Towcar.info

User Reviews

Opel Frontera

Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti and Lunar

Mark reviewed on 29 August 2016 a Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti (88 Kw/120 PS, Year: 2002 - 2004) with a Lunar Zenith 5 of 1205 kg.

The Frontera Olympus I've got has been a fantastic tow car. Really can't fault it. It's stable at speed, I don't tend to go over 55mph so it just cruises along. Fuel return is good too! Plenty of power up hills, out accelerated other outfits plenty of times.
What I\'m gonna replace it with is proving difficult... Shame they stopped making them..

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti and Lunar

Bob reviewed on 08 January 2016 a Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti (88 Kw/120 PS, Year: 2002 - 2004) with a Lunar Solaris TA of 1525 kg.

my 2003 frontera is an excellent tug for my lunar solaris it pulls the van with no effort at all. sadly when it finally gives up I don\'t know what will replace it but my frontera will probably out live me

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti and Bessacarr

Bob reviewed on 06 November 2014 a Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti (88 Kw/120 PS, Year: 2002 - 2004) with a Bessacarr Cameo 550 of 1699 kg.

this is my second 2.2dti frontera and they are good tow vehicles the bessacarr is a twin wheel van and follows very good in fact my 03 dti pulls better than my 01 and that pulled well

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 and Ace

Carl reviewed on 06 April 2014 a Opel Frontera 2.2 (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 1998 - 2004) with a Ace Supreme Twinstar of 1732 kg.

Performance is ok on the flat but when towing my Ace Supreme Twinstar ( MRO 1532kgs ), at MTPLM of probably @ 1750 kgs then my Frontera 2.2 RS struggles up even the most moderate of inclines and I feel it needs more power. No issues with stability at upto 60mph and very steady at 50 mph.

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti and Abbey

Peter Hill reviewed on 06 July 2013 a Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti (88 Kw/120 PS, Year: 2002 - 2004) with a Abbey Spectrum 535 of 1732 kg.

Hi, I have had 5 Fronteras .I use my present 5 door 2.2dti Frontera to pull caravans, closed and open car trailers and goods trailers. As far as pulling heavy loads it was able to do pull a car trailer with a discovery on it no problem. As far as a goods trailer 3 bags of logs or 2 bags of sand also no problem even to get home up a 16% hill. My MK1 frontera towbar came loose a few times so welded it up. . PS all twin axles. Been as far as Bratislava towing. Keep to truck speed safe and economical. Brilliant in the ice and snow.
The mk2 Fronteras all did the job well, shame there are no more

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti and Coachman

Peter Root reviewed on 11 June 2012 a Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti (88 Kw/120 PS, Year: 2002 - 2004) with a Coachman Pastiche 560/4 of 1630 kg.

This Frontera is a supertug! It tows my Pastiche 560/4 with consumate ease at an average of 28mpg. I will be very loathe to part with it for there is no other vehicle out there that will match it`s fuel consumption, offering high and low box and the lowest emmisions and road tax banding in it`s class. Unfortunately, as it is no longer made it is totally irreplaceable, which is a real shame.

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 3.2 aut. and Bailey

Malcolm Garda reviewed on 08 June 2012 a Opel Frontera 3.2 aut. (151 Kw/205 PS, Year: 1998 - 2004) with a Bailey Senator Virginia of 1559 kg.

Vauxhall/Opel Frontera Nov 2003 (3.2i V6 24v Auto 202HP) towing a Bailey Senator MONTANA (2001 Twin Axle) 1261KG with 323KG payload = 1584KG. I have been towing with this rig - effortless - also have 50KG's in a large (580L) Karite roof box and 25KG's on a Pendle bike rack. No probs towing in 'D' however I shitf to '3' for up-hill. No overheating - up-hill temp hovers a hair over half way on the needle (90 C?) but one quarter in normal driving (80 C). Have had original gearbox oil cooler disconnected and larger one fitted (90 tot) in front of all rads. have had supplementary fan (only 9" 25) fitted to front n/s of air-con rad so that in traffic more air passes through this one for comfort in the car. No additional engine cooling was fitted as the std viscous coupling seems to do pretty well even when 30deg C outside! Av 19mpg over 500mile stretch. Best tow car I've ever had - wipes the floor with my GC Jeep of the same age!

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI and Sterling

Robert blackwood reviewed on 04 February 2012 a Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 1998 - 2002) with a Sterling Europa 550 of 1470 kg.

5 door 2.2dti great car pulls my 550 without any problems been to portugal south of france and of to corfu this year i would recommend this 4x4

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti and Caravan

Smarty reviewed on 22 October 2011 a Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti (88 Kw/120 PS, Year: 2002 - 2004) with a Caravan of 1250 kg.

I use my Frontera 2.2 DTI to tow my 2250 Kg boat and 550 Kg trailer. This is obviously really heavy but it does manage it albeit slowly up mountain passes. The Frontera is a brilliant tow car and will be difficult to replace with something as capable and well sorted.

