a Jaguar X-Type Estate 2.5 V6 aut. (144 Kw/196 PS, Year: 2004 - 2010) with a Elddis Avante 474 of 1335 kg.

Generally a good match and a pleasure to drive and tow but have reservations when towing in steep hill arreas when auto bbox gets easily mixed up and have to revert to changing gear manually.

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.5 V6 aut. and Lunar

Leslie J Morrow reviewed on 01 September 2009 a Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.5 V6 aut. (144 Kw/196 PS, Year: 2001 - 2010) with a Lunar Lexon EB of 1370 kg.

No problems at all towing Lunar Lexon EB with Jaguar X-Type 2.5 V6 manual over past 3 years. Gearing is perfect for towing this van and car returns average 24mpg towing and 27mpg solo. Very reliable vehicle. Lexon great layout.

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.2 D and Abbey

Bob w reviewed on 25 August 2009 a Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.2 D (107 Kw/146 PS, Year: 2005 - 2010) with a Abbey Vogue 495 of 1454 kg.

I tow an Abbey Vogue 495 with a Jaguar X type estate 2.2 sport premium diesel. I find performance is good but 6th gear is not much use unless you are on the flat or downward incline on a motorway. No problems pulling off. Noseweight limit of 75kg is a bit low though.

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.2 D and Caravan

Ian B reviewed on 16 August 2009 a Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.2 D (107 Kw/146 PS, Year: 2005 - 2010) with a Caravan of 1200 kg.

I tow on Abbey Aventura 2003 and I try to keep the nose weight at around 65kg. No problems towing great on inclines and steady on the flat. i would say that it is as good as it gets for a saloon car.

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Estate 2.0 D and Elddis

Martin rignall reviewed on 03 August 2009 a Jaguar X-Type Estate 2.0 D (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2004 - 2008) with a Elddis Odyssey 484 of 1424 kg.

this was prefect match with my jag 2ltr est
and odyssey 484 spot on nice to drive had it for 7months went to glos and suffolk area no problem so far

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 D and Coachman

I.F.Braggins reviewed on 15 June 2009 a Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 D (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2003 - 2008) with a Coachman Amara 380/2 of 1205 kg.

Just completed 2300 miles to John o Groats & back to west sussex had x type 2.d from new 2007 & Amara380/2 since April 2008 also from new great combination no problems 28.5 mpg on trip often had to make sure caravan was still there and back off on motorways.reviwed by I.F.Braggins

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 D and Sterling

John Taylor reviewed on 08 April 2009 a Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 D (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2003 - 2008) with a Sterling Eccles SE Topaz of 1370 kg.

I have towed my Sterling Eccles with my Jaguar X type deisel, both bought new in 2004. In 2006 We toured over 3000 miles around Europe including some very steep passes in Switzerland which it climbed very easily. On Motorways it is always stable and relaxing. On the europe trip we acheived an average of 32mpg for 3000 miles over a 33 day period.

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 D and Compass

Simon sim reviewed on 28 March 2009 a Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 D (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2003 - 2008) with a Compass Corona 534 of 1425 kg.

hi , i have a 2.O D towing a compass 534 its the best match we have had , we have coverd over 12000.towing the compass in 18months and not a single problem. 26mpg towing not bad ah.

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.2 D and Ace

Paul reviewed on 14 January 2009 a Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.2 D (107 Kw/146 PS, Year: 2005 - 2010) with a Ace Jubilee Globetrotter of 1450 kg.

good all round car and caravan statement

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.5 V6 aut. and Bailey

Geoff Willing reviewed on 02 August 2008 a Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.5 V6 aut. (144 Kw/196 PS, Year: 2001 - 2010) with a Bailey Discovery 400 of 1159 kg.

Have been towing with X type 2.5 auto for a couple of years. Performs well and no problems in towing my Bailey Pageant Majestic. Set the cruise control and let it do the work, which it does competently. 4 wheel drive is a bonus on wet fields. Returns about 18-20 mpg towing, about the same as around town solo. Thinking of going for LPG for economy at a cost of about 1600.

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 D and Compass

David Armstong reviewed on 05 June 2008 a Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 D (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2003 - 2008) with a Compass Omega 524 L of 1475 kg.

HI I have had my X-type 2004 for 4 years I have been towing a Compass 524 for the last 3 years and I have had no problems the car could go on forever and at times the only reminder that I am towing is the wind as it catches the van. I have never had a problem even on steep hills.

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 V6 and Sprite

Karl Prosser reviewed on 09 May 2008 a Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 V6 (115 Kw/156 PS, Year: 2002 - 2005) with a Sprite Major 6 of 1375 kg.

My X-Type is converted to run on LPG (52p/litre in UK) and I average 14mpg when towing (24mpg solo). Stability is fine but then I have the ALKO stabilizer and electronic stability system fitted to the Sprite. Acceleration when towing is acceptable. Noseweight is a little bit limiting at 60Kg.

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 V6 and Bailey

Rex reviewed on 26 April 2008 a Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 V6 (115 Kw/156 PS, Year: 2002 - 2005) with a Bailey Ranger 470/4 of 1167 kg.

It's a great tow car and I could easily outperform trucks on motorways but the downside is that the fuel consumption goes up dramatically. At cruising speed with gentle acceleration I can achieve 25-30 mpg. Also its very stable although I do have a stabiliser fitted. I get no side effect by passing trucks.

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 D and Avondale

John Leader reviewed on 18 March 2008 a Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.0 D (96 Kw/131 PS, Year: 2003 - 2008) with a Avondale Dart 525-4 of 1240 kg.

I've had the X-type for 4 years from new & it's been a great buy. I've towed an Avondale Dart 525-4 for the last year & when towing the only thing to slow progress is the wind resistance of the Dart.;which is normal.The Dart is narrower than many current caravans which makes things even easier. i constantly need to remind myself that it's attached. I also love the 525-4 Dart,so I'm therefore quite a happy bunny!

Outfit Match >>>


Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.5 V6 and Coachman

Mr N Drury reviewed on 10 March 2007 a Jaguar X-Type Saloon 2.5 V6 (144 Kw/196 PS, Year: 2001 - 2010) with a Coachman Amara 500 of 1400 kg.

i tow my coachman with my jag 2.5 xtype and the drive is smooth and unhindered, aceleration is fine and very easy to keep up a respectable speed, economy is very good and hills are no problem at all. overall the jag has been the best car ive had for towing and would recomend it for every one

Outfit Match >>>


Select Car and Model

Outfit matcher:




Optional