Towcar.info

User Reviews

Lexus RX

Lexus RX300 and Lunar

Alan reviewed on 12 August 2020 a Lexus RX300 (164 Kw/223 PS, Year: 2000 - 2003) with a Lunar Lexon 640 RS of 1525 kg.

I've been driving this combo since mid 2018, on eight trips thus far. Even fully laden the RX manages the Lunar very well indeed. Plenty of grunt for the hills and the occasional overtake, 18-19 mpg at 55 mph (does drop precipitously at anything much faster). To accommodate the 75kg noseweight we put the gas bottles in the back of the car and load the 'van carefully - it's quite stable under most conditions up to around 60-65 mph and no problem at all under even sharp braking.

Outfit Match >>>


Lexus RX450h 4WD and Abbey

Paul reviewed on 11 January 2019 a Lexus RX450h 4WD (220 Kw/299 PS, Year: 2008 - 2015) with a Abbey GTS Vogue 417 of 1399 kg.

Have been towing with the Lexus RX450h now for a couple of years and am very happy with it. I was a little apprehensive at first due to the car being a hybrid but it doesn't seem to affect things too much to be honest. It will pull the caravan at 40mph on electric only when conditions allow. Nowhere near as torquey as a my previous towcar (Volvo XC60) but copes just as well. Just don't expect it to keep up with the big diesels like land rovers etc up the hills. On a recent trip to the New Forest, I managed to achieve a frankly unbelievable 41mpg!!! This was with 2 adults, 2 children and a weeks worth of food, clothing etc inside the caravan. A total of 240 miles at a modest 50mph, mainly on cruise control. The mpg indicator on this car is usually pretty much accurate so I can only assume this was correct. One down side I would like to mention is the very low towball limit of 80kg. The car is capable of towing 2000kg but I find it hard to believe you could manage to tow a twin axle caravan of this weight and still get the towball weight down to 80kg. I would love to be told different if anyone has managed this. Also, I think the rear suspension is a little on the soft side to cope well with the weight transfer from caravan to car although this is obviously fine on smooth roads. To summarise, anyone that's thinking about buying one of these and using it as a towcar, I'd say just go for it. I don't think you would be disappointed.

Outfit Match >>>


Lexus RX350 and Buccaneer

Mark lister reviewed on 10 May 2016 a Lexus RX350 (203 Kw/276 PS, Year: 2006 - 2012) with a Buccaneer Cruiser of 1974 kg.

Unable to enter details of exact car, I drive an RX450h Premier CVT.

We tend to keep the caravan on a seasonal pitch but do occasionally take it on the road, after all that\'s what having a tourer is all about.

Last July we took our car and caravan with 4 adults, 1 x toddler and 2 x dogs down to the South West region of France. We took the overnight ferry from Portsmouth to St Malo and then did the 420 miles in 1 day to our caravan site. We made frequent stops for my grand-daughter and dogs to stretch their legs but had we been alone, I think that the only stop on the whole journey would have been for fuel. We arrived, feeling relaxed and I know that the car certainly contributed to this. At one point on the trip due to the ACC, I drove 140 miles and the only input from me was the steering, the car took care of absolutely everything else. This would have been longer if we hadn\'t had to stop for the toll.

The car was an absolute dream to drive even though it was fully laden, we managed to get 20.2 mpg on this journey which I thought was pretty good for an outfit of this size. I imagine that the adaptive cruise control helped a little.

I would certainly recommend this car to anyone that wants a truly luxury towing experience, it certainly gets plenty of admiring looks too when on the road and on site.

Outfit Match >>>


Lexus RX350 and Bailey

Alan reviewed on 22 July 2014 a Lexus RX350 (203 Kw/276 PS, Year: 2006 - 2012) with a Bailey Senator Indiana of 1464 kg.

Car is a RX400h,system would not let me enter,pulls great but only managed 18 mpg and that was mostly motorway cruising at 60,lovely car but pricey,

Outfit Match >>>


Lexus RX300 and Sterling

Mark reviewed on 02 October 2012 a Lexus RX300 (164 Kw/223 PS, Year: 2000 - 2003) with a Sterling Eccles SE Ruby of 1600 kg.

This car towed the Ruby with no problems used the cruise control it didnt need to ghange down going up hill like our previous Mitsubishi Challenger did aslo did the same milage about 20MPG and as petrol is cheaper this is a saving for me.Also very comfortable whilst towing.

Outfit Match >>>


Lexus RX350 and Eriba

Denis reviewed on 07 February 2010 a Lexus RX350 (203 Kw/276 PS, Year: 2006 - 2012) with a Eriba Nova 570 of 1610 kg.

I have towed with lexus RX 400H no problem from lands end to scotland and back. have now taken delivery of the RX450H will be off soon.

Outfit Match >>>


Lexus RX300 and Bailey

Kevin Woodfield reviewed on 31 August 2009 a Lexus RX300 (150 Kw/204 PS, Year: 2003 - 2006) with a Bailey Ranger 620/6 of 1481 kg.

Used to pull the Bailey with a Mitsubishi 2.0 D Outlander which was good on the flat but struggled on inclines sometimes having to drop from 6th to 3rd gear, but turned a respectable 20/21mpg when towing and 40mpg solo. The Lexus pulls the Bailey with ease and being an Auto sometimes drops from 5th to 4th up inclines but it is effortless. However it only returns 15mpg when towing and 32mpg on a run, so running costs are higher but the Lexus does the job with ease

Outfit Match >>>


Lexus RX300 and TEC

Pete Morris reviewed on 23 May 2008 a Lexus RX300 (164 Kw/223 PS, Year: 2000 - 2003) with a TEC Travel King 510 TE of 1300 kg.

If you can live with 20mpg whilst towing (our previous Mitsubishi diesel only returned the same), then forget diesel! 500 miles a day towing is like driving round the block solo in any other car. Comfort, power + cruise control - the best kept secret in caravanning - buy one!

Outfit Match >>>


Lexus RX300 and Bailey

Hugh reviewed on 18 November 2007 a Lexus RX300 (150 Kw/204 PS, Year: 2003 - 2006) with a Bailey Senator Virginia of 1459 kg.

The Bailey has recently replaced an Abbey GTS Vogue 2004 model and both have behaved impeccably behind the Lexus. I use 5th gear most of the time on straight roads, only dropping to 4th on inclines or bends

Outfit Match >>>


Lexus RX300 and Geist

Charles Hibbert reviewed on 07 December 2006 a Lexus RX300 (164 Kw/223 PS, Year: 2000 - 2003) with a Geist LV550 of 1440 kg.

A very comfortable car with plenty of stowage for 2 or 4.A good balance with van and power to deal with HGV's.MPG is about19.6 towing.

Outfit Match >>>


Select Car and Model

Outfit matcher:




Optional