Towcar.info

User Reviews

Toyota Hilux

Toyota Hilux Dcab 3.0 D-4D 4x4 and Sterling

Glen Barton reviewed on 21 August 2013 a Toyota Hilux Dcab 3.0 D-4D 4x4 (126 Kw/171 PS, Year: 2007 - 2016) with a Sterling Eccles Amethyst of 1436 kg.

Slightly confused with the outcome of the test as I'm having trouble when it comes to hills, as I have to drop from 4th to 3rd on most hills. Top comfortable speed is 100KPH in 4th. 5th gear is a no-go as it just dies in power. Does anyone else have similar issues ?.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota Hilux Dcab 3.0 D-4D 4x4 aut. and Coachman

John Dance reviewed on 22 February 2013 a Toyota Hilux Dcab 3.0 D-4D 4x4 aut. (126 Kw/171 PS, Year: 2007 - 2016) with a Coachman VIP 520/4 of 1585 kg.

Have towed this outfit from Kent to central Finland via DFDS ferry to Esjberg. Hi Lux is bullet proof when you are towing. Used in Finland on small ferry's and chain link ferry's to Aland without any problems. Average diesel mpg 27-30 towing on flat roads and 25-27mpg in hilly areas. In normal road use (80 kph in Finland 37-39 mpg is possible. Be careful on exiting tight caravan parks (in S Sweden) as you need a wide turning space - I touch a wooden post once but no paint damage just a slight indent on alu siding which can not be repaired!

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota Hilux Xcab 2.4 diesel 4x4 and Caravan

Gary carr reviewed on 14 November 2010 a Toyota Hilux Xcab 2.4 diesel 4x4 (61 Kw/83 PS, Year: 1996 - 1997) with a Caravan of 800 kg.

pulled lighter van 750kg 1300kms 2.4deisel h\lux trayback definatley do not rec' constantly changing gears heaps power down low nothing upperrange always pulling over for traffic upsetting other road users.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota Hilux Dcab 2.5 D-4D 4x4 and Tabbert

Ian Baldwin reviewed on 10 August 2010 a Toyota Hilux Dcab 2.5 D-4D 4x4 (75 Kw/102 PS, Year: 2004 - 2007) with a Tabbert Comtesse 540 of 1500 kg.

I have owned my Caravan for longer then my car. As I work in construction it has become my 'second home'. It's towed all around the country by the trusty truck.
I was lucky enough to have a Mondeo company car before hand and that towed this van much better. I find the Hilux to be very bouncy with the caravan on the back. With the little amount of power availiable with the Hilux on motorways I have found it a real pain to pass other vehicles and end up sitting behind a lorry. I was also surprised that given the relatively small length of the Tabbert and having twin axles how much sway I get when towing. It may be the van or the 'backwash' from the truck and van combo.
Having said that I have also towed loaded car trailers which tow much better. Maybe the caravan just isn't heavy enough to remain stable behind the truck!

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota Hilux Xcab 2.5 D-4D 4x4 and Elddis

Mrs J Cannon reviewed on 01 July 2009 a Toyota Hilux Xcab 2.5 D-4D 4x4 (88 Kw/120 PS, Year: 2007 - 2016) with a Elddis Avante 524 of 1420 kg.

I find my toyota hilux and caravan perfect to tow .Inclines no problem at all.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota Hilux Dcab 3.0 D-4D 4x4 and Sprite

Ralph Properjohn reviewed on 10 April 2009 a Toyota Hilux Dcab 3.0 D-4D 4x4 (126 Kw/171 PS, Year: 2007 - 2016) with a Sprite Splash of 1185 kg.

An awesome combernation.Even with the kitchen sink.

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota Hilux Dcab 3.0 D-4D 4x4 and Swift

Julia reviewed on 10 April 2008 a Toyota Hilux Dcab 3.0 D-4D 4x4 (126 Kw/171 PS, Year: 2007 - 2016) with a Swift Conqueror 630 of 1715 kg.

having had to struggle up steep hills on route to Spain with Daewoo Musso 2.9TDI we changed for the HI Lux (builders truck with attitude when driven by blonde female) which is perfect up steep inclines ,we have tested it in Derbyshire & its fab for our palace on wheels

Outfit Match >>>


Toyota Hilux Xcab 2.4 diesel 4x4 and Sterling

Darren Williams reviewed on 29 January 2007 a Toyota Hilux Xcab 2.4 diesel 4x4 (61 Kw/83 PS, Year: 1996 - 1997) with a Sterling Europa 500 of 1325 kg.

This Hi-Lux looks like it would pull anything, sounds so powerful...................until you put a caravan on the back! Really struggling to pull my caravan, to the point of swapping the car as it will only get up hills in 2nd gear. Very sluggish and feels very underpowered.

Outfit Match >>>


Select Car and Model

Outfit matcher:




Optional