Towcar.info

User Reviews

Landrover Range Rover

Landrover Range Rover 3.6 TDV8 and Lunar

Peter Rodgers reviewed on 18 February 2018 a Landrover Range Rover 3.6 TDV8 (200 Kw/272 PS, Year: 2006 - 2010) with a Lunar Delta TI of 1680 kg.

I have a Luna Delta TI 2012 twin axle and aol control.
Towing with my Range Rover is effortless although fuel economy was running at around 19mpg.
Pulling on just about any hill was no effort at all and I found no snaking while towing at speed, if anything you must keep an eye on your speed as it can creep up very easily!

Outfit Match >>>


Landrover Range Rover 3.6 TDV8 and Compass

Craig reviewed on 20 November 2017 a Landrover Range Rover 3.6 TDV8 (200 Kw/272 PS, Year: 2006 - 2010) with a Compass Omega 544 of 1560 kg.

Used to tow with a 3.0tdi Audi A8 and I thought that was excellent but the Range Rover is in another league. You really don’t feel the caravan on the car at all. The car bearly has to work to shift the van even up hills. It very rarely changes down to even go up hills. With the van on the Range Rover recognises that it’s towing and holds on to gears for a little longer. The best thing is that when you are going down hill if you initially brake the car to a speed you feel comfortable with for going down the hill then take your foot of the accelerator the Range Rover will downshift and use engine braking to hold the van and car at that speed without the need to constantly brake.. All in all a v8 diesel Range Rover is going to tow anything. You can’t go wrong. Fuel economy is (for me anyway) 30mpg without the caravan on motorways and about 27mpg with the van on. I did pay to de carbon the engine which improved my mpg from 25mpg without van and almost 20mpg with the van. Well worth spending £300 to get this done.

Outfit Match >>>


Landrover Range Rover 4.4 SDV8 and Bessacarr

Roger Gilliat reviewed on 08 October 2016 a Landrover Range Rover 4.4 SDV8 (250 Kw/340 PS, Year: 2013 - 2017) with a Bessacarr Cameo 625 of 1810 kg.

Best tow car you can buy. No issues with weight, power, stability or more importantly stress.
Pulls my Cameo 625 with ease with no noticeable change in fuel consumption

Outfit Match >>>


Landrover Range Rover 4.4 SDV8 and Coachman

Marc reviewed on 12 July 2016 a Landrover Range Rover 4.4 SDV8 (250 Kw/340 PS, Year: 2013 - 2017) with a Coachman Pastiche 575 of 1510 kg.

As you would expect the Range rover handles towing a coachman 575 beautifully. From power point of view you dont know your even towing and the caravan tows superb. Highly recommend a range rover for caravaning

Outfit Match >>>


Landrover Range Rover 3.6 TDV8 and Sterling

William Rowe reviewed on 08 July 2015 a Landrover Range Rover 3.6 TDV8 (200 Kw/272 PS, Year: 2006 - 2010) with a Sterling Europa 620 TA of 1615 kg.

I have just purchased this outfit and I am over the moon with the performance of both stunning is the only word I can describe,with the Range Rover it is effortless to go anywhere let's not forget my Sterling Europa ,shower flush toilet and wash hand basin toilet area has a full size door that locks,next is a fixed bed with a sliding partition next is a good size lounge all in all an extremely good outfit very satisfied caravanner .

Outfit Match >>>


Landrover Range Rover 3.0 Td6 and Bailey

Ian MacDonald reviewed on 01 June 2014 a Landrover Range Rover 3.0 Td6 (130 Kw/177 PS, Year: 2002 - 2006) with a Bailey Senator Wyoming of 1635 kg.

Hi, I tow my Bailey Senator Wyoming with a Range Rover L 322. I can honestly say the RR is simply head and shoulders over the other tow cars I have used. Whilst fuel economy is not bad, we are safe in knowledge that the outfit is very very stable. Mind you need to keep checking your mirrors has you don't feel it behind you.

Outfit Match >>>


Landrover Range Rover 3.0 Td6 and Fleetwood

Royboy35 reviewed on 05 May 2014 a Landrover Range Rover 3.0 Td6 (130 Kw/177 PS, Year: 2002 - 2006) with a Fleetwood Heritage 530-3 of 1380 kg.

first time towing , was nervous , but towing with the range rover made it an easy stress free job. we negotiated motorway on the A1, got through Knaresborough & Harrogate. and country roads to Settle. didnt even feel the van on the back.and we even returned a decent MPG .

Outfit Match >>>


Landrover Range Rover 3.0 Td6 and Swift

John reviewed on 07 July 2012 a Landrover Range Rover 3.0 Td6 (130 Kw/177 PS, Year: 2002 - 2006) with a Swift Charisma 565 of 1576 kg.

feel relaxed towing with this car because i know its up to the job.did france last year got 19 miles to the gallon with the van fully loaded and 3bikes on top of car .best tow car i have ever had arrived at site chilled

Outfit Match >>>


Landrover Range Rover 3.0 Td6 and Hobby

Jamsie423 reviewed on 15 March 2012 a Landrover Range Rover 3.0 Td6 (130 Kw/177 PS, Year: 2002 - 2006) with a Hobby Premium 650 UFf of 1800 kg.