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI and Swift

Bob reviewed on 17 August 2011 a Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 1998 - 2002) with a Swift Charisma 560 of 1450 kg.

i was quite impressed with the results on the tow car info 78% perfect i am really happy about it as the frontera has been an excellent vehicle in the 6 years i have owned it, i uprated my caravan 9 months back and did,nt want to change the fronty.

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti and Elddis

Neil bevan reviewed on 22 January 2011 a Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti (88 Kw/120 PS, Year: 2002 - 2004) with a Elddis Crusader Cyclone of 1820 kg.

My Frontier is brilliant for towing a twin axle caravan of this size,the ellidis crusader is a dream to tow

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI and Compass

Noel reviewed on 10 August 2010 a Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 1998 - 2002) with a Compass Rallye 524 of 1527 kg.

5 door 2.2dti pulled my van up the hills in wales with ease and motorways are no problem at all

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 3.2 aut. and Elddis

J.finch reviewed on 01 July 2010 a Opel Frontera 3.2 aut. (151 Kw/205 PS, Year: 1998 - 2004) with a Elddis Odyssey 462 of 1430 kg.

Ihave been towing around Cornwall & Devon and with all the hills etc I have never experienced overheating. Motorway driving is a dream and have vary rarely had to come out of cruise control. This by the way is a Vauxhall manual.

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI and Caravan

Ian howard reviewed on 02 May 2010 a Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 1998 - 2002) with a Caravan leeg: 1250 kg of 1500 kg.

2.2 dti pulling a abi jubilee statesman, pulls like a train, get your gearing right for long steep climbs and you won't have many problems

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti and Coachman

Edward buck reviewed on 20 July 2009 a Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti (88 Kw/120 PS, Year: 2002 - 2004) with a Coachman Pastiche 530/4 of 1560 kg.

got a 2002 olympus, pulls the coachman which is heavy, really well, shame .they stopped production of the frontera.

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 3.2 and Caravan

Ian Sumpter reviewed on 14 July 2009 a Opel Frontera 3.2 (151 Kw/205 PS, Year: 1998 - 2004) with a Caravan of 1550 kg.

Towing my Baily Ranger 620 is no problem, I often have to remind myself I have the van on the back, it seems effortless

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 3.2 aut. and Swift

Matt Thorpe reviewed on 10 June 2009 a Opel Frontera 3.2 aut. (151 Kw/205 PS, Year: 1998 - 2004) with a Swift Challenger 530 of 1545 kg.

Quality set up never had any overheating problems whatsoever, pulls a dream

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 3.2 aut. and Swift

M tapner reviewed on 17 April 2009 a Opel Frontera 3.2 aut. (151 Kw/205 PS, Year: 1998 - 2004) with a Swift Charisma 570 of 1452 kg.

I tow a swift accord 530 always had overheating problems when towing

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 3.2 aut. and Abbey

Colin allbutt reviewed on 26 January 2009 a Opel Frontera 3.2 aut. (151 Kw/205 PS, Year: 1998 - 2004) with a Abbey Vogue 620 of 1635 kg.

I Tow a Abbey 620 twin axle with no problems with overheating at all, this was in summer conditions, my car also has a belt driven fan, which I was concerned about but I have had no problems upto yet (fingers crossed)

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 and Bailey

Stu reviewed on 18 January 2009 a Opel Frontera 2.2 (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 1998 - 2004) with a Bailey Senator Arizona of 1464 kg.

pulls ok can't really feel the van swaying about but i wish i had a 3.2 i feel like i need a bit more power but it is ok but struggles in 5th gear on the duals and motorways so i leave it in 4th most of the time and probably get around 20mpg

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 3.2 and Swift

Steve butler reviewed on 18 January 2009 a Opel Frontera 3.2 (151 Kw/205 PS, Year: 1998 - 2004) with a Swift Charisma 620 TA of 1615 kg.

have to look in the rear view mirror to see if the van is still on the back as you just cant tell. would recomend this 4x4 to any one.

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti and Abbey

Mark mccrea reviewed on 31 July 2008 a Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti (88 Kw/120 PS, Year: 2002 - 2004) with a Abbey GTS Vogue 517 of 1450 kg.

had a 1999 frontera and it towed well, current 2003 model tows even better no turbo lag,very underated 4x4,good value and decent sized boot for caravan kit. general motors got it right with reliability then ceased production which is disaponting - a great towcar .

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 and Geist

Alan stewart reviewed on 10 July 2008 a Opel Frontera 2.2 (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 1998 - 2004) with a Geist LV640 of 1675 kg.

exellent tow car pulled my geist 1000 miles to the south of france now there for holidays permanant only slight movement with lorrys going past 20 mpg on gas 60 mph on the flat very stable 3door sport caravan 27 foot long also there no caravan on the market to match a geist 20000 pounds but what a van those germans again

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 and Bailey

Ian scammell reviewed on 09 July 2008 a Opel Frontera 2.2 (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 1998 - 2004) with a Bailey Discovery 200 of 1118 kg.

the car is more than adequate very stable you hardley know the vans on the back

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera Sport 2.0 and Swift

Dazzla99 reviewed on 04 July 2008 a Opel Frontera Sport 2.0 (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 1995 - 1998) with a Swift Charisma 560 of 1400 kg.

i own a vauxall/opel frontera 2.0 ltr it pulls my swift caravan with ease at 1200+250kg it climbs hills without any trouble

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 and Geist

Alan stewart reviewed on 27 May 2008 a Opel Frontera 2.2 (100 Kw/136 PS, Year: 1998 - 2004) with a Geist LV640 of 1675 kg.

petrol car is more than adequate eats moderate hills and is quite stable at 55 mph with geist twin axle my car is gas converted so heavy fuel consumption is not an issue at the moment 48p per litre

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI and Lunar

Sean Anthony reviewed on 22 April 2008 a Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 1998 - 2002) with a Lunar Quasar 525 of 1350 kg.

Great Towing car very stable good weight distribution looks the part aswell as doing the job in hand incredibly well.

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI and Coachman

Ron-g reviewed on 19 April 2008 a Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 1998 - 2002) with a Coachman VIP 460/2 of 1430 kg.

coudn,t find the exact model frontera, I have the 2.5 TDS. Pulls like a train, I hardly ever have to drop a gear except for really long and/or steep inclines.So far its the best tow car Ive had.

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI and Bailey

Dave Newey reviewed on 05 March 2008 a Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 1998 - 2002) with a Bailey Senator Indiana of 1464 kg.

effortless performance ideal towcar

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI and Bailey

Dave Newey reviewed on 05 March 2008 a Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 1998 - 2002) with a Bailey Senator Indiana of 1464 kg.

effortlees performance ideal towcar

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI and Swift

BillT reviewed on 03 February 2008 a Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 1998 - 2002) with a Swift Conqueror 645 of 1690 kg.

This car is fantastic puller. Effortless up and down dale.

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 3.2 aut. and Sterling

Allen reviewed on 31 January 2008 a Opel Frontera 3.2 aut. (151 Kw/205 PS, Year: 1998 - 2004) with a Sterling Europa 600 TA of 1534 kg.

Car really struggle on inclines on motorway! Changes gear to much even when not on crusie controla and causes concern because the Temp goes into the red! Had to stop on a number of times to let the car cool down, but due to being a V6 did not take more than 2 mins to get up to the max temp again after restarting.
Only towed twice and left it at that, got another tow car, we had the frontera for nearky 3 years and it had never overheated unless it was towing, even with a trailer @ 700kgs! I would not recomend.

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 3.2 and Swift

Steve butler reviewed on 12 January 2008 a Opel Frontera 3.2 (151 Kw/205 PS, Year: 1998 - 2004) with a Swift Challenger 530 of 1545 kg.

cant tell the van is on the back , can get from nottingham to helston on a tank of fuel as well

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 3.2 and Dethleffs

Martyn G reviewed on 08 October 2007 a Opel Frontera 3.2 (151 Kw/205 PS, Year: 1998 - 2004) with a Dethleffs Rally Nomad DD 520 of 1530 kg.

Pulls well with little trouble on hills. Fuel economy isn't the best (around 17-19 mpg with van and 21-22 mpg without). Pulled the caravan well in snow (but watch the power - that engine can spin the wheels without much coaxing!)

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti and Bailey

Glen richmond reviewed on 13 September 2007 a Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti (88 Kw/120 PS, Year: 2002 - 2004) with a Bailey Senator Arizona of 1448 kg.

great towing car,nice outfit when towing,just put it all in the van and it pulls like its got a small caravan on the back, recommended

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI and Eriba

Bill reviewed on 21 July 2007 a Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 1998 - 2002) with a Eriba Nova GL/SL 465 of 1350 kg.

great towcar pulls with out any problems.

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 3.2 and Swift

David williams reviewed on 09 July 2007 a Opel Frontera 3.2 (151 Kw/205 PS, Year: 1998 - 2004) with a Swift Challenger 530 of 1474 kg.

i find the frontera is very good for towing the caravan . it uses the same fual weather i am towing or not

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI and Abbey

EtomD reviewed on 05 March 2007 a Opel Frontera 2.2 DTI (85 Kw/116 PS, Year: 1998 - 2002) with a Abbey GTS Vogue 416 of 1413 kg.

Great car for towing plenty of power. Effortless towing at all speeds.

Outfit Match >>>


Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti and Elddis

Tony Parker reviewed on 09 January 2007 a Opel Frontera 2.2 Dti (88 Kw/120 PS, Year: 2002 - 2004) with a Elddis Odyssey 505 of 1403 kg.

Great towing outfit , not the fastest on the road ,but stability and pulling power feels effortless. Approx 27mpg on a good tow and fully laden. Would buy similar vehicle in future.

Outfit Match >>>


Select Car and Model

Outfit matcher:




Optional