Effortless, nothing else I can say but a joy to drive and tow with. After recently owning a Discovery3 2.7TDV6 I can honestly say the stability seemed better than the Discovery. Disco is still a fantastic car but the Range Rover/Premium combination is fantastic.

Outfit Match >>>


Landrover Range Rover 3.0 Td6 and Buccaneer

Splutterycar reviewed on 07 November 2011 a Landrover Range Rover 3.0 Td6 (130 Kw/177 PS, Year: 2002 - 2006) with a Buccaneer Caravel of 1940 kg.

Great combination. Vehicle pulls the Buccaneer effortlessly. You truly don't know it's behind you. No problems uphill and superb pulling away.

Outfit Match >>>


Landrover Range Rover 3.6 TDV8 and Sterling

Ray Roberts reviewed on 08 June 2010 a Landrover Range Rover 3.6 TDV8 (200 Kw/272 PS, Year: 2006 - 2010) with a Sterling Elite Explorer of 1732 kg.

The Car is absolute perfection; to say that we are ecstatic would be an understatement

Outfit Match >>>


Landrover Range Rover 3.0 Td6 and Bailey

Closet Caravanner reviewed on 21 April 2010 a Landrover Range Rover 3.0 Td6 (130 Kw/177 PS, Year: 2002 - 2006) with a Bailey Pageant Bretagne of 1458 kg.

Fabulous combination, other than higher revs than usual I can barely feel I have a fully laden caravan on the back of the mighty Range Rover. A superb car in all respects and the self levelling air suspension and towing mode make the car an excellent snail dragger.

Outfit Match >>>


Landrover Range Rover V8 and Wilk

DAVID HEATH reviewed on 20 December 2009 a Landrover Range Rover V8 (97 Kw/132 PS, Year: 1979 - 1981) with a Wilk S4-700 of 1735 kg.

I tow a 29ft wilk caravan with a 1992 3.9 RRC. it is a excellent tug, i have pulled on and off boggy sites and up steep welsh mountains lanes. it is more than happy at top side of 60mph as it is just crusing. ive often thought about trading it in for a newer 4x4 but what can match that mighty V8. Yes it is a thristy set up but its a price to pay for a superb tool that wont fail you. I will also just say that iam a truck driver and work with machines that pull all day long, so iam quite i good judge in that department.

Outfit Match >>>


Landrover Range Rover 4.4 V8 and Swift

Andrew bryan reviewed on 24 May 2009 a Landrover Range Rover 4.4 V8 (210 Kw/286 PS, Year: 2002 - 2005) with a Swift Conqueror 645 of 1690 kg.

like to tell you if u want a tow car for a big caravan you got to get the range rover vogue hills however steep you just cruise upyou dont really need towing mirrors as the cars as wide as the caravan on the saftey side when driving you are so high up you can see any problem on the moterway before other cars in the rain you hardley get any spray when i brought the car i had it converted to lpg for 2300 so starts on petrol the after 30 seconds goes onto lpg so where on petrol 13mpg lpg half price so for 5.00 get 30 mpg so better than a car and you have the sheer comfort and luxury and it does look the part

Outfit Match >>>


Landrover Range Rover 4.4 V8 and Caravan

Alen codlin reviewed on 21 March 2008 a Landrover Range Rover 4.4 V8 (225 Kw/306 PS, Year: 2005 - 2007) with a Caravan of 1250 kg.

super , gas conversion fitted , super economy ave 17/20 mpg towing on gas , @ 40 to 55p oer litre . 22to 24 solo brill would not swap for any other . simply the best .

Outfit Match >>>


Landrover Range Rover V8 and Elddis

Andrew reviewed on 07 March 2008 a Landrover Range Rover V8 (97 Kw/132 PS, Year: 1979 - 1981) with a Elddis Crusader Cyclone of 1839 kg.

Unfortuantely my Range Rover Classic model is not included in this website, I have a 1994 RRC 4.2 LSE. It is a totally awsome towcar, if you can afford to put fuel in it. It costs less to insure than my Nissan Micra, even without no-claims benifit and is pretty cheap to service.

My current caravan is an Eldiss twin axle, MIRO about 1600kg, MTPLM 1900kg, the RR is about 2100Kg kerb and 2600MAM. Unlike a lot of soft-roaders the RRC is built to tow, maximum noseweight is a whopping 150kg and it tows best if you make use of it, I load up to the maximum 100kg allowed by the caravan coupling which is a Winterhoff stabiliser.

Being a LWB RRC, the LSE is a very stable towcar and the air suspension keeps it well under control. The massive V8 also gives fantastic engine braking, even with the auto box. Being a proper off-roader is has a lock-up clutch in the gearbox for 1st gear descents, on Blue Bank near Whitby, a long 1 in 10 the RR can hold back the caravan with little or no use of the brakes, without resorting to the low ratio of the transfer box.

The most I have towed is 3000kg, obviously when your trailer weighs more than your car you need to be careful, the one danger with the RRC is that it's so stable you can get a false sense of security, the engine has plenty of power in reserve even towing near it's limit of 3500kg but for long journeys it is worth considering extra cooling, I have fitted an extra gearbox oil cooler, a new radiator and viscous fan.

As with any older car it is worth joining an owner's club for advice on running, insuring and repairing such a car.

Outfit Match >>>


Select Car and Model

Outfit matcher:




Optional